We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good party, iffy security” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Nomads Melbourne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Nomads Melbourne to your Saves list
Nomads Melbourne
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   A'Beckett St. 196-198, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 17 Melbourne B&B and Inns
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good party, iffy security”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Arriving at Nomads, I was happily greeted by the reception staff and then the bar staff when I went down for a drink. The room was alright, no real space for storing anything and it looked as though the housekeeping staff didn't try to encourage guests to stay tidy if they were staying for an extended period of time. The bar was great, full of interesting people, though a few of the staff were enjoying drinks all night as well, which was a bit unsettling. Bed was decently comfortable for a one night stay. Went for a quick coffee in the morning and when I returned, there was someone else in my bed, which meant that either he or someone else had somehow obtained a key for a room they weren't supposed to be in. Hostel staff was confused by this, but I believe it is something they could have prevented. Overall, decent stay and I would probably stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    54
    59
    42
    38
See reviews for
3
31
72
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I stayed here for a week and was not impressed. The Room i was assigned was facing the back of the building and i could hear nothing but music all night long. The majority of the staff seem to be backpackers themselves and seem to be more worried about having a party than entertaining the guests. I am aware the reviews say party hostel but you would think attending your guests needs would be a priority. I inquired about tours and prices and i was always told to come back when the travel desk attendant was there. i found it easier to chat to an online specialist who works for the same company. This place is dirty, unorganized and uncomfortable!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nomads11, Manager at Nomads Melbourne, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Brizle87,

I am sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. Just a few things, regarding the music, we only have a licence until 1am and therefore all music finishes at 12.30am. We have sound barriers to protect upstairs guests and hope that no guests is affected by this. Our Travel desk is open 7 days from 10am-630pm and we hope that is enough time for any inquiries etc. The majority of the staff are local Melbourne residents, although we have backpackers to help with the entertainment and games. We are sorry to hear that you believe it is not organized, but we strive to make every guest as happy as possible.

Kind Regards,

Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

When I read past reviews about the sqeaky beds, I wondered what everyone's problem was...but having spent a week in the hostel in October 2012 I now know what they meant! They sqeak and shake as soon as you touch them which means whenever anyone is climbing in our out you're likely to wake everyone up no matter if you're in the top or bottom bunk!
The room we had was massive for a 10 bed dorm and there were plenty of toilets and showers within the corridor for everyone to use. The kitchen is a big let down to the hostel, it's ridiculously small for the size of the hostel and is always packed with people cooking. When we were there, there was someone cleaning it constantly which was good as there was no room for any dirty pots and pans on top of everything else in there. It's really well equipped and the reception has a few pots and pans behind the desk for when the kitchen runs out.
The bar area was really good, fantastic prices and a lively atmosphere. We spent a week here but had to move on as we struggled to find work. If we ever returned to Melbourne I'd consider staying here again as it's a pretty good location and was reasonably priced considering it's a city centre hostel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nomads11, Manager at Nomads Melbourne, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear shootingstar13,

Thank you so much for your great feedback, you are a star. We do try very hard to make everything work for you so that you can enjoy your stay and I am very sorry that you had a squeaky bed. Our mattresses are of top quality, but some of the beds need to be tightened every now and then.
Keep enjoying yourself and we wish you the best,

Kind Regards,

Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sapa, Vietnam
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

It's an alright place, cleanish and the staff were helpful enough. The kitchen was the worst part of my stay. I didn't use it because its so small! Also friends had food stolen. The bar was good but so expensive! And the free wine on offer (goon) was only available if they had any luckily they ran out :) there was a cheap BBQ on Saturday nights which was a bonus and free BBQ on Sunday afternoons which was brill! Location is ok. It's not the cheapest place but ok for a stop gap. Happy hour from 5-7pm was good but after that a pint of cider is $9 which for a hostel is too much. The people were the best part and generally had a good vibe.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nomads11, Manager at Nomads Melbourne, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear John,

Thanks very much for giving us some feedback, we endeavor to try and make everyone's stay enjoyable. As for the kitchen, we understand it is small but to compensate for this we give all guests free pasta, rice, Tea and Coffee and we also put on very cheap BBQ's and as you mentioned free Sunday BBQ's. Most people forget about the small kitchen when all of this is on offer. We also put on Happy Hours all throughout the evening, but we are very price competitive with our local competitors.
Anyway I hope you enjoy the rest of your travels and wish you well

All the best,

Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level Contributor
31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Modern hostel. Rooms large and have small lockers. Beds are the worst I've ever come across and I stayed in twice in two different rooms bottom and top bunk all the same, they shake like crazy and squeak all night when people move the only a inch never mind if anything else goes on. Good deals in bar and the promo staff were nice. Kitchen tiny and stuff going missing from fridge. First couple female receptions weren't very helpful, but had guy one day that was excellent. Free walking tour was helpful for getting around the city and info on something's to do, but felt lacked info on Melbourne. It is located close to centre and only 15mins walk from bus station.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nomads11, Manager at Nomads Melbourne, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear Monamahony,

Thank you for your feedback. I am very glad to hear that most of your stay was enjoyable and that you enjoyed the Free walking tour. as with the beds we do have a few rooms that have squeaky beds and maintenance do tighten them every 2 weeks, so I am sorry that you had to endure this. Otherwise our mattresses are of the highest quality and comfort.
Keep enjoying your travels and I wish you all the best,
Kind Regards,

Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We only stayed here for one night and one night was enough, the 8 person dorms were ok but a little bit small, the toilet and shower were quite clean but a bit annoying being in the rooms, the kitchen was small and quite dirty. The bar area was nice looking but didn't have much atmosphere and didn't have many seats.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

There is no loo paper in the toilets, they are no where near clean, showers leak, smells like poo everywhere. They say there are sun loungers on the roof - its just rubbish and what use to be sun beds. They lost our booking but still had our payment and said no refunds but didn't have a bed for us. They were rude in sorting out. The main woman receptionist just couldn't care about anyone. They don't serve you until they finish talking to each other. They made a girl in our room pay while she was in hospital for her room and at the same time renting out her bed to other people getting two payments for the same bed. Dirty. Disgusting. Rude and nasty staff!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nomads11, Manager at Nomads Melbourne, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Violet,

Thanks very much for your feedback, we really appreciate it. We are sorry that your experience was not to standard and I would like to personally apologize. We have a strict cleaning policy and our bathrooms and toilets are cleaned thoroughly 4 times daily. Unfortunately in busy times with the high traffic volumes it is hard to constantly maintain the cleanliness and we strive to by employing extra staff to clean. I am glad that you thought the staff were helpful and I hope that you have enjoyed the rest of your travels
Kind Regards,

Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Nomads Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nomads Melbourne

Address: A'Beckett St. 196-198, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Nomads Melbourne 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nomads Melbourne is a backpackers offering travellers a unique backpacking experience. The totally refurbished building at 196-198 A'Beckett St, is located at the top end of the city, right in front of the Queen Victoria Market. With many popular Melbourne attractions, beautiful gardens, fantastic shopping and a wealth of public transport options close by, Melbourne at its best is at your doorstep. At Nomads Melbourne you can indulge in the luxury of a deluxe en-suite king room, relax in style in a single or multi-share private room, or meet your fellow travelers in a 4-10 share dormitory room. Nomads Melbourne will make your stay in Melbourne a breeze. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Agoda, Hotels.com, HostelBookers and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Nomads Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nomads Industry Backpackers Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nomads Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.