We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical Apartment” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Melbourne Short Stay Apartments

Save Saved
You added Melbourne Short Stay Apartments to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Melbourne Short Stay Apartments
4.5 of 5 Condominium   |   187 City Road, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia (Southbank)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 111 Specialty lodging in Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Typical Apartment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Stayed 3 nights for a work conference in a three bedroom apartment.
Apartment location is a 5 minute walk from Crown Casino & 10 Minute Walk to Convention / Exhibition Centre.
It was a typical non serviced apartment with all kitchen & laundry facilities.
Very Clean & staff are friendly & helpful.
It has a large pool, small gym & tennis court.
This represents good value for money.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are sunny in the afternoon
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne04, Manager at Melbourne Short Stay Apartments, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear AndrewDoesTravel,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your stay with us this month. We love hearing from our guests because it helps us to continue to ensure we deliver an outstanding guest experience.

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our location to be handy to Crown Entertainment Complex and the Melbourne Convention & Exhibition Centre. We pride ourselves on delivering great service and presenting real value for money, so I'm very happy to read that you enjoyed both!

Thank you again for providing your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Melbourne.

Warm regards,

Marcus Maillet
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    75
    87
    28
    13
    6
See reviews for
80
43
2
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Stayed there for 2 nights at 2 bedroom apartment at City Point location on Bourke St.

The rooms were spacious and comfortable with large living and kitchen area. However, the carpets had quite a number of stained spots on them. Was told that I can have early check-in but when I arrived, the maintenance guy was still in the shower fixing up the shower-head which is a bit awkward.

The major downside is that the City Point apartment to not have Short Stay reception, had to go to City Tempo locations for keys and check-in (about 15 mins walk) and that the paid car-park access is very ambiguous with no signs on a one-way lane so very easy to miss it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne04, Manager at Melbourne Short Stay Apartments, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear Abo T,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback following your recent stay with us. We love to hear from our guests as it helps us to ensure we continue to deliver an outstanding guest experience.

Firstly, I would like to apologise for any inconvenience you experienced when entering your apartment to find our maintenance team working on the shower. We have discussed this amongst the team to ensure these miscommunications are avoided in the future. Thank you for your feedback regarding the carpets; I am happy to inform you that we are currently undergoing a soft refurbishment of our Bourke Street apartments, which includes replacement of tired carpets.

I am delighted to read that you found your apartment to be both spacious and comfortable, and that you had a five-out-of-five sleep!

Once again, thank you for writing your review of your recent stay and we hope to welcome you back to Melbourne Short Stay Apartments on your return to our beautiful city.

Warm regards,

Marcus Maillet
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Nice 1-bedroom apartment with all amenities needed. Great new building with 3 fast elevators. Comfortable apartment with living room (incl TV, DVD player and separate stereo), dining area, bedroom, nice bathroom and a good kitchen. Right-sized bedroom with large sliding mirror-door wardrobe with lots of hangers. Nice balcony and decent view. Will be back next time.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne04, Manager at Melbourne Short Stay Apartments, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear finnwp,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback following your recent stay with us. It's great to hear from our guests because it helps us to ensure that we continue to deliver an outstanding guest experience.

It is with great pleasure that I read your review! We work hard to present our apartments to a standard where you can walk in the door and make yourself right at home. I'm very happy to see that you found your apartment comfortable with all the modern conveniences you need for an enjoyable stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Melbourne! Thanks once again for taking the time to share your experience with Melbourne Short Stay Apartments.

Warm regards,

Marcus Maillet
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a 3 bedroom apartment here, it was huge, heaps of room, and beds and lounges were very comfortable. Location was ok but a little bit of a walk to the restaurants and cafes on Southbank. Car parking was available and quite reasonably priced. Would certainly consider it again when we next visit Melbourne.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne04, Manager at Melbourne Short Stay Apartments, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Enid H,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your stay with us this month. We love hearing from our guests as it helps us to ensure we continue to deliver an outstanding guest experience.

It is fantastic to read that you found your apartment offered you plenty of room to move during your stay. The beds and lounges are quite comfy aren't they?!

Once again, thanks for leaving your feedback following your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to Melbourne Short Stay Apartments on your next trip to our beautiful city. Why not try our SouthbankOne location on your next visit? It's a very short walk to Southbank and Crown Entertainment Complex.

Warm regards,

Marcus Maillet
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

The apartment was clean but starting to look a little tired. We had a reasonable views from the balcony but the blinds were older and not in the best condition and did not block the early morning sun, which meant that there was no sleeping in as sunlight would get through. The internal carpark which allowed us to access our car as often as we please without needing an attendant to get the car for you was a bonus. This allowed us to come and go as we pleased. The living area was spacious and all the kitchen facilities worked. The location was great. We were close to the Casino, South Wharf DFO, all the restaurants by the river and the CBD was a max.10 min walk away. The apartment was reasonably priced however the carpark should have been included and not an extra charge.This apartment building is not fit for anyone wanting to party all night long as they have a noise policy of no noise after 10pm, so keep that in mind if your thinking of going there to party hard!

Room Tip: Try get a high level room for a better view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne04, Manager at Melbourne Short Stay Apartments, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear OzTravelGuy,

Thanks for taking the time to provide your feedback following your recent stay with us at Melbourne Short Stay Apartments. We love hearing from our guests as it helps us to ensure we continue to deliver an outstanding guest experience.

Firstly, I apologise if your sleep quality was impacted on by the blinds in your apartment. I am pleased to let you know that we are currently undertaking a replacement program of our blinds in these apartments, in response to feedback from our guests. At the same time we will refresh the apartments with some new soft furnishings to provide a fresh lease on life!

I am delighted to read that you found our secure on-site car parking to be so efficient, and at $16.50 per day, we feel we are very competitively priced for an inner city car park, with most locations priced well over that per hour.

It is great to hear that you enjoyed the spaciousness of the apartments and the full-sized kitchen. We hear from so many guests how much they enjoy being able to self cater, especially after a trip to the South Melbourne Market to pick up some fresh ingredients! It's fantastic that you found the location to be so convenient to Crown and the abundance of restaurants and bars along Southbank, plus the bargain shopping at DFO and short walk into the city centre.

Again, thank you for sharing your experience with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Melbourne Short Stay Apartments on your next trip to our beautiful city.

Warm regards,

Marcus Maillet
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Booked this accomm via Wotif, under the "Wot Hotel Mystery deal" - well I learnt my lesson: never again. This accomm is located very conveniently over the river from Flinders St Station and near the Eureka building in Southbank. Check in is clunky and not streamlined like you'd expect from a large inner city hotel but they are apartments and these apartments are being sold and rented as same time. Huge towers with a pool and gym. The check in is on City Road but the apartment tower entrance is around the corner and the building work every where in the adjacent blocks means you trot around the block from check in. If it had been raining we'd have gotten wet, we had 2 children with us and no way we could get any concierge help - there isn't one. and we had to walk on the road as footpath closed as building stuff went on. Got into the the room. Great floor to ceiling windows with a bit of a view southwards towards the Bay. This will not last long though as the entire area is being built out with apartment towers. 2 bedrooms and a funny little vacant room we couldn't work out what it was for. The bathroom was dirty, the tiles moldy and grout cracked. The toilet seat was shamefully worn out and disgusting. Its a very cheap repair but these managers aren't interested in maintenance. Airconditioner ( reverse cycle) was really noisy and we had a small column (oil) heater but these couldn't cope with the cold conditions so the main lounge is quite comfortable but the bedrooms freezing.
Got out the supplied blankets during the night as so cold.
BUT when I went to put the blankets away in the morning noticed they were filthy with what appeared to be lashing of human mucus like stuff crusted on and dried to them. Nearly threw up.
Called reception all apologies but took ages for housekeeping to come up to apartment to remove the filthy blankets & clean the mold from the bathroom, the attendant then told me wouldn't be cleaned properly as the grout was cracked. Informed her that a liberal application of thick bleach would most definitely get rid of the problem in the short term but maintenance should be informed. Also pointed out the toilet seat and got a mumbled reply that would let maintenance know. We had checked this accommodation out on Trip Advisor after we found out from Wotif and we looking forward to or stay but the dirty bedding and the mold stained bathroom and ancient peeling toilet seat put us off.
We were booked for 2 nights but decided to leave half way through second day and didn't stay another night. There is better available especially if you have children and don't want to risk some kind of infection from a dirty bathroom, peeling toilet seat ( yes the plastic toilet seat was delaminating) and filthy bedding.

Room Tip: Ask for a clean one, and check bathroom and bedding for cleaniness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne04, Manager at Melbourne Short Stay Apartments, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear caroleum1965,

Thank you for taking the time to provide such a comprehensive review following your recent stay with us. We truly value the feedback we receive as it helps us to continue to improve our guest experience. It was a pleasure to speak with you over the phone and I'm glad we were able to discuss your stay in more detail and how we have resolved the issues you raised.

It was so disappointing to hear that you did not experience the outstanding level of quality, cleanliness and service that we pride ourselves on delivering to our guests, and for this I sincerely apologise again. As mentioned to you on the phone, I can assure you that the comfort, safety and security of our guests is of utmost importance to our team. As discussed over the phone, each of the items you highlighted has been addressed; the toilet seat has been replaced with a brand new one, the shower grout has been thoroughly cleaned and repaired, the shower screen silicone has been replaced, as has the silicone around the vanity mirror. In regards to the blankets, as discussed, the substance you found was dried washing detergent. We are working with our laundry company to find a way to avoid this happening in the future. Your feedback regarding the miscommunication between our housekeeping department, reception and yourself will be used in developing communication training modules for our team.

I am happy to read that you enjoyed the convenient location and the large floor-to-ceiling windows that your apartment offered.

Again, thank you for taking the time to offer your feedback and I do hope that we get the opportunity to give you the outstanding guest experience that we pride ourselves on during your next trip to Melbourne.

Warm regards,

Marcus Maillet
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We had a very nice stay at Short Stay. Fantastic location close to the casino and town. The room we had was very nice on the 29th floor. Views were superb. Only minor complaint, was it was a bit of a hassle arriving as we were outside of check in etc. Great facilities though, pool kept our youngest daughter entertained. All in all, a very nice stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne04, Manager at Melbourne Short Stay Apartments, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Colleen4154,

Thanks for taking the time to write your review following your stay with us in September.

We are delighted to read that you had such an enjoyable stay and that your family were able to take advantage of the complimentary access to our building's leisure facilities. It's so great to read that you found the location to be so convenient to Crown and the CBD and that you were able to enjoy some great views from your Premium View apartment.

We apologise for any inconvenience you experienced with your after-hours check-in. We are currently undertaking a review of our booking confirmation paperwork to ensure that the after-hours check-in procedure is very clearly defined.

Thank you once again for leaving your feedback and we hope to welcome you back to Melbourne Short Stay Apartments on your next trip to our beautiful city.

Warm regards,

Marcus Maillet
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Melbourne Short Stay Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melbourne Short Stay Apartments

Address: 187 City Road, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 111 Specialty lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Melbourne Short Stay Apartments 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Make yourself at home... Unlike traditional hotels, our stylish apartments offer all the space and comfort of home. Make the most of your stay in Melbourne by choosing one of our Southbank or CBD apartments. From just $199 per night, Melbourne Short Stay Apartments offers you a range of one, two and three bedroom quality executive style apartments for both the corporate and leisure traveller in a residential tower that gives you a feeling of home. Features include a fully equipped kitchen, separate living/dining area, comfortable bedrooms, laundry and private balcony. Guests have complimentary use of recreational facilities including indoor pool and gymnasium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Melbourne Short Stay Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melbourne Short Stay Apartments Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melbourne Short Stay Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.