We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Living Space” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Melbourne Short Stay Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Melbourne Short Stay Apartments to your Saves list
Melbourne Short Stay Apartments
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   187 City Road, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia (Southbank)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free WiFi
Ranked #24 of 104 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Comfortable Living Space”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

We went to Melbourne on a very packed weekend whereby all the hotels were booked. So this was a very good option. The kitchen is reasonable equipped. It is one of the places that was on the list for Skybus direct line so it was very convenient to get there from the airport.

Our flight arrived early morning but the place seemed to be full and we weren't able to check in till 1pm, although the staff tried their best. Megan, a kind staff was very helpful with all our needs throughout our stay.

Our apartment was at 241 City Road, MP deluxe. It seemed like a new building by Melbourne Shortstay Apartment so the tour we booked had a hard time locating us. Do point out the differences to your tour agency if you're planning on booking tours!

The location was a little far, situated away from flinders' street and the main city area. However it is a reasonably okay walk to the nearest tram station. There is also a supermarket nearby for families who may wish to cook some meals. We did not have time to try the gym and pool but it seemed well equipped too! Only issue was that one of the room that has the window did not seem to have good curtains to block out the lights in the morning and with an early sunrise in summer, it was a little too bright at 5am.

Overall a pleasant experience!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne04, General Manager at Melbourne Short Stay Apartments, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Dear jypann,

Thanks for writing your review following your stay with us in December. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and it's so wonderful to hear that you found our team members to be friendly and helpful!

Once again, thank you for taking the time to write your review. We look forward to welcoming you back to Melbourne Short Stay Apartments on your next trip to our beautiful city.

Warm regards,

Stuart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    132
    39
    18
    10
See reviews for
111
65
4
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in a 4 apartment recently. It was a success from the beginning. We arrived very early and the friendly staff took our bags and told us that they would call once the room was available. Sure enough they did and we managed to check in early.

The apartment was clean and spacious. We were on the 24th floor so had reasonable views of surrounding areas. The swimming pool and gym served its purpose nicely. All in all it was a very pleasurable stay.

Tip: Found the parking they provided convenient but more expensive than others close by.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne04, General Manager at Melbourne Short Stay Apartments, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear mac_an_sionnach,

Thanks for writing such a lovely review following your stay with us this month. We are so happy to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and were able to make use of the leisure facilities. It's wonderful to hear that you found our team members to be so friendly and efficient!

Once again, thank you for your review and for rating us so highly in all categories. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Melbourne.

Warm regards,

Stuart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights on business in 2 bedroom 2 bathroom.
Second bathroom is concealed behind wardrobe door, leaving little privacy!!!
There is no air-conditioning in the bedrooms, only in the living room *(which was noisy and only worked sometimes). Therefore we were a unable to close the bedroom doors which negated the benefit of the 2 bedroom apartment. Car park is difficult to access with no lift facility and poor directions once inside Would I stay again,,,,NO.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne04, Manager at Melbourne Short Stay Apartments, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Cooljt9,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your stay with us in November. We honestly value all feedback received because it helps us to continue to improve our guest experience.
I am disappointed to read that your apartment did not meet your expectations on this occasion. I can appreciate your feedback about the second bathroom being concealed behind the wardrobe door. The apartment you occupied is one of the few apartments with this type of design. The majority of our apartments have both bathrooms in a traditional setting. With reference to no air-conditioning in the bedrooms I can appreciate this could have caused some inconvenience. We do have select apartments in our buildings that do offer air-conditioning in both the living areas and bedrooms.
All our car parks do offer direct lift access from the car park up to your apartment floor, I apologise that you found it difficult to navigate your way around.
Thanks again for taking the time to provide your feedback and we hope to have the opportunity to meet and exceed your expectations next time you are in Melbourne.

Warm regards,
Marcus
Area Operations Manager
Southbank
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Melbourne Short Stay Apartments provided an excellent alternative to hotel. It was within minutes of the Art Centre and CBD - and the apartment had all facilities required - kitchen, laundry, phone, broadband, etc. Check in was very easy, with plenty of instructions on where to park, the building security, etc. When staying for more than a day or two, it is great to have space - and the two bedroom/two bathroom apartment had that. Plus a small gym and swimming pool - and a great view over the city.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne04, General Manager at Melbourne Short Stay Apartments, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Traveller_Sydney_86,

Thank you for providing your glowing five star review following your stay with us this November, it was our absolute pleasure to welcome you Melbourne Short Stay Apartments! We really appreciate you taking the time to leave your feedback as it helps us ensure we consistently deliver an outstanding guest experience.

I am so pleased to read that you rated your stay with us so highly! It's great to hear that you found your apartment had everything you needed for your stay. We work hard to present our apartments to a standard where you can walk in the door and make yourself right at home.

Thank you once again for your glowing review and we can't wait to welcome you back to Melbourne Short Stay Apartments on your return trip.

Warm regards,

Stuart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strathmore, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Spacious and quiet apartment near the centre of the city. Few mins walk to buses and trams. Southbank walkable in 15 mins. Never felt the need for a car.
Everything was there, clean, well laid out and what we would hope for anywhere we went.
Great staff reception and assistance (even down to the loan of an umbrella - sadly a rainy week visit!).

Internet was good (though instructions need updating between the administration and the ISP as sites have changed slightly) and worked faultlessly once connected. Would have been nice to have it included in the price, but that seems to be an obvious competitive advantage which eludes most Australian establishments we have found, to date.

Room Tip: We weren't aware of choice options, but 'go high' if you get a choice and make the most...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne04, Manager at Melbourne Short Stay Apartments, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear albacanadian,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay with us at Melbourne Short Stay Apartments. We love to hear from our guests as it helps us continue to deliver an outstanding guest experience.

I'm very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, particularly the convenient location and your well-equipped apartment. I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the high level of customer service we pride ourselves on, though I am sorry to read that you required an umbrella. Melbourne is known to receive four seasons of weather in one day on occasion!

Again, thanks for providing your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to Melbourne Short Stay Apartments when you’re next in town.

Warm regards,

Marcus Maillet
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

We loved everything about our stay here. The location was great within walking distance to everything you need. The view of Melbourne was fabulous.! The aprtment was clean and well stocked. The staff were also really great. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne04, Manager at Melbourne Short Stay Apartments, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Trudy C,

Thank you for providing your glowing five star review following your stay with us this October, it was our absolute pleasure to welcome you to Melbourne Short Stay Apartments! We really appreciate you taking the time to leave your feedback as it helps us ensure we consistently deliver an outstanding guest experience.

I am so pleased to read that you rated your stay with us so highly! It's great to hear that you found the location to be so convenient and that your apartment provided a well-equipped place for you to unwind after a busy day exploring our wonderful city.

Thank you once again for your glowing review and on behalf of our team, we can't wait to see you again on your next trip to Melbourne!

Warm regards,

Marcus Maillet
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Melbourne Short Stay apartments is located at Southbank which is an easy 10 minute stroll into Federation Square. The apartments are well maintained and centrally located to Crown Casino and Southbank entertainment along the river including great restaurants, bars and entertainment. I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to friends as a Melbourne CBD alternative.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne04, Manager at Melbourne Short Stay Apartments, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear NVN001,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay with us at Southbank Central. We love to hear from our guests as it helps us to continue to deliver an outstanding experience.

I'm very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, particularly the convenience of our location. It sounds like you were able to get out and explore the fantastic Southbank promenade and its plethora of restaurants, bars and shops!

Again, thanks for providing your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to Melbourne Short Stay Apartments when you’re next in town.

Warm regards,

Marcus Maillet
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Melbourne Short Stay Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melbourne Short Stay Apartments

Address: 187 City Road, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 104 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Melbourne Short Stay Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Make yourself at home... Unlike traditional hotels, our stylish apartments offer all the space and comfort of home. Make the most of your stay in Melbourne by choosing one of our Southbank or CBD apartments. From just $199 per night, Melbourne Short Stay Apartments offers you a range of one, two and three bedroom quality executive style apartments for both the corporate and leisure traveller in a residential tower that gives you a feeling of home. Features include a fully equipped kitchen, separate living/dining area, comfortable bedrooms, laundry and private balcony. Guests have complimentary use of recreational facilities including indoor pool and gymnasium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA and Agoda so you can book your Melbourne Short Stay Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melbourne Short Stay Apartments Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melbourne Short Stay Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.