We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 thumbs up!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Melbourne Short Stay Apartments

Save Saved
You added Melbourne Short Stay Apartments to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Melbourne Short Stay Apartments
4.5 of 5 Condominium   |   187 City Road, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia (Southbank)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 110 Specialty lodging in Melbourne
Malang, East Java
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“4 thumbs up!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Great location in Southbank, just a short walk to the CBD or an even shorter tram ride using the 55 tram line or the 112. Very highly recommended apartment with balconies, great views, up to date furnishings with a tidy yet functional kitchenette, laundry and dryer. Really enjoyed the proximity to the CBD as well as the proximity to convenience stores and restaurants nearby. Try Golden House for the good Chinese fare or Olla Messa for Italian, just a hop and a skip away. Friendly and hassle free check in with no complaints during our stay. Has a free swimming pool and a gym, but paid wifi. Will definitely stay again when in Melbourne. Great place.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    75
    84
    28
    13
    6
See reviews for
80
42
2
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

We stayed 6 nights and we we're very impressed with the 1 bedroom apartment we were given. Comfortable bed and lounge. Large bathroom. Well planned kitchen with good equipment level. We were only on level 9 so the view wasn't that spectacular. Our unit was designed for someone in a wheelchair which made life interesting in the bathroom as you can't get your head over the sink to clean your teeth or wash your face. Laundry facilities good and the security in the building is average/good We would be looking to stay here again. Good value helped by the Entertainment Book.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We booked this accommodation for a 4 night stay.
The standard of the room was extremely unsatisfactory for the price.
Walls in the unit needed to be painted and pictures crooked and badly placed giving the space an uncomfortable and weird vibe. Windows filthy spoiling what would have been a lovely view.
Furnishings sparse and uncomfortable.
All in all not worth the money paid.

Room Tip: I would not choose this accommodation
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne04, Manager at Melbourne Short Stay Apartments, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear sammyBoston
Here at Melbourne Short Stay apartments our objective is to meet and exceed our guest’s expectations, as we pride ourselves on offering a quality product at very reasonable prices. We apologize that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion.
We will certainly followup with our team as to why our quailty controls have not been adhered too on this occasion.
Kind regards
Marcus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We were delighted to be upgraded to a three bedroom apartment. The apartments are sparkling clean, spacious, and have everything we needed. Absolutely delighted, and we'll stay again. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend these at all.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

I Stayed at the short stay for 4 nights for a business trip. It was close to the DFO and the MCEC (which is where i was working). I loved the short stay apartments. Firstly the security is quite resonable, you can't go to any other floor unless you have a room on that floor. So your key card won't take you to a floor that isn't yours.

The room is beautiful, very lovely lounge, bedroom, bathroom. The view was also quite nice as i was on the 21st floor. The couch was comfy and had foxtel which was good.

The only issue i had was the blinds, the rope for it was all tangled and took me a while to close them, but i didn't feel like i had complete privacy as the blinds were a bit flimsy and in the mornings it was SO bright because they didn't complete make the room dark.

Will definitely go back there again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We arrived on the 21st floor of the Southbank Central apartment and immediately loved the views! Our apartment was high enough to avoid the usual noise of a busy city but low enough to provide loads of pleasurable viewing at the beginning of the day, end of the day and of the lights across the city of Melbourne after the children were bedded down for the night. We had booked a two bedroom apartment with one bathroom and were more than pleased to discover that we had been upgraded to a two bathroom apartment at no extra cost. This came in handy after a cool swim in the indoor pool and in need of a hot shower for all! The accommodation was clean, modern, quiet and provided us the space we needed whilst staying in Melbourne. Whilst the concierge seemed less than friendly and helpful, the lovely ladies within the office greeted us with smiles and were happy to oblige us. A couple of smaller things that could be improved upon would be a privacy lock on the master bedroom, outdoor setting on the balcony and possibly a public spa for the guests near the pool. I would definitely recommend these apartments to others; although, if you are like us and have been spoilt by a major supermarket, bakery etc at the base of the building ie Chevron Towers, Gold Coast, you might find the location a little away from things; however, the beautiful Southbank is an easy walk from the accommodation.

Room Tip: The view from the 21st floor were fantastic overlooking the Skydeck 88 Building and many other local...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I stayed here for a week while attending a work conference. I stayed in a two bed room apartment. The complex had an indoor pool, gym, and quick lifts.

The apartment itself had everything you need, from a kitchen, all kitchenware I needed. Kitchen table, sound system, tv, lunge room, and laundry in the main bathroom. The main bedroom even had an ensure which was handy.

I would definitely stay here again, although the only down side is that while it was close to crown cAsino, only a 10 minute walk, there was not a lot of food, restaurant or cafes close by. The apartment block was located on city road, and had 3 convenice stores on the same block.....so great for when you are stocking the fridge, but if you want a morning coffee, or to have a relaxing dinner, you have to take. Walk. One of the main reasons I love Melbourne is the abundance of cafes, which I did not get as I had to walk for 20 minutes to get tat experience.

Other than that, this was reasonably priced for the location, close to the exhibition centre and crown, however I really did miss the Melbourne food and coffee vibe.

I would still recommend these apartments and would consider staying again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Melbourne Short Stay Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melbourne Short Stay Apartments

Address: 187 City Road, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 110 Specialty lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Melbourne Short Stay Apartments 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Make yourself at home... Unlike traditional hotels, our stylish apartments offer all the space and comfort of home. Make the most of your stay in Melbourne by choosing one of our Southbank or CBD apartments. From just $199 per night, Melbourne Short Stay Apartments offers you a range of one, two and three bedroom quality executive style apartments for both the corporate and leisure traveller in a residential tower that gives you a feeling of home. Features include a fully equipped kitchen, separate living/dining area, comfortable bedrooms, laundry and private balcony. Guests have complimentary use of recreational facilities including indoor pool and gymnasium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Melbourne Short Stay Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melbourne Short Stay Apartments Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melbourne Short Stay Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.