We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Melbourne Short Stay Apartments

Save Saved
You added Melbourne Short Stay Apartments to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Melbourne Short Stay Apartments
4.5 of 5 Condominium   |   187 City Road, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia (Southbank)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE WIFI & Best Rates!
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Comfortable Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2009

We stayed there for 2 nights last week whilst visiting Melbourne. We were hosting an exchange student from Holland so used it as our base.

Check in was easy though the front desk staff did not exude much friendliness or charm. Apartment was comfortable with all the necessary requirements of a short stay in Melbourne.

Location was perfect as we could walk to the CBD and attractions and then wander up to the Southbank restaurants for dinner. A well stocked IGA supermarket is located in the next block and cater well for apartment living.

There is a concierge located in the lobby but more for permanent residents though we found them to be extremly friendly and helpful if we asked questions about amenities etc.

The boys used the pool on several occasions but found the water to be extremely chilly and unheated.

My only concern was that the hair dryer in the room did not work and when I reported it, the response was pretty luke warm and they made no attempt to have it replaced during our stay.

Overall good location and would recommend.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    64
    78
    25
    12
    6
See reviews for
73
37
1
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
York
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2009

We arrived at 9am and they found us an aprtment immediately. It was on the 33rd floor and our bedroom was like a glass box over Melbourne. Fantastic and V comfortable sitting area. Short walk to river to Cafes, bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, Lancashire
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2009

My Husband and I and Parents in Law stayed on the 23rd floor City Point Bourke St for 3 nights in a 2 bed 2 bath apartement. It was immacuately clean, well appointed and had everything that we needed for our stay. The views were great from the balcony but even though we were high up there was still faint traffic noise to be heard. It was lovely to use the swimming pool in an evening after long days sightseeing. Would definitely stay there again when visiting Melbourne.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2009

We had a 2 bdrm apartment (21st floor) for 7 days. This was booked at pretty short notice for the finals week of the Aust. tennis open so we were happy to find this.
Location was great....5 mins walk to Crown casino, Southgate shopping & entertainment area....10 mins to Aquarium & City circle tram. Theres' a great IGA shop 2 mins walk for fruit, basics grog etc.
Apartment was spacious & well appointed. There was a 40+ heatwave on while we were there so aircon rocks!.....we knew the apartment would not be serviced during our stay so not a problem...take spare towels for gym,tennis court & heated pool....all o.k. Our 16mth old loved the 8am swims!
Good views over the city although the other apartment towers are close....didnt worry us. Staff were friendly & helpful , you wont see them much. Check in & out was simple...carpark was good....lift fast. Had a wee problem gettin' a baby cot but arrived eventually. Cant dry clothes out on balcony but there is a good washer & dryer. All in all a good, well located, functional place to stay.......& the tennis was outta this world!!!!

  • Liked — Suited our needs
  • Disliked — No aircon in bedrooms
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tasmania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2009

We stayed here a year ago as the second place for our honeymoon. We went to the Aus open and therefore needed good CBD accommodation. This place was perfect. We paid around $180/night and it was well worth it. Its in a great location with most things in walking distance or easy access to public transport.

ROOM; was fantastic, very clean, modern and nice to lounge around in. It was small but being the two of us it didnt matter at all. It was serviced regularly which was nice.

FACILITIES; we didnt use the pool at all but we did use the tennis court a lot (you must book though...do it as soon as u get there to avoid disappointment). Our room backed into the office buildings behind but honestly it didnt matter at all.

STAFF; we didnt really have much to do with the staff. I would say that they were friendly though with an easy check in and out. They even let us leave our bags there on check out day as our flight was late.

All in all we would definately stay there again as we know we are guaranteed to like it. As opposed to 'hoping for the best with somewhere new'.

  • Liked — clean, modern
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Gambier, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2008

As frequent visitors to Melbourne, we are always looking for great deals and great spots. We normally stay out a Carlton when we visit, but as we needed a 3 bedroom apartment this time, we needed to look elsewhere. Not being a fan of staying right in the Melbourne CBD, we came across the MSS Apartments and booked on the website.
Hear goes my review... The checkin was appalling, after a 5 hour drive, Melbourne peak hour traffic and 6 people (including 3 kids squeezed into a Partol) we just wanted to quickly checkin, unpack, relax and then find somewhere to eat. You have to actually fix up your account when you check in, as we had 3 people paying we had to find a park, unload half the car so we could all get out, wake sleeping kids up, walk from the car in the rain to their office area and check in, it was not an easy process either for the reservation to divide our account into 3??? We then were given instructions on which buliding we needed to go to and where our carpark was, all which were incorrect, so we walked up and down the street trying to find our number, that was after we drove up and down trying to find our allocated parking area, as Check in had told us the incorrect level. As it was never explained to us our apartment location, we only realised after day 2 that we could access the carpark area from our hotel.
The good news is we did get over this, once we got into our apartment. We booked a 3 bedroom with views for 5 nights, and it was well worth it. The apartments are large, the bedrooms a good size, the 2 bathrooms make it very convenient. The blinds needed to be replaced, as they do make the rooms look a bit run down, but apart from that cant really complain, noise wasnt an issue. There is a small pool, which is heated, plus a pretty good gym, if youve still got the energy to work out after wandering the streets of Melbourne. You are not even a 5 minute walk to the Southbank entertaining precient, cross a bridge over the Yarra and you are a Flinders Street Station, 10 minute walk to the South Melbourne Markets (great for fresh produce). Car parking is secure, $15.00 per day, we didnt take it our once, the public transport in Melbourne is so good!. Its a nice, clean safe area, for walking back from meals at night with young kids. Would definetly stay again, even after the checkin fiasco!!

  • Liked — Size of the apartment, its location
  • Disliked — Check in
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2008

Our family (toddler & infant) have just returned from a very pleasant 4 night stay. Our apartment was on the 20th floor with views to the back and towards other skyscrapers. Their proximity to our tower was not of much concern to us as we are not the sort of people who care too much about our privacy. Our rate was $250 per night so we thought that was reasonable given that we had a two bedroom.

THE POSITIVES:
1. Great location – just 5 minutes walk to Crown Casino & walking distance to all major tram lines
2. Very spacious
3. Clean, quiet & great for kids with a two bedroom
4. Great in room dining menus
5. Complimentary check out until 12noon granted
6. Nice to have a pool deck
7. Self contained – washing machine, dryer etc
8. Handy corner store located on the corner of the street

THENEGATIVES:
1. The biggest problem is the venetian blinds in all rooms – VERY early wake up call for mum, dad and the kids – need to have some block out curtains!!Gets dark late and the sun is up early.
2. Lobby smells of Asia (but who really cares)
3. Only supplied with 6 towels for 5 nights – asked for two more, after some discussion with duty manager. Eventually received some as I was happy to pay. Rate charged $10
4. $40 room service charge if you want your apartment cleaned

Our recommendation would be to ask for a room on the street side if you want the city views and more privacy. I don't think it really matters how high up you are as you get a view regardless. Higher up on the street side may reduce the traffic noise if you like to sleep with open windows though. Might be an idea to get a room away from the rubbish shoot if you are staying for a long period of time. We believe each floor has one.

The staff at this establishment are not grat at replying to emails in much detail. We did find that on arrival though the reception staff were very friendly and helpful. They were more than happy to book our transfers to and from the airport and assist us with storage of baggage etc. We wanted to know what basic provisions were provided so we could stock up prior to our arrival. Here is a list of the basics:

- sachets of washing powder, dishwashing powder, tea, coffee, sugar; soap, shampoo, conditioner, 3 rolls of toilet paper and 6 towels for 4 people (no pool towels) This will get you by for 1-2 days. After that you need to bring your own.

Overall, we were very happy with this apartment. We would definitely stay here again if the same rate or better was offered. Wouldn't pay more for for the apartment, especially as it isn't serviced during our stay.

  • Liked — Location, spacious & clean
  • Disliked — The blinds did not block out any light in the bedrooms in particular
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Melbourne Short Stay Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melbourne Short Stay Apartments

Also Known As:
Melbourne Short Stay Apartments Hotel
Melbourne Short Stay Apartments Hotel Melbourne
Address: 187 City Road, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 101 Specialty lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Melbourne Short Stay Apartments 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Make yourself at home... Unlike traditional hotels, our stylish apartments offer all the space and comfort of home. Make the most of your stay in Melbourne by choosing one of our Southbank or CBD apartments. From just $199 per night, Melbourne Short Stay Apartments offers you a range of one, two and three bedroom quality executive style apartments for both the corporate and leisure traveller in a residential tower that gives you a feeling of home. Features include a fully equipped kitchen, separate living/dining area, comfortable bedrooms, laundry and private balcony. Guests have complimentary use of recreational facilities including indoor pool and gymnasium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Melbourne Short Stay Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melbourne Short Stay Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.