We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent self contained apartments with all the amenities” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Melbourne Short Stay Apartments

Save Saved
You added Melbourne Short Stay Apartments to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Melbourne Short Stay Apartments
4.5 of 5 Condominium   |   187 City Road, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia (Southbank)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 109 Specialty lodging in Melbourne
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Excellent self contained apartments with all the amenities”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I stayed here for a week while attending a work conference. I stayed in a two bed room apartment. The complex had an indoor pool, gym, and quick lifts.

The apartment itself had everything you need, from a kitchen, all kitchenware I needed. Kitchen table, sound system, tv, lunge room, and laundry in the main bathroom. The main bedroom even had an ensure which was handy.

I would definitely stay here again, although the only down side is that while it was close to crown cAsino, only a 10 minute walk, there was not a lot of food, restaurant or cafes close by. The apartment block was located on city road, and had 3 convenice stores on the same block.....so great for when you are stocking the fridge, but if you want a morning coffee, or to have a relaxing dinner, you have to take. Walk. One of the main reasons I love Melbourne is the abundance of cafes, which I did not get as I had to walk for 20 minutes to get tat experience.

Other than that, this was reasonably priced for the location, close to the exhibition centre and crown, however I really did miss the Melbourne food and coffee vibe.

I would still recommend these apartments and would consider staying again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    75
    83
    28
    13
    6
See reviews for
80
42
2
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the Sentinal building in Kavanagh St, Southbank with our daughter and son-in-law. The apartment was on level 22 with a great view over Melbourne. Facilities were as expected and all operated well. The apartment block is well positioned and close to the Casino and within walking distance of Southbank restaurants. A great selection is available. The security in the apartment block is very good.
I will use this option again when visiting Melbourne and needing to be close to the city area.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Probably the best priced 2 bedroon appartment we have stayed in, ever. At $265 per night for the 4 of us in a very good location (just 5min walk to the Crown Casino and quality restaurants) in Melbourne, what more could you want. There is a grocery store just over the road too. The room itself had 2 bathrooms, laundry, a wee balcony(if your a smoker), a gas hob and oven, decent size fridge/freezer, microwave, 32" LCD TV, DVD, and a decent stereo. A good size lounge as well. The complex had a lap pool, gym and tennis court, also on-site manager available 6am - 10pm. Taxi from the airport was $55aus which we thought was reasonable. The train station (Flinders) is about a 15min walk.

Room Tip: We were on the 18th floor so noise wasn't an issue and views were very good. The only issue was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We stayed in a three bedroom apartment in Southbank. It was amazing and would highly recommend to anyone wanting to stay in Melbourne. Apartment was clean, and had everything we could need. The view was amazing. Check in was quick and no fuss. We booked through a secret deals on the web.

Room Tip: Had a balcony overlooking Southbank, fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgecumbe, null, New Zealand
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Very close to everything ... was in a three bedroom apartment with six people and it was very spacious and none of us got in each others "hair" ... we were up high so the night skyline was fabulous ... if you are scared of heights be warned they have ceiling to floor windows in the bedrooms and dont go out onto the balcony ... but Im sure you will request a "lower floor" apartment anyway. The little supermarket across the road is very expensive but good for essential items. Wait and get your basics from the markets ... The shuttle from the airport takes you right to the door and will pick you up on your return - just ring up the day before and book. Pay by cash. They picked us up at 5am in the morning so its a great service.

Room Tip: Corner apartments on roadside have great views of the city ... and less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland.
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

We liked the apartments, but there is very little room in there to move. They have tried to incorporate everything so there is so much furniture you can hardly get around. They are really modern and very convenient and clean and well presented. Nice full length windows with lovely views across Melbourne. Accross the road from the Crown Casino, short walk to SouthBank and tram right at the door. A very handy convenience store in the building below which also includes bottle shop. Good value for money and very good service.

Room Tip: The higher the better the view of course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast Queensland Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

My husband,daughter and son in law and bub have just spent 3 days in Melbourne for a birthday celebration. We booked 2 studios together,and booked through a secret stay. We were very impressed at the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff, as we arrived before check-in time.We were able to leave our bags,and they called us after putting a priority room clean through ,so we could attend to the baby before we headed out for a long lunch. The rooms were spotless,and included convection microwave, washer/dryer combo,hotplates,and plenty of crockery and utensils,including mugs ! yay ....how I hate those awful cups found in most hotels.
Although not large there is room for a small lounge, and a good size TV which is wall mounted,and desk with internet etc;
A bonus was that we could lock a door outside our 2 rooms,and so leave the stroller in the hallway,and our door open for "toddler entry" to nan and pop.
The hotel is only a 2 minute walk to Victoria markets,the free city loop tram, and Melbourne Central.There is an IGA close by for convenience,and a small cafe underneath,although we had breakfast there one morning and were very dissapointed. Great stay and thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: We stayed in studio rooms 401 and 402. Bright and plenty of light. Double glazing cuts out most of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Melbourne Short Stay Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melbourne Short Stay Apartments

Address: 187 City Road, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 109 Specialty lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Melbourne Short Stay Apartments 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Make yourself at home... Unlike traditional hotels, our stylish apartments offer all the space and comfort of home. Make the most of your stay in Melbourne by choosing one of our Southbank or CBD apartments. From just $199 per night, Melbourne Short Stay Apartments offers you a range of one, two and three bedroom quality executive style apartments for both the corporate and leisure traveller in a residential tower that gives you a feeling of home. Features include a fully equipped kitchen, separate living/dining area, comfortable bedrooms, laundry and private balcony. Guests have complimentary use of recreational facilities including indoor pool and gymnasium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Melbourne Short Stay Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melbourne Short Stay Apartments Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melbourne Short Stay Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.