We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Nomads Melbourne

Save Saved
You added Nomads Melbourne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Nomads Melbourne
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   A'Beckett St. 196-198, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 26 Melbourne B&B and Inns
Australia
1 review
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

I really wanted to like this place as the staff were so understanding when I had to change my reservation due to a crisis. Unfortunately, the room needed a good clean, especially the bathroom, there was a tiny wardrobe & little else in the room & I had a you-beaut single room with own bathroom. The lift light was not working for 2 of the 3 nights I was there so you had to get into a pitch-black cell & find your mobile to get some light to see which buttons to press. For the price, I'd have been better at the hotel across the road.
Such a pity as great location.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    42
    43
    31
    24
See reviews for
2
26
50
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

The place is very dirty, housekeepers need training, beds uncomfortable, kitchen tiny, I would not recommend staying here.....
Staff need more training as any request seemed an effort. Overall bad vibe and unhappy staff

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Nothing to write home about in this hostel...the rooms were average, if a bit unclean. The kitchen is absolutely tiny - cooking a simple dinner of pasta and a jar of sauce was seriously difficult and everywhere you stand you're in someone's way. The free guided walking tour was great, and the staff are mostly friendly and helpful, especially those on the travel desk. There are good activities every night and some free breakfasts. The one thing I will say and emphasise is that the beds are incredibly noisy. You can't move an inch without making the whole bunk bed structure creek and squeal, it's awful.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keswick, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Stayed for one night, glad I didn't stay for two as they have ZERO REFUND policy which sets off alarm bells straight away. My bed had been made but the room obviously hadn't been cleaned. The beds were squeaky so the dorm was noisy. The showers and toilets were some of dirtiest I've seen in a city hostel.

The bar down stairs was lively with beer pong and a wine and cheese session which was ace. It wouldn't take much to make this hostel great, but until then I would probably try elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

I usually try to see the good in such places, however I have literally NOTHING good to say about this place, when we got to the hostel, the (private) room we ordered had not only not been made up, but had rubbish littered all over the floor. The room was freezing, the toilets were bloody filthy and smelt horrible, and the general area was just grubby.

My girlfriend and I pretty much left as soon as we arrived, and we never looked

Overall, if you are 19 or under and happen to be inebriated, then this is the place for you

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Stayed at the Nomads in Melbourne, after enjoying staying in most of them in New Zealand. Good location, but found the hostel bathrooms and dorms to be pretty dirty. The really small kitchen isn't ideal.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Location wasn't the best but very helpful staff. Stuff going on every night to get you invovled, free wine and cheese night, free beer after the free city tours, trivia nights, beer pong tournaments etc. Very fun staff who really get to know you and want to hang out with you. One night we had one of the staff take us all out to a bar which was really fun. Really small kitchen, hard to get any cooking done. The rooms were decent. Very clean. VERY COLD if you are staying here in the winter as there is no heating. I had to sleep in a sweater and two pairs of socks every ngiht and was still freezing. Bathrooms are great, and very clean. Overall very nice place to stay and good value for the price.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Nomads Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nomads Melbourne

Address: A'Beckett St. 196-198, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Nomads Melbourne 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nomads Melbourne is a backpackers offering travellers a unique backpacking experience. The totally refurbished building at 196-198 A'Beckett St, is located at the top end of the city, right in front of the Queen Victoria Market. With many popular Melbourne attractions, beautiful gardens, fantastic shopping and a wealth of public transport options close by, Melbourne at its best is at your doorstep. At Nomads Melbourne you can indulge in the luxury of a deluxe en-suite king room, relax in style in a single or multi-share private room, or meet your fellow travelers in a 4-10 share dormitory room. Nomads Melbourne will make your stay in Melbourne a breeze. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Nomads Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nomads Industry Backpackers Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nomads Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.