We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Harbour View Apartment Hotel

Save Saved
You added Harbour View Apartment Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Harbour View Apartment Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   585 Latrobe Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #121 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Spending 10 days running a major case in the Federal Court required somewhere close to the Court (HVAH is a two-block 7 minute walk), plenty of working space, and the ability to cook for ourselves without hassles.

HVAH lived up to our needs pretty well in rom 409 although our two days in room 503 were a little less satisfactory and led to the discovery that not all of the two bedroom apartments are equal (503 is probably 20% smaller than 409).

Both had good cooking facilities with a full sized fan-forced oven, a full cooktop (although the old style Ego hotplates have poor control), a reasonable microwave oven, and a good sized fridge (although theone in 503 was missing door shelves). Being only a few minutes from midnight-closing Coles in Spencer Street was very convenient as we could just buy supplies as and when needed.

Bedrooms were comfortable although the n03 rooms on the north west corner of he building get exposed to maximum metal to metal screeching of the trams as they turn from LaTrobe into Spencer Street. Showers had good pressure and plenty of hot water. A dishwashing brush would have been convenient and the lack of non-stick cookware made cleaning a chore with inadequate tools. We had to buy a scourer from Coles.

The exhaust fan can't cope with smoke from the oven so unless you hold open the apartment door and the balcony door the smoke detectors will be set off with any oven or griller cooking!

Pricing was reasonable for weekdays but expensive for weekends. It was cheaper to fly back to Sydney for the weekend and then fly back to Melbourne Sunday afternoon than to stay over for Friday and Saturday night!

The bedroom desk in 503 was quite useless - it is half depth so that it is all but unuseable. And the dining table in 503 is also too small.

Overall very convenient from a location point of view, but let down by some of the basics which could have made our stay more comfortable at neglible additional cost.

Room Tip: Rooms closest to the north west corner of the building (Spencer and LaTrobe Street) are the noisiest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    68
    44
    18
    22
See reviews for
59
34
13
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

we stopped 3 nights found the rooms very clean and tidy close to everything free trams around the city great for a lot of walking we will go and stop there again Staff very helpful Free paper each day Great meals next door at resterant and william angilss cooking school will be back soon great for the football so close

Room Tip: rooms on south side quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights (Fri & Sat) in a standard studio apartment. It was too warm in the foyer but the rooms have climate control which is good. The layout of the room was a little odd with a sliding door from the bedroom opening on to the hallway and no wall at all on the other side of the bedroom, opening on the tiniest "lounge" area which only just fitted a 2 seater couch and small TV. Other than that, everything was very nice. The hotel is soundproof so you can't hear the traffic and tram noise from the street. The reception staff were all very nice, especially 'Jamie' who was very friendly and helpful. The free 'City Circle' tram stops right outside the front door and will take you all around the city but avoid at peak times as it gets very crowded. The Il Sole restaurant opening off the foyer is pretty good and fairly reasonably priced and is open for breakfast from 7am-10am. All in all our stay was enjoyable.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on one of the higher floors with a harbour view. You might have to pay a little more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

I checked in for a night at Harbourview Apartment Melbourne on Monday, 6/8/12.

On the morning of Tuesday, 7/8/12, we made our way to the lobby to check out and we were told that we have to wait awhile for the room inspection. After waiting for about 5 minutes, this receptionist named Mae, brought out a bathroom floor towel which was stained blue and asked us what was that. My friend explained that we washed our jeans the night before and left it to hang dry and we used the bathroom floor towel to soak up the water which was flooding the bathroom floor. Mae then told us that we had to pay $15 (to be deducted from our $100 bond which we paid when we checked in) for compensation of the towel. We tried to ask if we can avoid paying the $15 but Mae said no as the towels all have to be sent to the laundry and be bleached and etc etc etc. Mae told us that since we will be paying $15 for the towel, we can bring the towel back with us. We were appalled. Is that how one should treat their customers? Asking the customers to bring home a dirty, stained towel? It is plain ridiculous and it is an insult to us! If we have dirtied the towel, we will accept it as our mistake and pay the $15 as requested to and leave the dirty towel at the apartment! But we were completely shocked when Mae suggested to us to bring the towel back with us! This is plain rude and ridiculous!

Next, we asked Mae if we could wash off the stains ourselves instead. Then, she responded by saying we could bring the towel back and wash it and then mail it back to them. Then again, we were appalled! Is that really how one speaks to customers? Asking us to bring the towel back and mail it back? Seriously ridiculous! Firstly, we are tourists and we were leaving for another country. Did Mae expect us to wrap the towel up into a nice package and ship it back to the apartment? Did Mae expect us to absorb the postage costs? Did she even realise that it was yet another insulting statement?

Then, we asked Mae if it was possible for us to wash the stains off by ourselves right at that moment. She was stunned and all she could do was to look at us in the eye for a good 5 seconds and was not able to provide us an answer. We asked for another 2 to 3 more times before she replied "you could try". She then gave us the toilet key and we brought the towel into the toilet and washed the stains off within just 5 minutes. After washing the towel, we put it bag into the plastic bag and handed it over back to Mae. Mae only opened up the plastic bag and took a quick glance and passed it to the housekeeping department and said that she will refund us our $100 bond deposit in a minute. Mae did not even take out the entire towel to check if the entire towel was clean! It could have been clean from the way she saw it, but it might still have stains at the other non-visible parts of the towel! This shows that getting a clean towel was not important at all and Mae was obviously trying to rip us off the $15 because we look like young, gullible, weak and meek teenagers. She was obviously stunned when we suggested washing the stains off by herself because she knows that the stains are washable. She did not even bother checking thoroughly if we have washed the entire towel clean because even if it was not clean, the housekeeping department could wash it off easily and it would not even cost $15!

After that, when Mae refunded us our $100 bond deposit, she rolled her eyes to her colleague who was next to her, thinking that we could not see what she just did! Is that how a customer service representative of an apartment/accommodation should behave?

I am thoroughly displeased with Mae's actions and words and although the room we stayed in was clean and well furnished, this incident has left me a very bad impression of Harbourview Apartment Melbourne. We met a pleasant and polite receptionist named Sophia when we checked in, so I must say that Harbourview Apartment still has a certain standard of service, but Mae has spoiled our overall experience over at Harbourview Apartment.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here last night after seeing fairly good reviews. Apartments are of good size but I couldn't help but notice the dirtiness. Business splatter on the toilet walls was revolting :/ floors were covered in dust and even rogue hairs. The seats and also the bed cover had cigarette marks/ burn holes and also food splatter on the stove. We were too scared to use the dishes so pre washed them for our satisfaction. I am not someone to usually pick but geez I would hate to know what someone else would rate the room we stayed in. Great location and staff were helpful

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Stayed with my two sisters, clean and comfortable. Good location, free city tram on the doorstep. Beds comfortable. Staff helpful and friendly. handy to have Coles across the road a little way. Disappointed the cafe/ restaurant not open for breakfast mon - Friday, but found a great asian cafe on the next corner, good breakfast with hot drink $7.50. Not outstanding but good for the price and location. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Harbour View Apartments on the corner of La Trobe and Spencer Streets in Melbourne while not the flashest place I've stayed in the CBD was certainly well priced and comfortable and conveniently located. Week day price was around $125. Plenty of room. Kitchen lacked an oven but still well appointed. If i had another meeting in the docklands, would stay there again. Across the road from the railway station, car rentals and Coles supermarket

Room Tip: great view from 5th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Harbour View Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour View Apartment Hotel

Address: 585 Latrobe Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#93 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#121 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbour View Apartment Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Harbour View Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour View Apartment Melbourne
Hotel Harbour View Apartment

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbour View Apartment Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.