We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stay so close to good restaurants” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Melbourne Short Stay Apartments

Save Saved
You added Melbourne Short Stay Apartments to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Melbourne Short Stay Apartments
4.5 of 5 Condominium   |   187 City Road, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia (Southbank)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 109 Specialty lodging in Melbourne
Kerikeri, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“great stay so close to good restaurants”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2009

Stayed here for four days. Found these apartments great to stay at, spotless, well equiped and very comfortable. Staff went out of their way to assist us when Jetstar cancelled our flight which meant a three hour delay and a late arrival. No ongoing personal service but this can't be expected in such a large group of apartments.
Small shop nearby selling basic foods, and around the corner great wine shop and bigger minimart. Short walk to river complex where we were spoilt for choice with restaurants overlooking the river. Casino very close-usually loath them but this one has a beautiful atrium, bars and restaurants. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    75
    83
    28
    13
    6
See reviews for
80
42
2
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2009

I've stayed here a couple of times. The 25 m lap pool is a real attraction as I need to swim as often as possible. There's also some basic gym equipment.

The rooms are good, excellent kitchen facilities. Modern decor...it's all there.

The immediate location is a bit dull, but good if you are working in Clarendon St area, and a short walk to Southbank with restaurants etc.

I'd stay there again if the price was right.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2009

The major problem with this apartment group is that there are two different sites, one on the city road, south bank and the other in the city by Spencer Street Station. I booked with Wotif and was assured I would be in the city address, got there 3pm Friday afternoon and was told I was in the City road apartments, sorry for the mix-up. The location of City road is outside of the main CBD area and it's a hassle walking into and back from town. The apartment itself was good, neat, clean, most mod-cons but your basic city apartment nothing more. A tad soul-less. If you can pick it up for a good price and dont mind being on the city fringe then this place is great. Not sure it warrants it's place as the second best apartment in Melbourne, the reviews are a bit over-blown in my opinion or maybe the competition isn't up to much?

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2009

We stayed there for 2 nights last week whilst visiting Melbourne. We were hosting an exchange student from Holland so used it as our base.

Check in was easy though the front desk staff did not exude much friendliness or charm. Apartment was comfortable with all the necessary requirements of a short stay in Melbourne.

Location was perfect as we could walk to the CBD and attractions and then wander up to the Southbank restaurants for dinner. A well stocked IGA supermarket is located in the next block and cater well for apartment living.

There is a concierge located in the lobby but more for permanent residents though we found them to be extremly friendly and helpful if we asked questions about amenities etc.

The boys used the pool on several occasions but found the water to be extremely chilly and unheated.

My only concern was that the hair dryer in the room did not work and when I reported it, the response was pretty luke warm and they made no attempt to have it replaced during our stay.

Overall good location and would recommend.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2009

We arrived at 9am and they found us an aprtment immediately. It was on the 33rd floor and our bedroom was like a glass box over Melbourne. Fantastic and V comfortable sitting area. Short walk to river to Cafes, bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, Lancashire
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2009

My Husband and I and Parents in Law stayed on the 23rd floor City Point Bourke St for 3 nights in a 2 bed 2 bath apartement. It was immacuately clean, well appointed and had everything that we needed for our stay. The views were great from the balcony but even though we were high up there was still faint traffic noise to be heard. It was lovely to use the swimming pool in an evening after long days sightseeing. Would definitely stay there again when visiting Melbourne.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2009

We had a 2 bdrm apartment (21st floor) for 7 days. This was booked at pretty short notice for the finals week of the Aust. tennis open so we were happy to find this.
Location was great....5 mins walk to Crown casino, Southgate shopping & entertainment area....10 mins to Aquarium & City circle tram. Theres' a great IGA shop 2 mins walk for fruit, basics grog etc.
Apartment was spacious & well appointed. There was a 40+ heatwave on while we were there so aircon rocks!.....we knew the apartment would not be serviced during our stay so not a problem...take spare towels for gym,tennis court & heated pool....all o.k. Our 16mth old loved the 8am swims!
Good views over the city although the other apartment towers are close....didnt worry us. Staff were friendly & helpful , you wont see them much. Check in & out was simple...carpark was good....lift fast. Had a wee problem gettin' a baby cot but arrived eventually. Cant dry clothes out on balcony but there is a good washer & dryer. All in all a good, well located, functional place to stay.......& the tennis was outta this world!!!!

  • Liked — Suited our needs
  • Disliked — No aircon in bedrooms
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Melbourne Short Stay Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melbourne Short Stay Apartments

Address: 187 City Road, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 109 Specialty lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Melbourne Short Stay Apartments 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Make yourself at home... Unlike traditional hotels, our stylish apartments offer all the space and comfort of home. Make the most of your stay in Melbourne by choosing one of our Southbank or CBD apartments. From just $199 per night, Melbourne Short Stay Apartments offers you a range of one, two and three bedroom quality executive style apartments for both the corporate and leisure traveller in a residential tower that gives you a feeling of home. Features include a fully equipped kitchen, separate living/dining area, comfortable bedrooms, laundry and private balcony. Guests have complimentary use of recreational facilities including indoor pool and gymnasium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Melbourne Short Stay Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melbourne Short Stay Apartments Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melbourne Short Stay Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.