We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not book at this hotel - beware!! Hotel closed and no refunds” 1 of 5 stars
Review of St. Arnaud

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added St. Arnaud to your Saves list
St. Arnaud
99 Park St. | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 30 Melbourne B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Do not book at this hotel - beware!! Hotel closed and no refunds”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2014

This hotel emailed weeks ago to say they are closed, and our booking has been cancelled. They have a phone number which is no longer connected, they have taken our money and no refund. Do not make a booking at this hotel

Room Tip: Do not make a booking at this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    6
    20
    9
    15
See reviews for
3
16
20
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

i really hate when some hotel put in the web site different pictures about the accomodation.the real is OLD dirty and the "receptionist" is rude!
I cant understand why this place can be open.for the same money you can stay better!

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

After staying in a typical cbd hostel for a few nights, we spent two nights at St Arnaud. Lovely friendly vibe with a homey spacious double room, communal kitchen, TV room, board games and gardens :) lovely after the cold institutional feel of our other hostel. Beds could be comfier and more bathrooms would be great but if you want to complain about that, go somewhere that isn't so wonderfully cheap!

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudiksvall, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2014

I stayed at this place for almost three weeks in the 4 bed female dorm where I was the only guest in the room for most of the time. The place has the basic facilities you need. The standard is not good but it's ok for the price. It get's very cold in the winter. Some of the staff are friendly.

Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2014

Stayed at St Arnauds in October 2012 for a full week. The facilities are basic but what you would expect on a budget. I stayed in a single room which was on the top floor. Staff assisted me with my (very heavy) case and were friendly. The fridge in the room was as much as I needed to store a small amount of food and the communal atmosphere in the kitchen was nice.
The place could do with a little updating and I can imagine that in years gone by it was a place to stay for people coming up from the country.
I returned for an extra night on either side of a trip to Tasmania and stayed in the female only 4 bed dorm. Again at the front of the building so the trams were a bit of a distraction for a girl from semi rural Western Australia but it did the job.
Am staying for two nights again this year.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

This place is shabby, dark and the No. 8 tram rattling down the road in front of it will keep you awake at night.

However, it's cheap and the common rooms (kitchen, dining room and lounge) make it a great place for meeting people. It's also very handy for anyone going to the MCG, involving a 25 minute walk across the botanical gardens and the footbridge over the river.

I arrived at about 8 am straight off a flight from the UK, and they were happy to store my luggage for a few hours and make my room available by about 10 am.

Room Tip: Rooms upstairs and away from the front of the building are recommended.(See comment about the tram)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Back in December 2013, I sat with a map and a plan, the plan of all all plans. A big trip around Australia with my 9 year old daughter, I booked the flights and all that was left was accommodation.

Obviously wanting to say a pound or two I looked for budget, now I have travelled the world and as I have got older my idea of budget has got higher, but nevertheless I searched and searched!

And I came across this place, photos never do anything justice and I assumed homely and old fashioned, I emailed them enquiring about children, and was told a twin room would be required.

So I booked and the evening of the 25th July 2014 after a 13 hr flight from Dubai where may I add I paid the same for my accommodation there and it was beautiful! Recommend highly! Anyway we arrived at about 8 pm it was dark and I couldn't see that well, opened the safe and found my envelope, went in to the hallway and was hit but the smell of cat urine, and the cold. It was freezing!

The room looked like a prison cell, bunk beds, mould, broken blind, not double glazzed windows so heard all the traffic, trams and trains! Didn't sleep a wink, my daughter was too scared to sleep alone so we shared the bottom bunk, fully clothed.

We stayed one night out of six, I couldn't subject my child or myself to that. It's an awful place, the cat! Well if you like cats fine, if like me you can take or leave a cat, you'd want to leave this one! Especially at 5am! It meowed for the best part or 2hrs no stop!

I have complained to booking.com and asked for refund this guest house is disgusting! Save your money!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to St. Arnaud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Arnaud

Address: 99 Park St. | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Melbourne
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers and TripOnline SA so you can book your St. Arnaud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Arnaud Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Arnaud, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.