We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute pleasure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Tippler & Co

The Tippler & Co
58 Wellington Parade, Melbourne, Victoria 3002, Australia
+61 94160618
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #72 of 4,170 Restaurants in Melbourne
Price range: $7 - $22
Cuisines: Asian, European, Mediterranean, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: The Tippler & Co provides a place for people to appreciate all things food & drink.
Bicheno, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Absolute pleasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Started in a booth in the small dining area for a drink and catch up with a friend. Gradually the buzz in the bar arena built but, while able to snatch glimpses and hear the happy sounds, we were quiet and comfortable in our chat mode. Fine wine with a couple of dishes just to sample the menu and drink responsibly mad us very excited about the dinner booing we'd made for 6 of us later on. We moved table gracefully, such accommodating, gracious staff. Wow, "The Feed Me" option was how we went and a great and amazing value experience it was. Dish after dish of delightful, tasty, in testing, satisfying textures and flavours, all complementing each other beautifully. Congratulations Gus, on a great re-fit: unpretentious groovy, comfortable with a place for everyone. Congratulations also on choosing Daniel McLean as chef. Congrats Daniel and your team on a memorable food experience that we all want to return to repeat often and tell everyone about in the meantime. Well done and thank you. You remind us what this industry is all bat. Hospitality with integrity.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    6
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Amazing Atmosphere & Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

I have been working in the building next door for years and seen several attempts to make this location work. I happen to drop in after work for the first time and could not believe what they have done with the place. Not only was it a slick, well staffed design, but the place was buzzing. The word is definitely out!

I also left a valuable item there and the staff have arranged to mail it to me the very next working day. Thanks guys....Many thumbs up!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Hidden gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Went here for our son's 30th birthday and could not have been happier. We were in the upstairs area with 60 other guests and it was perfect. There was plenty of room and it also features comfortable bench seating so you don't have to stand all night. A great space in an ideal location, it ticked all the boxes-excellent service, friendly staff, delicious food and well priced drinks. We plan to visit Melbourne again in the next couple of weeks and will be introducing our friends to The Tippler for dinner and drinks. Recently opened, this will become a popular spot for anyone heading to The G. Thanks Gus and team for a fabulous night.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Awesome Food, great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

This small restaurant at the end of wellington parade hosted my wives birthday party for 10 of us. The food is mainly sharing plates and we all got to sample much of the menu. Food was fantastic and the service was also excellent. Craft beers on tap just add to the joy of the meal! Will definitely be going back there - seemed like a great spot to of before a game at the MCG!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esperance, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Fantastic! A must visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

We came across this place by accident and it was so good we had to go back twice! It's a fantastic place with fabulous food and wine. Service is amazing and really friendly. The place is relaxed and very easy going.

The food is divine! We tried most things on the menu (it's share style). I'm not fond of broccoli, but the way they do it is unreal! The gnocchi is also well worth a try.

Definitely somewhere we'll head back to!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Tippler & Co also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to The Tippler & Co? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Tippler & Co, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.