We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“platinum class” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Langham, Melbourne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added The Langham, Melbourne to your Saves list
The Langham, Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Southgate Ave | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“platinum class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2011

From Peter at the door to David and Suzanne in the Club this was a great experience. The staff, service, the room, the food were superb and the ambience of the hotel matches the Royal Hawaiian.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,771 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,055
    477
    163
    40
    36
See reviews for
412
1,322
161
513
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (736)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2011

I had heard wonderful things about this hotel but I have to say I was disappointed. Although the staff were really wonderful i found the quality of the hotel and the difference between what I saw on the web to be completely different.

My room had a continuous humming noise, the tv was fuzzy and did not access digital, the shower had shocking lighting so shaving was quite difficult.

For the money I paid the Hilton near DFO was so much better last year.

I don't think I will be coming back to this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bsington, Manager at The Langham, Melbourne, responded to this review, February 12, 2011
Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay. I am sorry that you were disappointed with your experience. All the photos of bedrooms on our website are rooms as you will find them. I can advise that lighting in the bathroom has been increased in our new deluxe rooms. 42inch flat screen TVs are in all our rooms with an extensive list of TV channels. Additionally we are installing new digital wiring which will enable free to air digiital channels in all rooms.
I am sorry that a hum was apparent in your bedroom. We would always investigate any discomfort to our guests if brought to our attention so action can be taken.
Thank you for your feedback. I am delighted that you enjoyed the service from our staff and would encourage you to try us again. Please let me know when you are considering coming again.
Best wishes
Ben Sington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2011

A great place to come 'home' to after exploring all day. Fantastic service - friendly, welcoming, polite yet unobtrusive. Although 'old style', the service from all staff in this hotel made it an exceptional stay. Apart from this, the location of the hotel is superb - very central on Southbank - close to a wide variety of places to eat, a walk across the Yarra to the city and walking distance to Melbourne Park and the MCG. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
China
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2011

Just spent a week at the Langham in Melbourne. This hotel is just awesome and I fully recommend it. The location is just superb, just on the Yarra River and a few minutes away from Federation Square and Flinders Street Station. The breakfast was also excellent with plenty of choices. The staff were also very attentive, and quick with any requests we had. We took a River Corner room with spectacular views of the river and the city...the couple of extra dollars we spent for this corner room were very worthwhile.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2011

patsy and i travel the world over, we have lived in 5 star hotels, bed and breakfast and even a 2 star hotel, there is no hotel that can beat the langham melbourne for its all round performance in the world.an exciting experience we will never forget.we are looking forward to visiting the langham melbourne again.thank you very much for all your kindness, a 110% performance and a 6 gold star hotel.
Ian creed.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2011

We stayed at the Langham in Jan 2011 unfortunately only for 2 nights as we were moving on to our next destination. When we arrived the member of staff on reception was excellent, making sure we knew where everything was and that Australia day was the follwing day and giving us info to what was going on.

Our room looked out over the Yarra river and the city which was an excellent view especially as it came alive in the evening with the lights etc. The room and the bathroom were very large and had everything you could require. As i said in my title it had the most comfotabe, bed EVER!!! and made the stay extra special.

You got the usual 5* bits complimentary newspaper was a must have, unfortunately there was no wifi in the room but this was not really an issue but something you would maybe expect.

It is in a very good location with the Southbank shopping centre just below it, which had an array of shops and a huge food area serving anything from Nando's to Chinese. Federation square was a 10 minute walk over the river and right out of the train station . There is an excellent tourist centre their offering wifi internet and great advice for anything you wanted to do.

I would definetelty recommend this hotel as the place to stay when in Melbourne!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2011

Stayed at the Langham january , wanted to come and eat out at some of melbourne's great restaurants- chose hotel for the location mostly. Was a little daunted when we arrived - all that marble, fountains etc.
Despite overtop decor and room a litle too fussy for us - we had a great stay. Mostly due to the staff for whom nothing was any trouble. All very comfortable, great location for walks and taxis on tap for venturing further out.
made al lour gastronomic trips - including those out of town very very easy.
The Area where the hotel is located is on the river.The Southgate complex itself doesn't have the best shops or restaurants inn melbourne but they are all very close by - just across the river ,Would definately stay again

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Langham, Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Melbourne

Address: 1 Southgate Ave | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#1 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#3 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 387
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Langham, Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham, Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Langham, Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.