We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Satisfactory” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Melbourne Short Stay Apartments

Save Saved
You added Melbourne Short Stay Apartments to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Melbourne Short Stay Apartments
4.5 of 5 Condominium   |   187 City Road, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia (Southbank)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 114 Specialty lodging in Melbourne
Leeds
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Satisfactory”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We had a two bedroom apartment. There was plenty of space and the kitchen was well equipped when we arrived we didn't think the room had been hoovered-hair and dust all over the floor. We called down to reception who then tried to initially tell us the room hadn't been cleaned and wasn't ready - not the case unless the previous occupants had neatly folded all their towels and made the beds!! They did send up two girls to re-Hoover the apartment very quickly though. We then came to the conclusion they need a new vacuum!
Otherwise the apartment was nice and good location.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    80
    96
    29
    15
    6
See reviews for
85
45
2
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warragul, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

My family of 6 had a great stay at the apartments in City Rd over a four day period. The location was great - an easy walk to Crown and Southbank and to the City Circle tram. Check in/check was easy and all staff that we came into contact with were polite and well-mannered. The lifts were nice and quick - no waiting around. Car parking was secure and although costing $16.50 per day it was well worth it. The kids loved the pool and swum everyday - it was a great way to relax after hours of site seeing and walking. We were located on the 14th floor and the 3 bedroom apartment was clean and furnishings were lovely. The beds/pillows were great and the two bathrooms were an added bonus with 6 of us. Foxtel was a bonus. We had a lovely view over to the MCG, Crown etc... and the kids spent ages gazing at the bustling city and lights. The apartment had everything we needed - my only gripe would be that the rooms were quite hot and doors had to be left open for the coooling to reach all rooms but this was only a minor worry although full on summer may be a different story. It was extremely quite and relaxing at night. Thanks for having us and I will recommend your apartments to my friends!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

our family stay at the sentinel ;their was 2 adults, daughter is 15 and our twins who were 1 and half in a great size 2 bedroom apartment it was great to have that full kitchen with the younger ones it would of been nice to have a extra bathroom nice view it was great to be able to go down for a swim but it was quite cold and the only problem we had was we payed for 2 portacots 1 was broken and we only was given a sheet and 1 small blanket so they ended up sleeping with us and the other problem was our travel agent called them to check were we had to pick up the key and was told that we go straight to the hotel so when we got there we was taking to city rd to a small office and then we had to then walk around the block to the hotel normally i wouldn't worry about this but we had all our lauggage and 2 babies it was quite hard.. fantastic location close to southbank and casino

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

The Short Stay apartments are not bad at all. The location is excellent and their the best feature, with easy access to trams, a walk to the city centre and Southbank precincts.

The building facilities (pool and gym) are well kept, as are the furnishings and the balconies are great, decent sized, except that you're not allowed to put anything on them, including furniture.

However for an extended stay they lack any personality or sense of homeliness. For self-contained apartments, they also have an inconvenient lack of key items for settling in quickly, such as: no access to drying rack (although there is a dryer), no start ups in the kitchen (e.g. tupperware or cling wrap, butter, oil, the things you don't want to buy a full packet of when you're away from home).

But it is secure and so convenient. Good beds, good pillows, air con but expensive internet.

I have stayed at both the Kavanagh St building, and also the one on the corner of Clarendon and Whiteman Sts. The latter is meant to be the "deluxe" property, but the one bedroom apartments are exactly the same as the standard ones, except for having cable TV and a better view with more privacy (over the city vs into other apartment blocks). I wouldn't bother paying the extra for this 'deluxe' property if you don't mind people potentially peeping into your room when the curtains aren't drawn.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at a building that doesn't look into other apartment blocks
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Just finishing a five night stay with two adult children in a spacious and well appointed three bedroom apartment on the 32nd floor of these apartments. From the easy check in and welcome package to the end of our stay everything went smoothly. Apartment was clean modern and had a spectacular view over Melbourne. Situated across the road from crown casino at southbank it was convenient and easy to get around Melbourne. Great place to stay for a vacation. Highly recommended

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Sitting on the 26th floor with a superb view of the city, this truly was a great weekend away. The central location to almost everything was fantastic. The facilities on site with the pool, gym, TV to name a few were second to none. The lobby of the building was like something from from an exclusive resort in a tropical location. The parking was also very easy to use and no distance to travel from the apartment. I will be back and comes highly recommended

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Was in the Victoria tower in south bank -
Clean, modern and some good views - albeit looking into a series of adjacent high rises- so I had the blinds drawn for most of my stay- excellent access to the delights of south melbourne markets and the arts precinct and a food works mini market on city road for stocking the kitchen.
A three week stay was enhanced by a lap pool, gym and sauna and a concierge who was friendly.
Highly recommended amenity for the modern traveller in a fantastic metropolis.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne04, Guest Relations Manager at Melbourne Short Stay Apartments, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Thank you for your review.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at our Southbank Central property. The location really does make it easy to enjoy the Southbank arts and culture precinct, South Melbourne Market, Southgate shopping centre and the world-class restaurants and bars along Southgate promenade. We are pleased to hear you made good use of the leisure facilities on offer and thank you for your kind words about your friendly concierge.

We thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Melbourne Short Stay Apartments and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Melbourne Short Stay Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melbourne Short Stay Apartments

Address: 187 City Road, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 114 Specialty lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Melbourne Short Stay Apartments 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Make yourself at home... Unlike traditional hotels, our stylish apartments offer all the space and comfort of home. Make the most of your stay in Melbourne by choosing one of our Southbank or CBD apartments. From just $199 per night, Melbourne Short Stay Apartments offers you a range of one, two and three bedroom quality executive style apartments for both the corporate and leisure traveller in a residential tower that gives you a feeling of home. Features include a fully equipped kitchen, separate living/dining area, comfortable bedrooms, laundry and private balcony. Guests have complimentary use of recreational facilities including indoor pool and gymnasium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Melbourne Short Stay Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melbourne Short Stay Apartments Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melbourne Short Stay Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.