We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic introduction to Melbourne” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Langham, Melbourne

Save Saved
You added The Langham, Melbourne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Langham, Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Southgate Ave | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Club & Suite Discount
Ranked #1 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Perth, Australia
1 review
“Fantastic introduction to Melbourne”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2011

A great place to come 'home' to after exploring all day. Fantastic service - friendly, welcoming, polite yet unobtrusive. Although 'old style', the service from all staff in this hotel made it an exceptional stay. Apart from this, the location of the hotel is superb - very central on Southbank - close to a wide variety of places to eat, a walk across the Yarra to the city and walking distance to Melbourne Park and the MCG. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,454 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,817
    429
    141
    39
    28
See reviews for
371
1155
150
456
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (626)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
China
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2011

Just spent a week at the Langham in Melbourne. This hotel is just awesome and I fully recommend it. The location is just superb, just on the Yarra River and a few minutes away from Federation Square and Flinders Street Station. The breakfast was also excellent with plenty of choices. The staff were also very attentive, and quick with any requests we had. We took a River Corner room with spectacular views of the river and the city...the couple of extra dollars we spent for this corner room were very worthwhile.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2011

patsy and i travel the world over, we have lived in 5 star hotels, bed and breakfast and even a 2 star hotel, there is no hotel that can beat the langham melbourne for its all round performance in the world.an exciting experience we will never forget.we are looking forward to visiting the langham melbourne again.thank you very much for all your kindness, a 110% performance and a 6 gold star hotel.
Ian creed.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2011

We stayed at the Langham in Jan 2011 unfortunately only for 2 nights as we were moving on to our next destination. When we arrived the member of staff on reception was excellent, making sure we knew where everything was and that Australia day was the follwing day and giving us info to what was going on.

Our room looked out over the Yarra river and the city which was an excellent view especially as it came alive in the evening with the lights etc. The room and the bathroom were very large and had everything you could require. As i said in my title it had the most comfotabe, bed EVER!!! and made the stay extra special.

You got the usual 5* bits complimentary newspaper was a must have, unfortunately there was no wifi in the room but this was not really an issue but something you would maybe expect.

It is in a very good location with the Southbank shopping centre just below it, which had an array of shops and a huge food area serving anything from Nando's to Chinese. Federation square was a 10 minute walk over the river and right out of the train station . There is an excellent tourist centre their offering wifi internet and great advice for anything you wanted to do.

I would definetelty recommend this hotel as the place to stay when in Melbourne!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2011

Stayed at the Langham january , wanted to come and eat out at some of melbourne's great restaurants- chose hotel for the location mostly. Was a little daunted when we arrived - all that marble, fountains etc.
Despite overtop decor and room a litle too fussy for us - we had a great stay. Mostly due to the staff for whom nothing was any trouble. All very comfortable, great location for walks and taxis on tap for venturing further out.
made al lour gastronomic trips - including those out of town very very easy.
The Area where the hotel is located is on the river.The Southgate complex itself doesn't have the best shops or restaurants inn melbourne but they are all very close by - just across the river ,Would definately stay again

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2011

This is the ultimate experience - it's only the second time I have stayed here but it won't be the last. I have stayed at about 15 hotels in Melbourne but this is the one I will be returning to. It's worth the extra cost. Great position and overall everything was of a great quality and personalised service.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2011

The Langham is a beautiful hotel; from the moment you step inside, the hotel staff are friendly and attend all of your needs. The hotel itself is gorgeous, beautifully decorated and has every facility required by a guest.

The location is perfect, a short stroll from all of the best Melbourne has to offer; the city itself, Crown and Eureka towers, even the botanic gardens and the MCG are close by.

The quality of the rooms, facilities and services is top notch; the Langham boasts a beautiful restaurant, where breakfast is served with a picturesque view of the Yarra.

A truly fantastic hotel, I have always wanted to stay at the Langham, and I found it to live up to its reputation. If I ever come to Melbourne again, I won't be staying anywhere else!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Langham, Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Melbourne

Address: 1 Southgate Ave | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#1 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#1 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
#1 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#1 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Melbourne 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Langham, Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham, Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Langham, Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.