We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Langham” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Langham, Melbourne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Langham, Melbourne to your Saves list
The Langham, Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Southgate Ave | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Club & Suite Discount
Ranked #1 of 169 Hotels in Melbourne
Santa Barbara, California
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
“Loved the Langham”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2011

When your family's first trip from the U.S. to Australia is over the travel crunch period of late December, and your ambitious outbound itinerary includes four flights that stretch over 24-hours, cover more than seven-thousand miles, cross the international dateline and flip-flop hemispheres, there are a few basic things that you want and need when you arrive at your hotel. You want it to be "as advertised", nothing less. You want to get the exact rooms you reserved at the right price, and you want them to be ready. I'm happy to say that the Langham in Melbourne met and exceeded all of my expectations. Upon arrival, we were greeted by the quick, friendly, and efficient service by the doorman, the bellman, and the reception desk. Check in was a breeze and our luggage was whisked up to our rooms so quickly that our suitcases beat us upstairs. We had connecting River View king/double-double rooms (2127 & 2129) that featured a spectacular panorama of the Yarra River, Flinders Station and the city's skyline that seemed so close that you could almost reach out and touch the buildings. The view was mesmerizing and we never got tired of it. In fact, the early morning after our first night there, we spotted almost a dozen hot air balloons hovering over the city, bathed in the golden light of sunrise. It was an ethereal moment, the kind of unexpected treat you hope for when you travel.

The Langham's location is perfect for exploring Melbourne. Walk out the front door, turn left and go up a few steps and you're inside the Southbank complex of shops and restaurants. (In fact, the Southbank riverfront promenade extends for several blocks and includes scores of restaurants. You won't go hungry here! Also, people watching along the Southbank Promenade was really entertaining. You'll see both the beautiful and the bizarre.) Take a slightly different walking route and within a few steps you're on a pedestrian bridge that takes you over the river directly to Flinders Station and on to the stores, shops and cafes of the Lanes. At Federation Square you can either hop on a convenient St. Kilda street tram to the waterfront or enjoy the free trolley that circles the downtown core. It's an easy way to explore the city. Want a commanding view of Melbourne and its environs? The Eureka Skydeck is less than a block from the Langham.

The hotel's lobby isn't really a "lobby" in the traditional sense. It's a series of cascading open air floors starting at ground level, you take an escalator up to the reception area and then walk a few steps up another level to the restaurant/bar. We enjoyed three spectacular breakfast buffets that included a dizzying array of practically every kind of breakfast food you could wish for. The honeycomb presentation was a bonus. It's not cheap, but you get what you pay for.

The Lanham's guest rooms are in the process of being switched over to a more environmentally friendly electrical system. Unfortunately, this wasn't explained to me at check in and I didn't know that you have to insert one of your room keys in the small receptacle just inside the door and leave it in place in order to activate the lights. We stumbled around trying to figure out why nothing worked until I eventually called down to the front desk and had it explained to me Other reviewers have raved about the comfortable beds here. They were right! The bathrooms were spacious, well equipped and quite modern but their light switches were on the outside of the bathroom (which took a little getting used to) and the doors were equipped with a device that made them open and close more slowly and prevented them from being accidentally slammed. The air conditioning unit in one of our rooms didn't work properly at first, but hotel maintenance fixed the problem in short order. Here's a nice touch: at check in, the front desk receptionist suggested that since we had two connecting rooms, we might enjoy getting two different Australian newspapers in the morning. Great idea!

The pool and hot tub were nice and the pool deck seemed like a wonderful observation point to soak up the sun and check out the city views.

Service here was truly first class. Every employee seemed friendly and personable. The chief Concierge, Peter McBreaty, was especially helpful. He facilitated the switch of an Avis rental car from an inconvenient location to a different and much more convenient location. And then he had the car delivered to the hotel so it would be ready for us when we were ready to hit the road and start exploring Victoria. Bravo, Peter!

I had been looking forward to enjoying a drink at the bar, but was somewhat disappointed in my experience there. The bar felt cold and without much of a personality.Yes, it looked classy and inviting. But although there were a few seats on either end of the bar, they really weren't conducive to sitting there. There were so many odds and ends scattered across the bar itself that it felt stiff and uncomfortable. It seemed like the real purpose of the bar was to serve drinks to customers sitting at the tables that were scattered around the lounge.

Two very minor negatives: valet parking was $45/night. That's the most I have ever paid to valet a car overnight in any hotel in the world. I noticed a self-park garage less than a block away that advertised overnight parking for $7. Quite a difference! Also, there's no free wi-fi at the Langham. Maybe there is on the club level, but if I wanted internet service I either had to pay for it, or purchase online time in the business center from the front desk. For what I paid to stay here, I would have hoped that free wi-fi would have been available.

All in all though, staying at the Langham was a great experience and a perfect spot to begin our time in Australia. Bring your wallet because it's quite expensive here, but you should realistically expect to pay high prices at a five star hotel in an international destination. I'll be back.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bsington, Manager at The Langham, Melbourne, responded to this review, January 11, 2011
Thank you very much for your terrific comments regarding your recent stay. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your kind comments regarding the staff. I appreciate also your very constructive comments for improvements which we will take on board
Best wishes
Ben Sington
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,593 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,924
    447
    152
    39
    31
See reviews for
397
1,232
155
476
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (672)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Macclesfield
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2011

We arrived as a family to find our river view interconnecting rooms that we had requested, wern't interconnecting and they were on different floors! The Hotel was pretty full due to the cricket and after lots of umming an arhing by the reception staff, and only when I had started to get openly stressed at the thought of sleeping either with one of the children or the prospect of us being on totally different floors (reception was badly manned I felt sorry for the people behind us queuing to book in/out) were we eventually given standard rooms that although wern't interconnecting were next to each other. The rooms were small with no view, the bed was ok but not the best I've slept in, our luggage which had been delivered to another room took ages to be delivered to our new room there didn't seem to be any way of contacting reception/concierge either??. We had to wait to be seated at breakfast over 10 minutes, never had that in a 5 star Hotel before, the breakfast room is too small and too crowded, too dated also. We orderd coffee but we were only given a cup each, no coffee pot to help ourselves so we had to order more which took an age to come. The breakfast buffet is ok not the best I've had. Felt this Hotel was souless, however the location is excellent!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bsington, Manager at The Langham, Melbourne, responded to this review, January 11, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts after you stayed with us recently. We always strive for the highest levels of service and facilities, however obviously fell short on
this occasion. I have given my personal details in a separate message so that I can follow up your comments further.
Best wishes
Ben Sington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2011

The experience starts in the foyer, I've never seen anything more beautiful! Everything is pink & pretty and the staff are all lovely!
Just an FYI - they won't let you make any changes to your booking, which I thought was a little rigid... But the stay is amazing and totally worth the big spend!!

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traralgon, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2011

We recently had the pleasure to spend 3 nights at the Langham Hotel ( Melb). Couldn't have asked for anything better, the staff were amazing nothing was too much trouble, what an absolutely beautiful hotel, . Very conviently situated close to city, theatres & casino. Quite pricey, but worth the indulgence. Fantastic experience will definately be returning.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2011

We stayed in this hotel during a very busy period - New Year's Eve. The service was second to none and staff took genuine interest in any concerns and ensured that our requests were acted upon. Breakfast was very good. I would definitely return to stay!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2011

I was with my husband and my 2 kids in Melbourne for the New Year eve. The Langham was pricey for the new year eve, but we decided to treat ourselves ! But when my kids asked for a cold chocolate milk for breakfast, we were asked to pay an extra charge, since they have to make a warm chocolat cold! What kind of service is that in a 5 stars hotel!!! Since when a couple of ice cubes are charged when you pay more than 600$ per night? We were really upset, and we will certainly not go back in the Langham !Internet is also very expensive!! With a five stars hotel we expect a nice service, full of tact and without stupid supplements!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bsington, Manager at The Langham, Melbourne, responded to this review, January 11, 2011
Thank you for your review. I can confirm that the restauarant does not charge supplements for any coffee, tea or chocolate (hot and cold) for breakfast. However we do make a charge for milk shakes, which is made with ice cream scoops ordered by guests. Thank you for your feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carnegie
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2011

Stayed at the langham on a new years eve package. Excellent location, service, and extras like access to the pool deck for fireworks viewing. Overall great value for money!

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Langham, Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Melbourne

Address: 1 Southgate Ave | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#1 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#1 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#1 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 387
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Langham, Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham, Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Langham, Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.