We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Low Cost Hostel on Melbourne” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Spencer Backpackers

The Spencer Backpackers
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Spencer Backpackers to your Saves list
The Spencer Backpackers
475 Spencer Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3003, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #81 of 112 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Lyon, France
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Low Cost Hostel on Melbourne”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed 4 nights on this place and it wasnt horrible but it wasnt awesome too. We stayed on the room 31, next to the kitchen. Unfortunatly, the kitchen is really noisy because of the speakers and the music. If you want to sleep before 11pm, don't come in this room. If you're sensitive to cold, don't come in this room too. The window, a huge window, cant be close and there is no heater. To finish for the room, the bathroom is located in your room, but the shower is really bad, you can be burn during 1sec and be frost the second after! Good point for this hostel : The LOCATION! Close to the Victoria Market (10min by foot), close to the Southern Cross Station (10min by foot) and close to the CDB (10min by foot too), you will be able to enjoy Melbourne witout gotta pay a Bus Pass. This hostel is clean, except 2 or 3 roach, because of dirty guest, this place is clean! Good points for this hostel too, free coffee, tea and milk (for coffee), really friendly staff and free WIFI with a really good and working network!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    5
    6
    8
    3
See reviews for
Families
0
8
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the private room for about a week and a half and had to change rooms, due to lical residents partying on the balcony in front of our room till late hours.
kitchen is dominated by locals too ( french mostly. so if youre from France youd fit in) . Otherwise they make you feel very unwelcome.

the hostel should really put fans in their rooms. it was so hot one night and the only option was to open our window for breeze and be faced with drunk backpackers peeking in. not fun.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Stayed in it for one night - was a hot summer so we suffered as there was no air con or fan. Cheapest in the city so I know we can't complain much just that it was soo hot. So we opened up the window and woke up super early in the morning to noisy traffic. Ok for one or two nights but def no more!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Was there for a few days before Easter and the room was average. But i just wanted it for a bed and to get around Melbourne. That is what it is all about; the sights of Melbourne. Only one power outlet in my room so i couldnt have the camera charged or the laptop running so that was an issue.

Quiet location, in fact that part of West Melbourne is incredibly dead, no pub downstairs or anything just a gutted shell. Overcharged for my stay as i change dthe booking but they were unreasonable with my request as i was stuck in Canberra and i requested this to be corrected.

Balcony was not sealed correctly and smokers would be out there and the room would be filled with the foul odour of cigarettes.

Bathroom facilities and toilet facilities were woeful.

But if you need this place to dump your bags and hit the town and just sleep and get back out there, then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

This hostel is a stone throw away from the circle tram that runs through the city (for free!!) with nice, cowsy, lovely little rooms with a closet and balcony. There is a rooftop balcony with BBQ to use, adjacent to the communal kitchen which was dirty, but mostly because there were a lot of drunk idiots making a mess at night time.
The shared bathroom was being repainted when me and my girlfriend were there, so it's good to see that they were working on making the hostel look nice and clean.
The downside of this hostel was that there is no staff at night time, so when people go party upstairs they'll keep you up if you want to sleep. The next day they sorted it out though, other than that no complaints whatsoever. It's good value here, so be sure to book in advance in summertime, because it can be fully booked. Its close to the Victoria Market, which during summer has a nightmarket on Wednesdays with loads and loads of food, bars and bands playing. Be sure to check it out!
Furthermore, the staff was very helpful and altogether I'd recommend this hostel to anyone who wants to explore Melbourne!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

This hostel is one of the worse ones Ive stayed in. My sister and I had a twin room and it looked like something out of a youth offenders institution! The room was dusty and the whole hostel smelt like cheesy feet and it made my asthma worse! The kitchen was small and dirty and the bathrooms were horrible. The hostel was very noisy with 18 yr olds drinking in the corridors until 2am. The location wasnt great either and although it had tram lines a few minutes away it was a long walk to the centre or harbour. Pay more and go somewhere else!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

If you like to party then you might like it here as everyone drinks in the corridors and are noisy until about 2am. The kitchen was unclean and crowded and there weren't enough bathrooms or showers on each floor for the amount of guests staying. The location was rubbish as its about a 30 minute walk to Federation Square, there are tram and bus stops near by which is fine in the day time but less regular in the evenings. More importantly the place stunk of cheesy feet, we could smell it from down the road! And it made my sisters asthma bad.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Spencer Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Spencer Backpackers

Address: 475 Spencer Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3003, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 112 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Spencer Backpackers is a small, friendly hostel that caters to all budget travellers. We have a fully eqipped, self catering kitchen for those on a budget and a great bar with fantastic food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your The Spencer Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spencer Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Spencer Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.