We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lively hostel, good price but VERY sqeaky beds!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Nomads Melbourne

Save Saved
You added Nomads Melbourne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Nomads Melbourne
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   A'Beckett St. 196-198, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 26 Melbourne B&B and Inns
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Lively hostel, good price but VERY sqeaky beds!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

When I read past reviews about the sqeaky beds, I wondered what everyone's problem was...but having spent a week in the hostel in October 2012 I now know what they meant! They sqeak and shake as soon as you touch them which means whenever anyone is climbing in our out you're likely to wake everyone up no matter if you're in the top or bottom bunk!
The room we had was massive for a 10 bed dorm and there were plenty of toilets and showers within the corridor for everyone to use. The kitchen is a big let down to the hostel, it's ridiculously small for the size of the hostel and is always packed with people cooking. When we were there, there was someone cleaning it constantly which was good as there was no room for any dirty pots and pans on top of everything else in there. It's really well equipped and the reception has a few pots and pans behind the desk for when the kitchen runs out.
The bar area was really good, fantastic prices and a lively atmosphere. We spent a week here but had to move on as we struggled to find work. If we ever returned to Melbourne I'd consider staying here again as it's a pretty good location and was reasonably priced considering it's a city centre hostel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nomads11, Manager at Nomads Melbourne, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear shootingstar13,

Thank you so much for your great feedback, you are a star. We do try very hard to make everything work for you so that you can enjoy your stay and I am very sorry that you had a squeaky bed. Our mattresses are of top quality, but some of the beds need to be tightened every now and then.
Keep enjoying yourself and we wish you the best,

Kind Regards,

Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    41
    42
    31
    24
See reviews for
2
25
50
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sapa, Vietnam
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

It's an alright place, cleanish and the staff were helpful enough. The kitchen was the worst part of my stay. I didn't use it because its so small! Also friends had food stolen. The bar was good but so expensive! And the free wine on offer (goon) was only available if they had any luckily they ran out :) there was a cheap BBQ on Saturday nights which was a bonus and free BBQ on Sunday afternoons which was brill! Location is ok. It's not the cheapest place but ok for a stop gap. Happy hour from 5-7pm was good but after that a pint of cider is $9 which for a hostel is too much. The people were the best part and generally had a good vibe.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nomads11, Manager at Nomads Melbourne, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear John,

Thanks very much for giving us some feedback, we endeavor to try and make everyone's stay enjoyable. As for the kitchen, we understand it is small but to compensate for this we give all guests free pasta, rice, Tea and Coffee and we also put on very cheap BBQ's and as you mentioned free Sunday BBQ's. Most people forget about the small kitchen when all of this is on offer. We also put on Happy Hours all throughout the evening, but we are very price competitive with our local competitors.
Anyway I hope you enjoy the rest of your travels and wish you well

All the best,

Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Modern hostel. Rooms large and have small lockers. Beds are the worst I've ever come across and I stayed in twice in two different rooms bottom and top bunk all the same, they shake like crazy and squeak all night when people move the only a inch never mind if anything else goes on. Good deals in bar and the promo staff were nice. Kitchen tiny and stuff going missing from fridge. First couple female receptions weren't very helpful, but had guy one day that was excellent. Free walking tour was helpful for getting around the city and info on something's to do, but felt lacked info on Melbourne. It is located close to centre and only 15mins walk from bus station.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nomads11, Manager at Nomads Melbourne, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear Monamahony,

Thank you for your feedback. I am very glad to hear that most of your stay was enjoyable and that you enjoyed the Free walking tour. as with the beds we do have a few rooms that have squeaky beds and maintenance do tighten them every 2 weeks, so I am sorry that you had to endure this. Otherwise our mattresses are of the highest quality and comfort.
Keep enjoying your travels and I wish you all the best,
Kind Regards,

Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We only stayed here for one night and one night was enough, the 8 person dorms were ok but a little bit small, the toilet and shower were quite clean but a bit annoying being in the rooms, the kitchen was small and quite dirty. The bar area was nice looking but didn't have much atmosphere and didn't have many seats.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

There is no loo paper in the toilets, they are no where near clean, showers leak, smells like poo everywhere. They say there are sun loungers on the roof - its just rubbish and what use to be sun beds. They lost our booking but still had our payment and said no refunds but didn't have a bed for us. They were rude in sorting out. The main woman receptionist just couldn't care about anyone. They don't serve you until they finish talking to each other. They made a girl in our room pay while she was in hospital for her room and at the same time renting out her bed to other people getting two payments for the same bed. Dirty. Disgusting. Rude and nasty staff!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nomads11, Manager at Nomads Melbourne, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Violet,

Thanks very much for your feedback, we really appreciate it. We are sorry that your experience was not to standard and I would like to personally apologize. We have a strict cleaning policy and our bathrooms and toilets are cleaned thoroughly 4 times daily. Unfortunately in busy times with the high traffic volumes it is hard to constantly maintain the cleanliness and we strive to by employing extra staff to clean. I am glad that you thought the staff were helpful and I hope that you have enjoyed the rest of your travels
Kind Regards,

Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

When we arrived at the hostel we were given an average greeting, but it wasn't unfriendly. The rooms are INCREDIBLY hot. We had a fan in ours which only swept about half of the room, alas I was in the half that it didn't reach, nor did my bit of the room have a working light. The beds were uncomfortable and very very squeaky; essentially breathing was enough to set off a loud creak which would wake the majority of the room. The heat and noise meant that I slept very badly in the hostel.
The kitchen was very small and very dirty. Guests are expected to clean up after themselves which is how it should be, however Nomads must be doing something wrong, all other hostels with 'self-cleaning' kitchens in them were nowhere near as dirty as this one. Very few of the hobs actually worked, so we had to wait to cook every time, and when one has finished cooking, the only eating area was outside meaning one sometimes had to deal with smokers and smelly bins when trying to eat.
The only saving grace of this place was the free city tour. This was an absolute highlight of our time in Melbourne! We saw many places we didn't realise existed, and although the guy running the tour even admitted to us that he wasn't a guide and hadn't even been in Melbourne for that long, we still enjoyed ourselves generally and it was a fantastic way to meet new people. The hostel definitely was focused on getting people to socialise which was a great bonus! We had a lot of fun at the pub quiz that night too, and the free beer we got for doing the tour meant it was actually a cheap night.
The internet is a very good deal too, $4 for 24 hours compared to the same price for an hour in most other places.
Overall, I wouldn't recommend to my friends and I am being quite generous with 3 stars, purely based on the internet and the free tour/beer. If they fixed the beds, got better fans and fixed the hobs in the kitchen or employed someone to give the surfaces a bit of a wipe every now and then it would be much better and we might be tempted to go back.
The price of the hostel does not reflect the quality, we found much nicer accommodation for a lower price where we slept in air-conditioned rooms and cooked and ate in a clean environment.

Room Tip: As far as I could tell, every room was a furnace. Good luck...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This hostel was ok - the areas downstairs were actually pretty nice and the staff were friendly. The dorm room itself randomly had a double bed on the bottom with a single bunk on top, so my friend had a nice big bed! However, it was a heatwave when we stayed and the room had no aircon which made sleep pretty much impossible. It was very noisy as well.

Thankfully we didn't need to use the kitchen at all when we were there, and never would have as it was DISGUSTING! It is a ridiculously small kitchen for the size of the hostel and the washing up was piled up everywhere, and it stank. The cleanliness of the rest of the hostel could do with improving as well.

Nice cinema room though, even though it doubles as a luggage room so I would never have left my luggage in there!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Nomads Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nomads Melbourne

Address: A'Beckett St. 196-198, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Nomads Melbourne 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nomads Melbourne is a backpackers offering travellers a unique backpacking experience. The totally refurbished building at 196-198 A'Beckett St, is located at the top end of the city, right in front of the Queen Victoria Market. With many popular Melbourne attractions, beautiful gardens, fantastic shopping and a wealth of public transport options close by, Melbourne at its best is at your doorstep. At Nomads Melbourne you can indulge in the luxury of a deluxe en-suite king room, relax in style in a single or multi-share private room, or meet your fellow travelers in a 4-10 share dormitory room. Nomads Melbourne will make your stay in Melbourne a breeze. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers, HotelsClick, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Nomads Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nomads Industry Backpackers Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nomads Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.