We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lively bar, dirty hostel.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Nomads Melbourne

Save Saved
You added Nomads Melbourne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Nomads Melbourne
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   A'Beckett St. 196-198, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 26 Melbourne B&B and Inns
Keswick, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“lively bar, dirty hostel.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Stayed for one night, glad I didn't stay for two as they have ZERO REFUND policy which sets off alarm bells straight away. My bed had been made but the room obviously hadn't been cleaned. The beds were squeaky so the dorm was noisy. The showers and toilets were some of dirtiest I've seen in a city hostel.

The bar down stairs was lively with beer pong and a wine and cheese session which was ace. It wouldn't take much to make this hostel great, but until then I would probably try elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    40
    41
    31
    24
See reviews for
2
24
50
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

I usually try to see the good in such places, however I have literally NOTHING good to say about this place, when we got to the hostel, the (private) room we ordered had not only not been made up, but had rubbish littered all over the floor. The room was freezing, the toilets were bloody filthy and smelt horrible, and the general area was just grubby.

My girlfriend and I pretty much left as soon as we arrived, and we never looked

Overall, if you are 19 or under and happen to be inebriated, then this is the place for you

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Stayed at the Nomads in Melbourne, after enjoying staying in most of them in New Zealand. Good location, but found the hostel bathrooms and dorms to be pretty dirty. The really small kitchen isn't ideal.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Location wasn't the best but very helpful staff. Stuff going on every night to get you invovled, free wine and cheese night, free beer after the free city tours, trivia nights, beer pong tournaments etc. Very fun staff who really get to know you and want to hang out with you. One night we had one of the staff take us all out to a bar which was really fun. Really small kitchen, hard to get any cooking done. The rooms were decent. Very clean. VERY COLD if you are staying here in the winter as there is no heating. I had to sleep in a sweater and two pairs of socks every ngiht and was still freezing. Bathrooms are great, and very clean. Overall very nice place to stay and good value for the price.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

Good points - Pretty good bar, fairly nice staff, if you want to party

Bad points - Utterly minute kitchen, so so small. Incredibly rowdy, beds are so so squeaky you can barely sleep for the squeaks. I wouldn't stay here again, and I wouldn't recommend anyone to stay here in all honesty. Not great at all. Plenty of other options that are much better and much cheaper in Melbourne. DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY HERE.

Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We arrived and went up to the room to find my bed hadn't been made and I didn't have any linen to make it myself. There was a helpful girl on reception who got me some, but I did have to make the bed myself. The kitchen here is the most tiny thing in the world !!!! Unbelievably small, especially for how many people there were. Thought the entertainment in the evening was good and the drinks in happy hour okay priced.
Location is a little out but for a hostel you expect that, it's not too much of a walk!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Great atmosphere and brilliant place to meet fellow backpackers and the like. Bar area is very modern and staff are friendly and helpful- they'll happily set up beer pong for you and the receptionist ordered me a taxi when I was running late for my flight! A bit grungy and noisy plus the lift broke down when someone was in it! Other facilities were fine- washing machine and tumble dryer ( remember to keep some coins spare), always hot water for the showers and computers were quick. Fantastic location- Queen Victoria market just round the corner, or just head straight down the road to central Melbourne. Security-wise, there are small cupboards in the room which you need to buy a lock for. Overall, not the best place to come if you're a clean freak and you want a decent night's sleep, but the people, atmosphere and location make up for it!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Nomads Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nomads Melbourne

Address: A'Beckett St. 196-198, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Nomads Melbourne 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nomads Melbourne is a backpackers offering travellers a unique backpacking experience. The totally refurbished building at 196-198 A'Beckett St, is located at the top end of the city, right in front of the Queen Victoria Market. With many popular Melbourne attractions, beautiful gardens, fantastic shopping and a wealth of public transport options close by, Melbourne at its best is at your doorstep. At Nomads Melbourne you can indulge in the luxury of a deluxe en-suite king room, relax in style in a single or multi-share private room, or meet your fellow travelers in a 4-10 share dormitory room. Nomads Melbourne will make your stay in Melbourne a breeze. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Nomads Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nomads Industry Backpackers Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nomads Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.