We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok but needs work!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Harbour View Apartment Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Harbour View Apartment Hotel to your Saves list
Harbour View Apartment Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   585 Latrobe Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #130 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“ok but needs work!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We had to wait 20 mins after the 2pm check in time due to room not being ready, Reception lady was quite rude to begin with. Got upgraded to 4 bedroom penthouse due to 2 bedroom air con not working! 2 bedroom photos looked nice on website, went into 4 bedroom and furniture was old and worn out. Also room had just been cleaned so stunk of bleach and floor was still wet and slippery. Nice big room though and amazing private terrace, only problem no furniture on the terrance so we could not enjoy it! Great location though as very close to public transport. Could sleep alot of people which was great. I dont think the room is worth the price though, lots of scuffs of walls and drain in bathroom was extremly dirty and yuk looking, stairs to upstairs were flithy also. Would not stay here again until refurbished. With alittle care this hotel could be great and well worth the price but for now worn out and needing needing new furnishings asap!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    74
    51
    22
    28
See reviews for
65
38
16
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Harbour View Apartment Hotel provided us a reasonable price 2-bedroom apartment for 2 nights in Melbourne CBD with full kitchen, supermarket nearby, car park and free city tram & tourist bus stops at doorstep. The apartment was clean & spacious and staff were friendly. However there were few cooking utensils. The parking space (with a fee) is in the same building and reservation is needed. You have to check-in first at reception before you can enter the car park. Victoria Queen Market is within walking distance. We would recommend this hotel to our friends, but will warn light sleepers about the tram noise even at night & with window closed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Location was good (5 minutes walk to Southern Corss station), clean and comfortable environment. Close to amenities. Staff were friendly and helpful. I had an awesome experience and will definitely recommend this!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Victoria, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Stayed at harbour view for two nights as I was attending two concerts in Melbourne, First room was extremely noisy with road works going all night, complained so was moved to a second room, once entering the room a strong odour similar to old wet carpet was noticed, lights were not working and the air con was not working, the heat and stuffiness of the room was unbearable. Complained once again and was moved to a third room, this room was much better, quiet over night and working air con however was woken at 8am by a noise that appeared to be drilling (into the wall) from a neighbouring room, which was not appreciated since i wanted a late check out and a sleep in, after not a lot of sleep the night before. The staff however were very friendly, and helpful. The location is also great.

Had dinner at Il Sole, an Italian restaurant attached to the hotel, the restaurant prices were very reasonable, the service was fast and friendly and the meals very tasty.

I probably will not stay in the hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights. The room layout was quite different with the main bed being part of the living/tv area and a second single bed in a small room between the main bed and the kitchen. There are sliding doors to the single room and a window from the main bed looking into the single bed. While it was a bit unusual it suited us perfectly being a couple + toddler. We were able to put our son to bed early and still watch tv, and were able to check on him by peeking through the little window which was great. The kitchen had a full size fridge, cook-top, microwave & kettle + sink and cupboards with plates etc. We did not cook a meal here, though we did prepare simple breakfast and it worked well. The bathroom (very clean) was located off the kitchen, there was a washing machine in the bathroom cupboard but it had an out of order sign on it. We didn't use it, but there was a room service menu in the room for the restaurant downstairs which would be convenient. Our room was on 7th floor and overlooked a construction site and train lines, we could see the trams coming up the road too (perfect to keep an eye out for the free city circle tram coming, then dash down to jump on it). This view was fantastic and kept my son (2 years) occupied watching the cars, trucks, trains, trams and diggers in the construction zone. We didn't notice much noise (although you would if you opened the windows/balcony door). The room was very clean, we were offered a service, but turned it down as toddler was taking a nap at the time. We would happily stay here again, although, check your bill - we got free car parking in our room deal but they tried to charge us for it as well, this was quickly removed from our account when we said it was included.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whaley Bridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Room very spacious for 2 but no free WiFi. Initially the room smelled of stale drains due to the washing machine not being in use. Although in evidence it was not part of our rental and we had to pay to use the hotel (as opposed to apartment) facility. Having said that you get what you pay for and this was decent value for money. (3 nights $485) Good central location and a bit noisy for me but Jane rather liked the trams etc. Would choose this again

Room Tip: Higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

Noisy doors slamming all night, horrible service - I had paid in advance and I had to argue with them to let me check in without a credit card authorisation because I had just lost my wallet in the city. Then they wanted me to give them the little bit of emergency cash I had got from the bank for food as insurance!

Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harbour View Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour View Apartment Hotel

Address: 585 Latrobe Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#100 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbour View Apartment Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Harbour View Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour View Apartment Melbourne
Hotel Harbour View Apartment

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbour View Apartment Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.