We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Melbourne Short Stay Apartments

Save Saved
You added Melbourne Short Stay Apartments to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Melbourne Short Stay Apartments
4.5 of 5 Condominium   |   187 City Road, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia (Southbank)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 113 Specialty lodging in Melbourne
tasmania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Stay...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2009

We stayed here a year ago as the second place for our honeymoon. We went to the Aus open and therefore needed good CBD accommodation. This place was perfect. We paid around $180/night and it was well worth it. Its in a great location with most things in walking distance or easy access to public transport.

ROOM; was fantastic, very clean, modern and nice to lounge around in. It was small but being the two of us it didnt matter at all. It was serviced regularly which was nice.

FACILITIES; we didnt use the pool at all but we did use the tennis court a lot (you must book though...do it as soon as u get there to avoid disappointment). Our room backed into the office buildings behind but honestly it didnt matter at all.

STAFF; we didnt really have much to do with the staff. I would say that they were friendly though with an easy check in and out. They even let us leave our bags there on check out day as our flight was late.

All in all we would definately stay there again as we know we are guaranteed to like it. As opposed to 'hoping for the best with somewhere new'.

  • Liked — clean, modern
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    78
    93
    29
    15
    6
See reviews for
83
45
2
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mount Gambier, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2008

As frequent visitors to Melbourne, we are always looking for great deals and great spots. We normally stay out a Carlton when we visit, but as we needed a 3 bedroom apartment this time, we needed to look elsewhere. Not being a fan of staying right in the Melbourne CBD, we came across the MSS Apartments and booked on the website.
Hear goes my review... The checkin was appalling, after a 5 hour drive, Melbourne peak hour traffic and 6 people (including 3 kids squeezed into a Partol) we just wanted to quickly checkin, unpack, relax and then find somewhere to eat. You have to actually fix up your account when you check in, as we had 3 people paying we had to find a park, unload half the car so we could all get out, wake sleeping kids up, walk from the car in the rain to their office area and check in, it was not an easy process either for the reservation to divide our account into 3??? We then were given instructions on which buliding we needed to go to and where our carpark was, all which were incorrect, so we walked up and down the street trying to find our number, that was after we drove up and down trying to find our allocated parking area, as Check in had told us the incorrect level. As it was never explained to us our apartment location, we only realised after day 2 that we could access the carpark area from our hotel.
The good news is we did get over this, once we got into our apartment. We booked a 3 bedroom with views for 5 nights, and it was well worth it. The apartments are large, the bedrooms a good size, the 2 bathrooms make it very convenient. The blinds needed to be replaced, as they do make the rooms look a bit run down, but apart from that cant really complain, noise wasnt an issue. There is a small pool, which is heated, plus a pretty good gym, if youve still got the energy to work out after wandering the streets of Melbourne. You are not even a 5 minute walk to the Southbank entertaining precient, cross a bridge over the Yarra and you are a Flinders Street Station, 10 minute walk to the South Melbourne Markets (great for fresh produce). Car parking is secure, $15.00 per day, we didnt take it our once, the public transport in Melbourne is so good!. Its a nice, clean safe area, for walking back from meals at night with young kids. Would definetly stay again, even after the checkin fiasco!!

  • Liked — Size of the apartment, its location
  • Disliked — Check in
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2008

Our family (toddler & infant) have just returned from a very pleasant 4 night stay. Our apartment was on the 20th floor with views to the back and towards other skyscrapers. Their proximity to our tower was not of much concern to us as we are not the sort of people who care too much about our privacy. Our rate was $250 per night so we thought that was reasonable given that we had a two bedroom.

THE POSITIVES:
1. Great location – just 5 minutes walk to Crown Casino & walking distance to all major tram lines
2. Very spacious
3. Clean, quiet & great for kids with a two bedroom
4. Great in room dining menus
5. Complimentary check out until 12noon granted
6. Nice to have a pool deck
7. Self contained – washing machine, dryer etc
8. Handy corner store located on the corner of the street

THENEGATIVES:
1. The biggest problem is the venetian blinds in all rooms – VERY early wake up call for mum, dad and the kids – need to have some block out curtains!!Gets dark late and the sun is up early.
2. Lobby smells of Asia (but who really cares)
3. Only supplied with 6 towels for 5 nights – asked for two more, after some discussion with duty manager. Eventually received some as I was happy to pay. Rate charged $10
4. $40 room service charge if you want your apartment cleaned

Our recommendation would be to ask for a room on the street side if you want the city views and more privacy. I don't think it really matters how high up you are as you get a view regardless. Higher up on the street side may reduce the traffic noise if you like to sleep with open windows though. Might be an idea to get a room away from the rubbish shoot if you are staying for a long period of time. We believe each floor has one.

The staff at this establishment are not grat at replying to emails in much detail. We did find that on arrival though the reception staff were very friendly and helpful. They were more than happy to book our transfers to and from the airport and assist us with storage of baggage etc. We wanted to know what basic provisions were provided so we could stock up prior to our arrival. Here is a list of the basics:

- sachets of washing powder, dishwashing powder, tea, coffee, sugar; soap, shampoo, conditioner, 3 rolls of toilet paper and 6 towels for 4 people (no pool towels) This will get you by for 1-2 days. After that you need to bring your own.

Overall, we were very happy with this apartment. We would definitely stay here again if the same rate or better was offered. Wouldn't pay more for for the apartment, especially as it isn't serviced during our stay.

  • Liked — Location, spacious & clean
  • Disliked — The blinds did not block out any light in the bedrooms in particular
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2008

We have just got back from staying 8 days at the Short Stay location on City Road. This was our sixth stay with them. During this stay we had a 2bdrm apartment on the 22nd floor which provided great views. While the apartment was a little pricy, we were staying over during the Tennis Open and so expected to pay more than normal, as seems to be standard among most places during this time period.

During the stay we dealt with various staff who were all helpful and friendly in making our stay enjoyable. Nothing was ever a trouble when we contacted them for several different enquiries. Having stayed with them before we knew that the apartments were only serviced every 7 days, but to us this was not a problem as the apartment comes with its own laundry facilities. We also like the fact that this means you don't have cleaning staff trapsing through your apartment everyday just to 'spruce - up' the room.

With anything though, it pays to read the information provided on their website to ensure that you know what to expect from them, as the Short Stay aren't a 'hotel-apartment' chain type accommodation and have been in the past, marketed more towards longer term stays. Having stayed with the Short Stay at their various locations on now six occasions, we would not hesitate to recommend them to others.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2008

We have just returned from 5 days stay at South Bank Short Stay Apartments in Melbourne. Experience is rather disappointing for accommodation which cost almost $500/night.
There was no change of bed linen or towels for seven days and there were no spare beddings or towels so we could wash the ones we used. When contacted "friendly staf" we were told "friendly" that they do not do that deliberately to make our holyday miserable and that everything was in black and white in terms and conditions.
The accommodation like this, with swimming pool and gym facilities, should offer much more towels like other resorts do even the ones in much poorer countries.
The worst part is pointing to "black and white" fine print which, I have to admit, I have never paid any attention to because I expected that level of service. Metter of fact I could not find that part even now. This just shows the bad attitude of the management.
Carpets were not vacuumed for the entire stay, doors were squeaky and toilette paper was not supplied at all.
Bed blankets were in stains and the apartment was so poorly furnished (no side tables or wall units ) so we had to leave our clothing, cameras, chargers etc. on the floor.
Except the nice location and stunning views the rest of the stay was total disappointment.
Defenitely not value for money.
I am quite happy to discuss this matter with anybody willing to hear from me and people who stayed with me.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — service and mangement bad attitude
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2007

The apartments marketed by Short Stay Apartments are said to be luxury. While the location and building is impressive I couldn't help feeling let down by the standard of the furnishings:
The TV was an old 21 inch box, the couches were poorly constructed leaving hard wooden areas on the arms where there should be padding, the tables, chairs and blinds were very office-like, the bed was uncomfortable and reminded me of lying on the springs of a trampoline (and the blanket was like a big flat sponge), and the bathroom products provided were of a low quality. The apartment was also in need of a paint.
Having said all that, it was very spacious, it had Internet provided (even though it didn't work one of the mornings and they couldn't fix it for hours), and it has a good indoor swimming pool. I would have to think though that the new Travelodge nearby is better value.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2007

We stayed in the Southbank complex and although the apartments are a 10-15 minute walk from Federation Square, they're only 5 minutes from Southbank a buzzy area of restaurants and shops along the bank of the river, so although the street the apartment blocks are in is hardly lovely, it is pretty convenient if you're happy not to be right in the centre of things. And the views from our apartment (on the 30th floor) were sensational. The apartment itself was sparce but spacious (we were given a free upgrade from a 2 bed 1 bath, to a 2 bed 2 bath) and had everything we needed. The kitchen was well equipped, the bathrooms were clean (although the ensuite one was rather er, compact) and with good showers, the washing maching and tumble drier were easy to operate (and much used!), there was plenty hanging space (though no drawers and a limited number of hangers), a good (if not overly large) TV and music system, and the beds and sofas were comfortable. If we had any criticism it was that the bedding was a bit shabby, a couple of the sheets had small holes in them and both the blankets and the bedcovers were slightly torn. The staff were helpful and friendly whenever we spoke to them, and the DVD rental service from the conceirge was a welcome way to spend an evening in after a long day of sightseeing. The gym is small and the equipment limited and rather aged, and there's a tennis court and a good, clean pool - all on the 6th floor and free to residents for the period of their stay.

  • Liked — The space and the views
  • Disliked — The shabby bed linen
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Melbourne Short Stay Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melbourne Short Stay Apartments

Address: 187 City Road, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 113 Specialty lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Melbourne Short Stay Apartments 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Make yourself at home... Unlike traditional hotels, our stylish apartments offer all the space and comfort of home. Make the most of your stay in Melbourne by choosing one of our Southbank or CBD apartments. From just $199 per night, Melbourne Short Stay Apartments offers you a range of one, two and three bedroom quality executive style apartments for both the corporate and leisure traveller in a residential tower that gives you a feeling of home. Features include a fully equipped kitchen, separate living/dining area, comfortable bedrooms, laundry and private balcony. Guests have complimentary use of recreational facilities including indoor pool and gymnasium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Melbourne Short Stay Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melbourne Short Stay Apartments Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melbourne Short Stay Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.