We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pool and views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Melbourne Short Stay Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Melbourne Short Stay Apartments to your Saves list
Melbourne Short Stay Apartments
4.5 of 5 Condominium   |   187 City Road, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia (Southbank)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 112 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Sydney
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
“Great pool and views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2009

I've stayed here a couple of times. The 25 m lap pool is a real attraction as I need to swim as often as possible. There's also some basic gym equipment.

The rooms are good, excellent kitchen facilities. Modern decor...it's all there.

The immediate location is a bit dull, but good if you are working in Clarendon St area, and a short walk to Southbank with restaurants etc.

I'd stay there again if the price was right.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    110
    31
    16
    6
See reviews for
92
52
3
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
auckland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2009

The major problem with this apartment group is that there are two different sites, one on the city road, south bank and the other in the city by Spencer Street Station. I booked with Wotif and was assured I would be in the city address, got there 3pm Friday afternoon and was told I was in the City road apartments, sorry for the mix-up. The location of City road is outside of the main CBD area and it's a hassle walking into and back from town. The apartment itself was good, neat, clean, most mod-cons but your basic city apartment nothing more. A tad soul-less. If you can pick it up for a good price and dont mind being on the city fringe then this place is great. Not sure it warrants it's place as the second best apartment in Melbourne, the reviews are a bit over-blown in my opinion or maybe the competition isn't up to much?

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2009

We stayed there for 2 nights last week whilst visiting Melbourne. We were hosting an exchange student from Holland so used it as our base.

Check in was easy though the front desk staff did not exude much friendliness or charm. Apartment was comfortable with all the necessary requirements of a short stay in Melbourne.

Location was perfect as we could walk to the CBD and attractions and then wander up to the Southbank restaurants for dinner. A well stocked IGA supermarket is located in the next block and cater well for apartment living.

There is a concierge located in the lobby but more for permanent residents though we found them to be extremly friendly and helpful if we asked questions about amenities etc.

The boys used the pool on several occasions but found the water to be extremely chilly and unheated.

My only concern was that the hair dryer in the room did not work and when I reported it, the response was pretty luke warm and they made no attempt to have it replaced during our stay.

Overall good location and would recommend.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2009

We arrived at 9am and they found us an aprtment immediately. It was on the 33rd floor and our bedroom was like a glass box over Melbourne. Fantastic and V comfortable sitting area. Short walk to river to Cafes, bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, Lancashire
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2009

My Husband and I and Parents in Law stayed on the 23rd floor City Point Bourke St for 3 nights in a 2 bed 2 bath apartement. It was immacuately clean, well appointed and had everything that we needed for our stay. The views were great from the balcony but even though we were high up there was still faint traffic noise to be heard. It was lovely to use the swimming pool in an evening after long days sightseeing. Would definitely stay there again when visiting Melbourne.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2009

We had a 2 bdrm apartment (21st floor) for 7 days. This was booked at pretty short notice for the finals week of the Aust. tennis open so we were happy to find this.
Location was great....5 mins walk to Crown casino, Southgate shopping & entertainment area....10 mins to Aquarium & City circle tram. Theres' a great IGA shop 2 mins walk for fruit, basics grog etc.
Apartment was spacious & well appointed. There was a 40+ heatwave on while we were there so aircon rocks!.....we knew the apartment would not be serviced during our stay so not a problem...take spare towels for gym,tennis court & heated pool....all o.k. Our 16mth old loved the 8am swims!
Good views over the city although the other apartment towers are close....didnt worry us. Staff were friendly & helpful , you wont see them much. Check in & out was simple...carpark was good....lift fast. Had a wee problem gettin' a baby cot but arrived eventually. Cant dry clothes out on balcony but there is a good washer & dryer. All in all a good, well located, functional place to stay.......& the tennis was outta this world!!!!

  • Liked — Suited our needs
  • Disliked — No aircon in bedrooms
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tasmania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2009

We stayed here a year ago as the second place for our honeymoon. We went to the Aus open and therefore needed good CBD accommodation. This place was perfect. We paid around $180/night and it was well worth it. Its in a great location with most things in walking distance or easy access to public transport.

ROOM; was fantastic, very clean, modern and nice to lounge around in. It was small but being the two of us it didnt matter at all. It was serviced regularly which was nice.

FACILITIES; we didnt use the pool at all but we did use the tennis court a lot (you must book though...do it as soon as u get there to avoid disappointment). Our room backed into the office buildings behind but honestly it didnt matter at all.

STAFF; we didnt really have much to do with the staff. I would say that they were friendly though with an easy check in and out. They even let us leave our bags there on check out day as our flight was late.

All in all we would definately stay there again as we know we are guaranteed to like it. As opposed to 'hoping for the best with somewhere new'.

  • Liked — clean, modern
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Melbourne Short Stay Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melbourne Short Stay Apartments

Address: 187 City Road, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 112 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Melbourne Short Stay Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Make yourself at home... Unlike traditional hotels, our stylish apartments offer all the space and comfort of home. Make the most of your stay in Melbourne by choosing one of our Southbank or CBD apartments. From just $199 per night, Melbourne Short Stay Apartments offers you a range of one, two and three bedroom quality executive style apartments for both the corporate and leisure traveller in a residential tower that gives you a feeling of home. Features include a fully equipped kitchen, separate living/dining area, comfortable bedrooms, laundry and private balcony. Guests have complimentary use of recreational facilities including indoor pool and gymnasium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Melbourne Short Stay Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melbourne Short Stay Apartments Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melbourne Short Stay Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.