We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great social atmosphere- not the cleanest of places.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Nomads Melbourne

Save Saved
You added Nomads Melbourne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Nomads Melbourne
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   A'Beckett St. 196-198, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 26 Melbourne B&B and Inns
Cirencester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great social atmosphere- not the cleanest of places.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Great atmosphere and brilliant place to meet fellow backpackers and the like. Bar area is very modern and staff are friendly and helpful- they'll happily set up beer pong for you and the receptionist ordered me a taxi when I was running late for my flight! A bit grungy and noisy plus the lift broke down when someone was in it! Other facilities were fine- washing machine and tumble dryer ( remember to keep some coins spare), always hot water for the showers and computers were quick. Fantastic location- Queen Victoria market just round the corner, or just head straight down the road to central Melbourne. Security-wise, there are small cupboards in the room which you need to buy a lock for. Overall, not the best place to come if you're a clean freak and you want a decent night's sleep, but the people, atmosphere and location make up for it!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    41
    42
    31
    24
See reviews for
2
25
50
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

I just spent two nights there and it was very noisy. They introduced their bar deals till midnight through speaker in each floor and we couldn't sleep well at all. The heater didn't work well and room was cold.The location is very good, close to shops and pubs, Federation Sq, China town...The receptionists were good and caring. There is a parking in front of it with flat rate of 8$/day for weekend which was so convenient. Totally very expensive considering it was off-peak time.

Room Tip: We were in 3th floor and it still was noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

The hostel is located in the city center, so is possible to walk to every place you would want to go. Also is near to the free tram station if you are lazy to walk. Also is close to Victoria's market so you can buy cheap food, souvenirs or cloth. The service was ok, and all were very friendly and helpful. At night the hostel have a lot of activities to have fun (like mario kart wii championship) at the bar. The pool table cost 2 dollars tough. No free wifi.
However, If you need a quite hostel to rest between 7pm-1am maybe this is not the hostel for you.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We had the most fabulous stay at nomads between 15-17th May 2013. First of all a great thumbs-up for the staff at the reception. They were really great.... helpful, friendly and very patient, despite us having a mixed up in our bookings and we arrived late, it was rectified very proffesionally and quickly.
The noise at the bar didnt really bothered us, it was great to see young ppl so energetic. We treated the music like background music, and true enough the partying stopped after 1am. So there's no big issue.
The rooms we had were clean, we were happy wt it. Even the bathrooms and toilets outside was well maintained and clean. Its also safe.
Location wise, Nomads is 2 minutes from QVM from the backdoor and just 3 minutes from the city circle tram line from the front entrance. Superb location.
We are glad to have stayed here, will come again.

Room Tip: Ask for a good room.... back rooms tend to be more noisy in the nights till 1am.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Reasonably priced, clean, great atmosphere. Convenient location near both the Queen Victorian Markets and local clubs, pubs and bars. Only a 15-20 minute walk to the Crown Casino complex too. Staff were absolutely amazing and hilarious! Had a mixture of fun and safety for all guests as their number one priority! Bar was great, especially the themed nights, prices were as you would expect. Only downsides were the incredibly squeaky beds, small kitchen and street noise! Overall, great, budget-friendly place to stay. Would recommend to all, but perhaps not families.

Room Tip: Get a room with an en suite! Only $2 extra!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Arriving at Nomads, I was happily greeted by the reception staff and then the bar staff when I went down for a drink. The room was alright, no real space for storing anything and it looked as though the housekeeping staff didn't try to encourage guests to stay tidy if they were staying for an extended period of time. The bar was great, full of interesting people, though a few of the staff were enjoying drinks all night as well, which was a bit unsettling. Bed was decently comfortable for a one night stay. Went for a quick coffee in the morning and when I returned, there was someone else in my bed, which meant that either he or someone else had somehow obtained a key for a room they weren't supposed to be in. Hostel staff was confused by this, but I believe it is something they could have prevented. Overall, decent stay and I would probably stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I stayed here for a week and was not impressed. The Room i was assigned was facing the back of the building and i could hear nothing but music all night long. The majority of the staff seem to be backpackers themselves and seem to be more worried about having a party than entertaining the guests. I am aware the reviews say party hostel but you would think attending your guests needs would be a priority. I inquired about tours and prices and i was always told to come back when the travel desk attendant was there. i found it easier to chat to an online specialist who works for the same company. This place is dirty, unorganized and uncomfortable!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nomads11, Manager at Nomads Melbourne, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Brizle87,

I am sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. Just a few things, regarding the music, we only have a licence until 1am and therefore all music finishes at 12.30am. We have sound barriers to protect upstairs guests and hope that no guests is affected by this. Our Travel desk is open 7 days from 10am-630pm and we hope that is enough time for any inquiries etc. The majority of the staff are local Melbourne residents, although we have backpackers to help with the entertainment and games. We are sorry to hear that you believe it is not organized, but we strive to make every guest as happy as possible.

Kind Regards,

Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Nomads Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nomads Melbourne

Address: A'Beckett St. 196-198, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Nomads Melbourne 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nomads Melbourne is a backpackers offering travellers a unique backpacking experience. The totally refurbished building at 196-198 A'Beckett St, is located at the top end of the city, right in front of the Queen Victoria Market. With many popular Melbourne attractions, beautiful gardens, fantastic shopping and a wealth of public transport options close by, Melbourne at its best is at your doorstep. At Nomads Melbourne you can indulge in the luxury of a deluxe en-suite king room, relax in style in a single or multi-share private room, or meet your fellow travelers in a 4-10 share dormitory room. Nomads Melbourne will make your stay in Melbourne a breeze. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers, HotelsClick, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Nomads Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nomads Industry Backpackers Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nomads Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.