We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay when visiting Melbourne” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Melbourne Short Stay Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Melbourne Short Stay Apartments to your Saves list
Melbourne Short Stay Apartments
4.5 of 5 Condominium   |   187 City Road, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia (Southbank)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 111 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Wollongong, Australia
1 review
“Great place to stay when visiting Melbourne”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

The Melbourne Short Stay apartments were great to stay at when visiting Melbourne. They're only a short walk for the Yarra River and the main shopping area of the city and there's also easy access to trams nearby. The apartment was outstanding. Very clean, modern, comfortable beds and a great view - especially from the 31st floor where our room was. The apartment was also great value for money. The staff were very professional and had great customer service skills and were helpful when giving information regarding places to shop and also with organising hotel transfers.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    108
    31
    16
    6
See reviews for
92
51
2
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

Spent two nights in the city road apartments great location very modern well furnished apartment. Very clean would definitely stay there in the future well worth it. Staff friendly and helpful . Place was originally recommended to us

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed on southbank this time and it was easy to get into the CBD. Our apt was badly overlooked by nearby blocks, which we didn't like but not all are. Views were not as good as in Bourke street and they are building another tower block nearby which, from our apt, will cut off the views towards the river. I think you need to be choosy about which apartment. Ours was a two bedroom apt and as usual the set up was superb. Floor to ceiling windows in the bedrooms were magnificent.
One thing the southbank apt had over Bourke street was that there were no disco noises till 4am on the sat, so that for us was a definite plus!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

On arrival at this property we found the office closed and locked and had to call a security company to gain access to our apartment which was located in another building around the corner.

We stayed in a comfortable one bedroomed apartment in the Sentinel Building, well maintained and well equipped with a spacious living area, full kitchen, dining area and laundry within the spacious bathroom.

The apartment had a small balcony with limited views, but wasn't really useable as no patio furniture was provided and was quite dusty.

The bedroom had very comfortable bed, good quality bed linen and plenty wardrobe and storage space. The only downside was no in room TV, albeit one in the living area.

We were awoken on Christmas Day at 4.25 am by the fire alarm - thankfully a false alarm - but quite a hike down the 22 flights of stairs to the street level :-)

Well located, comfortable and would consider staying here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Very comfortable stay with the most fabulous view. Pool excellent for those who like to do laps. Great location so close to events centre, south bank promenade and trams etc. handy having the IGA underneath.

Room Tip: Try and get as high as possible with a view towards the city.
See more room tips
Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We are a family of 4 (2 adults, 2 teenage boys), & stayed in a 2BR apartment on the 15th floor, for 5 nights in Dec 2012.

Firstly, the negative: .. via Trip Advisor, I found a great rate on Webjet, @$260p.n. I phoned MSSA direct, but was told quite abruptly that they could not match that price. I then (very politely) mentioned this seemed at odds with their Best Rate Guarantee: only then did they (reluctantly) agree to match that price. When i provided this feedback after my stay, to my surprise, Marcus, from their management team responded immediately with a full explanation, an apology & an offer of credit. My subsequent communications with Marcus indicated their focus & commitment to their customers: a great example of turning a somewhat negative first-impression into a really positive outcome. Highly commended!

As to the rooms: ....

We were in the Sentinel building in Kavanagh St. This had a fantastic tennis court (as well as a pool) which kept our boys busy 3 or 4 times each day. The apartments themselves were spotlessly clean, 2 very large bedrooms, 2 bathrooms.... The lounge/living area was very big, but was somewhat cut in half by the furniture arrangement. Regardless, heaps of room. Great view, no issues with sound unless you opened the windows - then, the usual city noises, but certainly this was not intrusive.

One weird thing: you need to have both the "light" switches on in the main bathroom, in order for the washer and/or dryer to work!!! We discovered this by trial and error: there should be signage to indicate this (again, management have committed to follow up on this)

We also had secure undercover parking for $16.50 p.n., which i thought was great by comparison to many other city apartments. I agree with earlier comments re Internet being charged for (no hotel should do this these days), altho if you book via Trip Advisor you may get this thrown in.

Overall, these apartments represent fantastic value for their size, location, and amenities. especially given the fantastic follow-up by their management team, i would not hesitate to stay here again next time i am in Melbourne. Definitely to be recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We've got a 2 bedroom apartment and we love how well furnished and well maintained the place is. Charming apartment conveniently located just across the busy Southcross station.Really close to CBD, within walking distance. Security in the building is pretty tight too as non residence will find it hard to get into the lobby. Even getting into the lift requires scanning your card for verifications.

The bathroom is huge and equipped with a washer and dryer to wash your laundry.
The view was alright as there were some constructions going on, so nothing much to look at except some city lights.

The staff were friendly and helpful and it was a delightfully pleasant stay at this property.
Take Tram number 96 or 86 and you will be connected to many of the tourist landmarks in Melbourne.

Will recommend it to anyone as the price is decent for a gem like this. I will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: book the properties nearer to city center. The city point property requires to take a tram (3 statio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Melbourne Short Stay Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melbourne Short Stay Apartments

Address: 187 City Road, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 111 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Melbourne Short Stay Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Make yourself at home... Unlike traditional hotels, our stylish apartments offer all the space and comfort of home. Make the most of your stay in Melbourne by choosing one of our Southbank or CBD apartments. From just $199 per night, Melbourne Short Stay Apartments offers you a range of one, two and three bedroom quality executive style apartments for both the corporate and leisure traveller in a residential tower that gives you a feeling of home. Features include a fully equipped kitchen, separate living/dining area, comfortable bedrooms, laundry and private balcony. Guests have complimentary use of recreational facilities including indoor pool and gymnasium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your Melbourne Short Stay Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melbourne Short Stay Apartments Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melbourne Short Stay Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.