We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location and space, a little tired decor” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Melbourne Short Stay Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Melbourne Short Stay Apartments to your Saves list
Melbourne Short Stay Apartments
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   187 City Road, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia (Southbank)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free WiFi
Ranked #24 of 104 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
New Zealand
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Nice location and space, a little tired decor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2007

The apartments marketed by Short Stay Apartments are said to be luxury. While the location and building is impressive I couldn't help feeling let down by the standard of the furnishings:
The TV was an old 21 inch box, the couches were poorly constructed leaving hard wooden areas on the arms where there should be padding, the tables, chairs and blinds were very office-like, the bed was uncomfortable and reminded me of lying on the springs of a trampoline (and the blanket was like a big flat sponge), and the bathroom products provided were of a low quality. The apartment was also in need of a paint.
Having said all that, it was very spacious, it had Internet provided (even though it didn't work one of the mornings and they couldn't fix it for hours), and it has a good indoor swimming pool. I would have to think though that the new Travelodge nearby is better value.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    132
    39
    18
    10
See reviews for
111
65
4
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2007

We stayed in the Southbank complex and although the apartments are a 10-15 minute walk from Federation Square, they're only 5 minutes from Southbank a buzzy area of restaurants and shops along the bank of the river, so although the street the apartment blocks are in is hardly lovely, it is pretty convenient if you're happy not to be right in the centre of things. And the views from our apartment (on the 30th floor) were sensational. The apartment itself was sparce but spacious (we were given a free upgrade from a 2 bed 1 bath, to a 2 bed 2 bath) and had everything we needed. The kitchen was well equipped, the bathrooms were clean (although the ensuite one was rather er, compact) and with good showers, the washing maching and tumble drier were easy to operate (and much used!), there was plenty hanging space (though no drawers and a limited number of hangers), a good (if not overly large) TV and music system, and the beds and sofas were comfortable. If we had any criticism it was that the bedding was a bit shabby, a couple of the sheets had small holes in them and both the blankets and the bedcovers were slightly torn. The staff were helpful and friendly whenever we spoke to them, and the DVD rental service from the conceirge was a welcome way to spend an evening in after a long day of sightseeing. The gym is small and the equipment limited and rather aged, and there's a tennis court and a good, clean pool - all on the 6th floor and free to residents for the period of their stay.

  • Liked — The space and the views
  • Disliked — The shabby bed linen
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
65 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2007

Clean, comfortable, convenient. Great place to stay when travelling with young children or teenagers or need a lot of space. We had a three bedroom apartment (we have five children) and we were VERY comfortable. it was about a 10 minute walk from Melbourne's Federation Square but very close to the South Bank action (restaurants/night scene) and Aquarium. Would stay there again.

  • Liked — the space
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2007

What a great place to stay. Our late check-in was so efficient, with the wonderful lady on reception telling us that there was a bottle of bubbly in the fridge and the latest magazines on the coffee table. We arrived after an 11 hour train trip with our 6 children. What a treat to find that we had 4 bedrooms (each with its own bathroom), and the, ALL IMPORTANT LAUNDRY. We had travelled for 4 months last year and had realised just how important an honest check in was, and just how incredibly important your own laundry is!! I wouldn't hesitate recommending this wonderfully, user-friendly, establishment.

Stayed April 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2007

I have just spent three nights at this establishment. The apartment was large, well furnished and the kitchen adequately stocked with cooking essentials. Two good sized washrooms, one w laundry facilities, one ensuite. Three bedrooms and a large living/dining area. It made for a very adequate place to stay with extended family and allowed us to do cooking if we desired. The only item that needed attention was the carpet which could have used shampooing...otherwise it was very clean. The location was also quite central to Melbourne CBD.

  • Liked — Size, location, cleanliness, value.
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2006

We stayed at the Melbourne Short Stay apartments in August 2006.
We arrived in Melbourne very early in the morning and got to the apartments well before we were officially allowed to book in, but the staff were absolutely brilliant and let us in much earlier without charging us extra.
We were given a welcome pack and the staff were also helpful in teling us were the nearest stores etc were.
The apartments were incredibly spacious, immaculately clean and well furnished.

They have a large car park, and great indoor swimming pool.
Location wise was absolutely excellent for us, literally 2 mins from the river and the exibition center. Close enough to transport (Flinders Station - 10 minute or so walk), restaurants, and places like the Melbourne Aquarium.

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2005

The location I thought was a little far from the city centre with no access to trams or buses near by. Seemed a bit removed with not a great number of people around that area, seemed like a run down suburb with nothing on offer. It was fairly close to southbank on the river, which was great, atmosphere was great there, and we could see the flames from our apartment.

We were given an apartment that faced the apartments in the next building, so we didn't use the balcony. The inside of the apartment was excellent, clean, no complaints there. Had unlimited internet access for $40. The windows go right to the floor in the bedrooms (although not great when looking at your neighbours).

The pool was aparently supposed to be heated, but it was like ice!!

The place were we checked in down the road was like a run down real estate office, not a good first impression. Cost of the apartment was very reasonable though.

Next time we will stay in the buzz of the city where all the action is.

  • Stayed December 2004
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Melbourne Short Stay Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melbourne Short Stay Apartments

Address: 187 City Road, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 104 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Melbourne Short Stay Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Make yourself at home... Unlike traditional hotels, our stylish apartments offer all the space and comfort of home. Make the most of your stay in Melbourne by choosing one of our Southbank or CBD apartments. From just $199 per night, Melbourne Short Stay Apartments offers you a range of one, two and three bedroom quality executive style apartments for both the corporate and leisure traveller in a residential tower that gives you a feeling of home. Features include a fully equipped kitchen, separate living/dining area, comfortable bedrooms, laundry and private balcony. Guests have complimentary use of recreational facilities including indoor pool and gymnasium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA and Agoda so you can book your Melbourne Short Stay Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melbourne Short Stay Apartments Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melbourne Short Stay Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.