We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Hostel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Nomads Melbourne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Nomads Melbourne to your Saves list
Nomads Melbourne
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   A'Beckett St. 196-198, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 29 Melbourne B&B and Inns
Ottawa
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Average Hostel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This place was pretty average although the cleanliness could use a huge upgrade. When I got there it was clear someone had slept in a bed one night and decided to switch to another one, so I was forced to go to reception and ask for clean sheets and had to make my bed myself. The beds squeak like crazy at the slightest movement which I found pretty annoying and hard to sleep, also, the bunk did not have a ladder to get to the top bed so I had a roomate who was forced to climb over me basically to get to her bed. These things need to be addressed.

The cards were constantly not working and had to be reprogrammed almost daily.

The staff was nice enough though and the general atmosphere of the place was enjoyable, which is why I'm giving this place an average rating. Location was pretty decent as well as you could get to the city center in just a short walk.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    48
    47
    35
    30
See reviews for
2
27
57
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

Rooms are dirty. Sheets dirty. Showers dirty and not powerful. Doors slamming all day and night. NO AIR CON???Is it not the 21st century??lift is dodgy. Breaks down a lot. Keys stop working all the time. Kitchen is small, grubby and stinks!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Wow, what can I say? This place is an option if you have a total disregard for basic cleanliness.

The first floor smells awful. A combination of mold, vomit, and wet dog.
The taps in the bathroom never really shut off, not that there's enough room to wash your hands in the teeny tiny sink.
Toilets were littered with trash and toilet paper.
Showers with toilets didn't have trash cans or sanitary receptacles.
The kitchen is so tiny that only 4 people can fit in it at once and still need to squeeze by each other.
My flip flop actually got stuck to the kitchen floor and I needed to grab it to unstick it.
Saw the hallway vacuumed, yet it was clear the vacuum was not picking anything up.
My room was never vacuumed. Cigarette filters and sand littered the floor from the time I checked in to the time I checked out.
The trash in the room was never emptied.
Hoping my sheets were clean but found someone laying in my bed on the second day because he couldn't tell which bed was the clean one.
There was no airflow in my dorm. There was a single fan with a window that opened into the bar, right above the smoking section.
The beds squeak with the slightest movement.
I asked the bartender for a cup, and she smelled one on the bar to see if it was clean and handed it to me.

I stayed at several hostels in Melbourne and would recommend Nomad's only as a last resort.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Stayed for just under a week, and me and my friends thought the hostel was a great price, clean, and also very central to Melbourne City Centre, however not too central either!! Atmosphere was great, awesome staff who were very helpful, and great activities to get you involved and to make new friends!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Good Hostel clean and nice! I particularly appreciate the atmosphere and the location in Melbourne. It's easy to meet people as usual for nomads hostels. I found my friends from Perth ;-) After all Australia is a small country?!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

I only stayed at NOMADS one night and did have a lot of fun. I had limited money so went into the mixed 14 bed dorm for one night. My fellow roomies were very lovely and invited me to drink with them which I did. NOMADS is a great place for meeting people which I appreciate. Just a couple of qualms- wasnt overly fond of the only one toilet and one shower for 16 people. The shower was a little gross as was the state of the room. But it is a bit of a party dorm and you kind of have to expect that in that environment. Staff were friendly, however when I got there I couldnt check in and needed to store my bag. Which was fine, but I got given the key to the cinema room and went up to the lift but my key didnt work. Tried again, didnt work. Tried the stairs didnt work. Got it reset, didnt work. Finally made it up only to find that the cinema room was locked. After a brutal day and 20kgs on my back I wasnt overly thrilled. Then I was able to check into my room 10 minutes later anyway. But overall, not too bad. Good if you wish to have a drink and laugh and meet people.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aosta, Italy
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

The hostel is clean and nice, very central, too.
Internet and bar available.
The kitchen is small and not too many kitchen utensils available.
The dining area is outdoor, great for the summer months!
Staff is ok.
I stayed there in Xmas time, so it was very busy. I rent a room with my friends - 6 bed dorm with ensuite.
It was very comfortable - big and clean.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nomads Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nomads Melbourne

Address: A'Beckett St. 196-198, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Nomads Melbourne 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nomads Melbourne is a backpackers offering travellers a unique backpacking experience. The totally refurbished building at 196-198 A'Beckett St, is located at the top end of the city, right in front of the Queen Victoria Market. With many popular Melbourne attractions, beautiful gardens, fantastic shopping and a wealth of public transport options close by, Melbourne at its best is at your doorstep. At Nomads Melbourne you can indulge in the luxury of a deluxe en-suite king room, relax in style in a single or multi-share private room, or meet your fellow travelers in a 4-10 share dormitory room. Nomads Melbourne will make your stay in Melbourne a breeze. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, Agoda, HostelWorld, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Nomads Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nomads Industry Backpackers Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nomads Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.