We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, Comfy Apartment” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Melbourne Short Stay Apartments

Save Saved
You added Melbourne Short Stay Apartments to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Melbourne Short Stay Apartments
4.5 of 5 Condominium   |   187 City Road, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia (Southbank)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE WIFI & Best Rates!
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great, Comfy Apartment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

I Stayed at the short stay for 4 nights for a business trip. It was close to the DFO and the MCEC (which is where i was working). I loved the short stay apartments. Firstly the security is quite resonable, you can't go to any other floor unless you have a room on that floor. So your key card won't take you to a floor that isn't yours.

The room is beautiful, very lovely lounge, bedroom, bathroom. The view was also quite nice as i was on the 21st floor. The couch was comfy and had foxtel which was good.

The only issue i had was the blinds, the rope for it was all tangled and took me a while to close them, but i didn't feel like i had complete privacy as the blinds were a bit flimsy and in the mornings it was SO bright because they didn't complete make the room dark.

Will definitely go back there again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    64
    78
    25
    12
    6
See reviews for
73
37
1
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We arrived on the 21st floor of the Southbank Central apartment and immediately loved the views! Our apartment was high enough to avoid the usual noise of a busy city but low enough to provide loads of pleasurable viewing at the beginning of the day, end of the day and of the lights across the city of Melbourne after the children were bedded down for the night. We had booked a two bedroom apartment with one bathroom and were more than pleased to discover that we had been upgraded to a two bathroom apartment at no extra cost. This came in handy after a cool swim in the indoor pool and in need of a hot shower for all! The accommodation was clean, modern, quiet and provided us the space we needed whilst staying in Melbourne. Whilst the concierge seemed less than friendly and helpful, the lovely ladies within the office greeted us with smiles and were happy to oblige us. A couple of smaller things that could be improved upon would be a privacy lock on the master bedroom, outdoor setting on the balcony and possibly a public spa for the guests near the pool. I would definitely recommend these apartments to others; although, if you are like us and have been spoilt by a major supermarket, bakery etc at the base of the building ie Chevron Towers, Gold Coast, you might find the location a little away from things; however, the beautiful Southbank is an easy walk from the accommodation.

Room Tip: The view from the 21st floor were fantastic overlooking the Skydeck 88 Building and many other local...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I stayed here for a week while attending a work conference. I stayed in a two bed room apartment. The complex had an indoor pool, gym, and quick lifts.

The apartment itself had everything you need, from a kitchen, all kitchenware I needed. Kitchen table, sound system, tv, lunge room, and laundry in the main bathroom. The main bedroom even had an ensure which was handy.

I would definitely stay here again, although the only down side is that while it was close to crown cAsino, only a 10 minute walk, there was not a lot of food, restaurant or cafes close by. The apartment block was located on city road, and had 3 convenice stores on the same block.....so great for when you are stocking the fridge, but if you want a morning coffee, or to have a relaxing dinner, you have to take. Walk. One of the main reasons I love Melbourne is the abundance of cafes, which I did not get as I had to walk for 20 minutes to get tat experience.

Other than that, this was reasonably priced for the location, close to the exhibition centre and crown, however I really did miss the Melbourne food and coffee vibe.

I would still recommend these apartments and would consider staying again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the Sentinal building in Kavanagh St, Southbank with our daughter and son-in-law. The apartment was on level 22 with a great view over Melbourne. Facilities were as expected and all operated well. The apartment block is well positioned and close to the Casino and within walking distance of Southbank restaurants. A great selection is available. The security in the apartment block is very good.
I will use this option again when visiting Melbourne and needing to be close to the city area.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Probably the best priced 2 bedroon appartment we have stayed in, ever. At $265 per night for the 4 of us in a very good location (just 5min walk to the Crown Casino and quality restaurants) in Melbourne, what more could you want. There is a grocery store just over the road too. The room itself had 2 bathrooms, laundry, a wee balcony(if your a smoker), a gas hob and oven, decent size fridge/freezer, microwave, 32" LCD TV, DVD, and a decent stereo. A good size lounge as well. The complex had a lap pool, gym and tennis court, also on-site manager available 6am - 10pm. Taxi from the airport was $55aus which we thought was reasonable. The train station (Flinders) is about a 15min walk.

Room Tip: We were on the 18th floor so noise wasn't an issue and views were very good. The only issue was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We stayed in a three bedroom apartment in Southbank. It was amazing and would highly recommend to anyone wanting to stay in Melbourne. Apartment was clean, and had everything we could need. The view was amazing. Check in was quick and no fuss. We booked through a secret deals on the web.

Room Tip: Had a balcony overlooking Southbank, fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgecumbe, null, New Zealand
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Very close to everything ... was in a three bedroom apartment with six people and it was very spacious and none of us got in each others "hair" ... we were up high so the night skyline was fabulous ... if you are scared of heights be warned they have ceiling to floor windows in the bedrooms and dont go out onto the balcony ... but Im sure you will request a "lower floor" apartment anyway. The little supermarket across the road is very expensive but good for essential items. Wait and get your basics from the markets ... The shuttle from the airport takes you right to the door and will pick you up on your return - just ring up the day before and book. Pay by cash. They picked us up at 5am in the morning so its a great service.

Room Tip: Corner apartments on roadside have great views of the city ... and less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Melbourne Short Stay Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melbourne Short Stay Apartments

Also Known As:
Melbourne Short Stay Apartments Hotel
Melbourne Short Stay Apartments Hotel Melbourne
Address: 187 City Road, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 101 Specialty lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Melbourne Short Stay Apartments 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Make yourself at home... Unlike traditional hotels, our stylish apartments offer all the space and comfort of home. Make the most of your stay in Melbourne by choosing one of our Southbank or CBD apartments. From just $199 per night, Melbourne Short Stay Apartments offers you a range of one, two and three bedroom quality executive style apartments for both the corporate and leisure traveller in a residential tower that gives you a feeling of home. Features include a fully equipped kitchen, separate living/dining area, comfortable bedrooms, laundry and private balcony. Guests have complimentary use of recreational facilities including indoor pool and gymnasium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Melbourne Short Stay Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melbourne Short Stay Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.