We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not really serviced apartments.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Melbourne Short Stay Apartments

Save Saved
You added Melbourne Short Stay Apartments to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Melbourne Short Stay Apartments
4.5 of 5 Condominium   |   187 City Road, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia (Southbank)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 116 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not really serviced apartments.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2010

We booked these apartments as a group requesting 3, 2 bedroom apartments about 3 months in advance. When we arrived they didnt have our rooms near each other or even on the same floor. This made it very difficult for us as security in the building meant that we were unable to move freely between floors either. Also the apartments are advertised as serviced yet this means once a week. So in the 6 days we were there we did not get new towels, washing liquid or washing powder or even new toilet rolls. We have two small children so by the time we left, the floor looked like a disaster. I would have vacuumed myself except that you had to hire a vacuum if you wanted to do that. We also had to hire a cot to have in the apartment which i though was unreasonable considering the cost of the apartment and that it does cater for 4 people and there were only 4 of us. Perhaps this style of apartment would better suit somebody that was staying for a month or so and didnt mind buying there own washing liquid, washing powder etc but for 6 days it didnt seem worth it to do buy that stuff so it made it uncomforatble to stay in the apartment as it was pretty dirty by the end of the week.
The location is ok but not great. Very close to SouthBank, the Exhibition centre and not far from the new DFO but far from the city. With young kids its even far to walk to a tram. We stayed at Southbank One. The Apartment itself was quite nice but i wouldnt say it was luxury.
The staff are also very detached fro the apartmnets. I think it would be fair to say that many people who work in the office have not actually been in these apartments. They struggle to answer questions and dont really seem to know what is going on.
We visit Melbourne a lot and wont be staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    97
    30
    15
    6
See reviews for
86
45
2
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2010

This was quite adequate for our party of four, 1 couple and 2 singles. The rooms were big enough, and it was quite modern looking.

The view was nice from the small balcony, the aircon worked well, there was loads of cupboard space and even a weird little room for putting bags? naughty children?

Its very close to the casino, and a short 20min walk to the city.

The service was good, We had a couple of niggles which I don't think should detract anyone from staying. Someone had switched the phone handset plug, so it didn't work at first. The iron was missing, but reception brought up a new one, and the toilet fan, didn't really do anything, (don't let any of your group eat curried beans!) luckily reception sent us up an air refreshener. All the appliances looked pretty, but we didn't make use of the dishwasher, fridge washingmachine or dryer.

A couple of other things, The hairdryer sounded like it was going to blowup, as it had a broken peice of plastic that rattled around inside it, and the shower squirted water on the ceiling from somewhere. I think I fixed it by tightening part of the shower conduit with my hand. These things were probably unique to our room, and did not detract from the experience. I would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2010

Great place to stay while in Melbourne, located in the central CBD area and within walking distance to the South Bank and the restaurants located there. Rooms are well furnished and the views from the premium rooms is worth the extra cost. I highly recommend this as a place to stay while in Melbourne.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2009

My cousins and I stayed here for 2 nights. Found out about this apartment via the Internet and they even have their own website that I booked through. Considering it was very last minute, I have to give them the thumbs up for excellent service at such short notice.

FYI, I booked the 2 bedroom apartment at City Point Apartment on Bourke Street. Apparently there are 2 other location at City Road & Soutbank.

What I loved:
1. location.
- tram stop was right outside the apartment. Unfortunately, one has to walk a fair bit to get on the free tourist bus or tourist tram.
- very near to the Southern Cross Station (easy to get taxis)
- walking distance to Etihad Stadium, Waterfront & Harbourtown and close to the DFO store

2. view
- great view of the skyline of Melbourne and Yarra River

3. amenities
- the comforts of home: washing machine, dryer, dishwasher, all kitchenware appliances, linens etc

What I disliked:
1. picking up the keys
- you'd have to pick up the keys at another location i.e. City Road.. it's a tad inconvenient

2. extra heater
- I went there at the end of winter and there is only one A/C / heater in the living room. wished they had additional A/C / heater in the bedrooms

3. TV channels
- very limited channels.

All in all, it was a pleasant stay and withing walking distance to the main shopping area further up Bourke Street.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerikeri, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2009

Stayed here for four days. Found these apartments great to stay at, spotless, well equiped and very comfortable. Staff went out of their way to assist us when Jetstar cancelled our flight which meant a three hour delay and a late arrival. No ongoing personal service but this can't be expected in such a large group of apartments.
Small shop nearby selling basic foods, and around the corner great wine shop and bigger minimart. Short walk to river complex where we were spoilt for choice with restaurants overlooking the river. Casino very close-usually loath them but this one has a beautiful atrium, bars and restaurants. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
173 helpful votes 173 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2009

I've stayed here a couple of times. The 25 m lap pool is a real attraction as I need to swim as often as possible. There's also some basic gym equipment.

The rooms are good, excellent kitchen facilities. Modern decor...it's all there.

The immediate location is a bit dull, but good if you are working in Clarendon St area, and a short walk to Southbank with restaurants etc.

I'd stay there again if the price was right.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2009

The major problem with this apartment group is that there are two different sites, one on the city road, south bank and the other in the city by Spencer Street Station. I booked with Wotif and was assured I would be in the city address, got there 3pm Friday afternoon and was told I was in the City road apartments, sorry for the mix-up. The location of City road is outside of the main CBD area and it's a hassle walking into and back from town. The apartment itself was good, neat, clean, most mod-cons but your basic city apartment nothing more. A tad soul-less. If you can pick it up for a good price and dont mind being on the city fringe then this place is great. Not sure it warrants it's place as the second best apartment in Melbourne, the reviews are a bit over-blown in my opinion or maybe the competition isn't up to much?

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Melbourne Short Stay Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melbourne Short Stay Apartments

Address: 187 City Road, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 116 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Melbourne Short Stay Apartments 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Make yourself at home... Unlike traditional hotels, our stylish apartments offer all the space and comfort of home. Make the most of your stay in Melbourne by choosing one of our Southbank or CBD apartments. From just $199 per night, Melbourne Short Stay Apartments offers you a range of one, two and three bedroom quality executive style apartments for both the corporate and leisure traveller in a residential tower that gives you a feeling of home. Features include a fully equipped kitchen, separate living/dining area, comfortable bedrooms, laundry and private balcony. Guests have complimentary use of recreational facilities including indoor pool and gymnasium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Melbourne Short Stay Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melbourne Short Stay Apartments Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melbourne Short Stay Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.