We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous family stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Melbourne Short Stay Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Melbourne Short Stay Apartments to your Saves list
Melbourne Short Stay Apartments
4.5 of 5 Condominium   |   187 City Road, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia (Southbank)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 112 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous family stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Just finishing a five night stay with two adult children in a spacious and well appointed three bedroom apartment on the 32nd floor of these apartments. From the easy check in and welcome package to the end of our stay everything went smoothly. Apartment was clean modern and had a spectacular view over Melbourne. Situated across the road from crown casino at southbank it was convenient and easy to get around Melbourne. Great place to stay for a vacation. Highly recommended

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    111
    32
    16
    6
See reviews for
92
53
3
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Sitting on the 26th floor with a superb view of the city, this truly was a great weekend away. The central location to almost everything was fantastic. The facilities on site with the pool, gym, TV to name a few were second to none. The lobby of the building was like something from from an exclusive resort in a tropical location. The parking was also very easy to use and no distance to travel from the apartment. I will be back and comes highly recommended

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Was in the Victoria tower in south bank -
Clean, modern and some good views - albeit looking into a series of adjacent high rises- so I had the blinds drawn for most of my stay- excellent access to the delights of south melbourne markets and the arts precinct and a food works mini market on city road for stocking the kitchen.
A three week stay was enhanced by a lap pool, gym and sauna and a concierge who was friendly.
Highly recommended amenity for the modern traveller in a fantastic metropolis.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne04, Guest Relations Manager at Melbourne Short Stay Apartments, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Thank you for your review.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at our Southbank Central property. The location really does make it easy to enjoy the Southbank arts and culture precinct, South Melbourne Market, Southgate shopping centre and the world-class restaurants and bars along Southgate promenade. We are pleased to hear you made good use of the leisure facilities on offer and thank you for your kind words about your friendly concierge.

We thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Melbourne Short Stay Apartments and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

24th floor exec apartment looking south out of city tower. Awesome location and fantastic view. Great watching everything going on around. Inside was quiet and spacious for 3 adults and a toddler. No real issues, dont like paying for carparking but thats the norm in the CBD and it seems to be one of the cheapest at $16.50 a night.
Staff were good to deal with mostly and accepted my late change requests of which there were a few which was well recieved!
Would happily stay there again as it was great bang for buck!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne04, Guest Relations Manager at Melbourne Short Stay Apartments, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thank you for your review.

Our central Southbank location provides a great base to experience everything that Melbourne has to offer, so we’re really pleased to hear you enjoyed the location and the view from your 24th floor apartment. We’re delighted that you found your apartment spacious and peaceful and we’re proud to hear that our staff were helpful in handling your requests.

Thanks once again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to Melbourne Short Stay Apartments again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I have stayed here before and again I found this place very satisfying. Great location, well presented, and it had everything I needed for a great stay. The room I had came with a balcony which just added to the room. I was so easy to get to the MEC just a few minutes. Comes highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne04, Guest Relations Manager at Melbourne Short Stay Apartments, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for your review.

We are delighted to have welcomed you back to Melbourne Short Stay Apartments, it is our absolute pleasure to have you stay with us. We strive to make you feel right at home during your stay, so we are pleased that you were once again satisfied with your Melbourne Short Stay experience and enjoyed your apartment’s balcony, furnishings and the convenient location.

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review and for your very kind words. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We booked this apartment through wotif mystery deal $225 p/night, 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom. We stayed at Victoria Tower, kavanagh road. The apartment itself had plenty of room for the four of us. The kitchen and bathrooms were a good modern standard. The beds were comfortable. The lounge and dining room furniture were basic, but functional. 6 seater dining room table. A small desk was useful for laptop etc. Kids enjoyed the large lap pool. The closest restaurant is Italian, but don't bother dining there, see my review. These apartments are a good 10 minutes walk to the free melbourne trams that take you all around the city, this didn't bother us, but for some they may wish to be even closer to the city? They are 5 minutes walk to crown casino. On the saturday night we got some street noise (we were on the 17th floor), but that could be solved by closing the windows and if necessary putting on the a/c.

Room Tip: We asked for a room on a high floor with views of MCG, this was good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne04, Guest Relations Manager at Melbourne Short Stay Apartments, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for your review.

We are pleased to hear you found your apartment provided space and functionality for you and your fellow travellers. Also, that you considered the kitchen and bathrooms to be of a modern standard and that you found our beds to be comfortable. Our Southbank Central location is ideal for those who want to be close to the world-class restaurants, bars, theatres and venues that Southbank and the Crown Entertainment Complex have to offer, while being only a short walk to the Central Business District.

Again, thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback and we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata, India
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

I had to wait in the reception for over 30 mins while checking in as they could not locate my booking. Since I wanted to drop my bags off before heading for a meeting, this was a big inconvenience as I was late for a meeting. Finally they managed to locate it and I was given my keys. The apartment was on the 34th floor and had lovely views through the glass walls. Internet was chargeable so I did not try. The biggest weirdity was the keys did not self lock and it was recommened to leave them in the lock whilst inside for some reason. I felt very very unsafe as I did not understand whether this locked the door from inside or not. Very inconvinient and I would definitely moved out had my stay been for longer.
The pros were it was very close to my office, good views from the glass walls, quite clean and spacious. There is a 7/11 type store next door as well. Overall, unplesant experience whilst checking in and the lack of locking keys cannot make me recommend this place at all.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Melbourne Short Stay Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melbourne Short Stay Apartments

Address: 187 City Road, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 112 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Melbourne Short Stay Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Make yourself at home... Unlike traditional hotels, our stylish apartments offer all the space and comfort of home. Make the most of your stay in Melbourne by choosing one of our Southbank or CBD apartments. From just $199 per night, Melbourne Short Stay Apartments offers you a range of one, two and three bedroom quality executive style apartments for both the corporate and leisure traveller in a residential tower that gives you a feeling of home. Features include a fully equipped kitchen, separate living/dining area, comfortable bedrooms, laundry and private balcony. Guests have complimentary use of recreational facilities including indoor pool and gymnasium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Melbourne Short Stay Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melbourne Short Stay Apartments Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melbourne Short Stay Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.