We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular hotel, excellent location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Langham, Melbourne

Save Saved
You added The Langham, Melbourne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Langham, Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Southgate Ave | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Club & Suite Discount
Ranked #1 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
san diego
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Spectacular hotel, excellent location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2010

The Langham Melbourne is simply spectacular. My wife and I stayed here on our honeymoon and enjoyed every second at this world class hotel. From the moment we arrived in the opulent lobby, replete with jaw-dropping chandeliers and cascading fountains, we knew we were in for a treat. The entire hotel is perfumed with a beautiful (not overpowering) ginger-flower scent (my wife purchased several bottles as gifts), and the service is attentive and efficient (as guests arrived, a new employee would appear to check them in - NO waiting).

The rooms are comfortable and we had a great view of the Yarra River. The old world charm definitely carries over into the guest rooms, with opulent marble bathrooms, lovely high-end furnishings, and terrific feather beds with high thread count linens. The decor is a little less modern than I'd have in my home, but beautiful and appropriate for the property's style - can't fault the Langham on that! Room service is terrific, the Melba breakfast buffet is scrumptious (and I’m NOT a buffet person), and we loved the elegant afternoon tea service in the Aria lounge. The Chuan Spa, rooftop pool/bar and gym are also very nice.

The location is perfect, directly on Melbourne's South-Bank, which has excellent dining, shopping, and people-watching right outside your door. This is a great base for sightseeing in and around Melbourne (and for pampering and relaxing in general)!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bsington, Manager at The Langham, Melbourne, responded to this review, October 8, 2010
Congratulations on your wedding. Thank you for your comments. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay. Please book again for your anniversary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,557 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,894
    444
    149
    39
    31
See reviews for
392
1210
153
473
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (662)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2010

Our one night at the Langham was a for romantic night away from our young kids. I purchased the "Chuan Harmony" one night package in a river view room. Instead we where given room 2022 which is basically the view of the Herald Weekly Times office, maybe the front desk thought we wanted to watch Mike Sheehan write his football column for the heraldsun then to actually give us what we paid for.

But I was determined to not let this spoil our special night, the room itself is lovely, comfy slippers, thick warm robes, all the necessities you can ever need in a room.

While watching the cleaners at the herald weekly times vacuum the floors, when we should have been watching the big lights of the city over the yarra. We decided to get some room service.

We decided to order the $28.00 pizza and the paprika fries, well let me tell you, you dont' have to be Gordon Ramsay to know that the pizza we were given was absolute rubbish! For $28 you expect something half decent, but it was terrible, I reckon I could have gone to the local Coles supermarket purchased a $3 dollar frozen one that would be better quality and bigger. Its not the Chef fault, but Kitchen management need to spend $28 out off there own pay packet and decide if its worth it...

The King size bed in the room is excellent, very comfortable.

Waking up to maintenance people working on an adjoining room at 7am not good at all.

Breakfast - As we turned up the Melba to be seated for Breakfast, there where 3 tables all empty by the window over looking the yarra, but we were going to be placed in the middle of the floor and I asked could we sit by the window and the waiter said no probs. Maybe this was the same guy that checked us in, he just didn't want us to have a view of the river..... The food itself during breakfast is outstanding and delicious.

The rest of the morning was pleasant enough, but I wonder what management would think when we and other guest waiting at the valet parking where watching staff members complain to each other about there shifts.

Maybe next time we will try the Quay West Suites or the Grand Hyatt.

I more than happy to provide all info the Langham to verify what I have just spoken about above.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bsington, Manager at The Langham, Melbourne, responded to this review, October 8, 2010
Thank you very much for your feedback. I apologise that the service was not up to our usual high standard. We will conduct further staff training so that this will not happen again. We appear to have had some shortcomings in pizza making recently and this has been corrected by the chef.
We have your details and we will be contacting you shortly to discuss further. We look forward to welcoming you back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2010

I stayed at the Langham for three nights. It hasn't not been renovated to make it more modern but to keep it's traditional charm that the Langham is known for which i was impressed by. The beds were by far the best i have slept on. We got two beds and you did not want to get out of bed - Just superb! We got room service - Got a burger. No it's not cheap at all. Would be much cheaper to go downstairs. But the room service, defintely could see the attention to detail. A vase of flowers, little jars of mustards/tom sauce etc, the trolley had a little oven under so the burger would stay warm. The staff were helpful and went out of their way to assist you. Its on the 'other side' of the river so you are away from the heart of Melbourne which is good. It's only a 10 minute walk across - and a nice walk too, to the otherside of Melbourne. This hotel is close to theatres aswell. Defintely would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bsington, Manager at The Langham, Melbourne, responded to this review, October 8, 2010
Thank you for your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2010

We stay here at the last minute, because we could not book an extra two nights at the Crowne Towers with the AFL finals. Once you walk through the door, you leave the busy city behind, the marble fountain georgeous and soothing. You can hear the piano playing a soothing accompaniment as you relax in the lobby. The twin room we booked has two very comfortable double beds, with your choice of firmer pillows. Full amenities of sewing kits, cute pink toothbrushes,shaving kit, and my daughter was delighted with the quality of the shampoo and conditioner. These were replenished fully every day unlike the Crowne Towers(PLease read my other review, where we stayed prior). So nice to have a turn down service, our towels shampoos where replenish and two bottles of complimentary water. Some minor renovation may be required, but the room is very clean and comfortable. I love the little details, the porter even left a message because we were out when he delivered our luggage. The Langham location is fantastic, across the bridge is Flinders Station, next door is the Southgate food court not as varied as the one in Crowne Casino. If i'm ever in Melbourne it is the only place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bsington, Manager at The Langham, Melbourne, responded to this review, October 8, 2010
We agree
Thank you for your comments. Come again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2010

You would have to be very hard to please if you did not enjoy staying at the Langham Melbourne. We visited Melbourne for the first time and had a pleasant, short holiday staying there 4 nights. The location was great, rooms and facilities were lovely and the staff were wonderful. I recommend paying a little extra to have a "river view" room. It is not cheap but the rates are reasonable for a 5 star hotel. Julie, Sydney.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2010

a good and central place to stay in Melbourne - has obviously the 5 star pricetag and is in comparison to other 5 star hotels a little below standard at the breakfats and bar area. The concierge was extremly helpful and earned all credits. The breakfast is for a this kind of hotel a little too basic and can be improved. The bar areas lacks some athmosphere as there is only a lcd screnn showing a fire nburning - a real one would make such a difference.
We booked a corner room and this can be recommended. The valet parkibng at 45,- A$ is a bit too expensive

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2010

Have just stayed at the Langham for 3 nights for my 50th birthday - it was to be a special occasion but I must say that the hotel ruined it somewhat. The walls are paper thin and you can hear everything in rooms quite some way away (and on floors above and below even), had to make complaints a couple of times regards the noise but what can they do?? My husband organised for a Langham bear to be left in our room for my Birthday and they didn't do it - when he complained the next day the guy said they would leave it with a special extra gift - the bear came finally but not the special extra gift - maybe the extra gift was them then trying to charge us 3 times for the bear !!! The Club Lounge was excellent and the staff there were wonderful but overall the experience was marred by something so simple that they could not get right despite all of their written material touting their "next to none" service !! NOT !!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bsington, Manager at The Langham, Melbourne, responded to this review, September 17, 2010
Thannk you for your comments about your recent stay at the Langham Melbourne. I have asked you separately to contact me so that I can investigate your specific concerns. The wall construction of the rooms is solid concrete and should on the whole be soundproofed for general noise. I apologise if you were disturbed.

The Teddy Bear is part of our Teddy Bears package. We deliver teddy in the evening when we turndown and prepare your room for the night. I am sorry that he was late to bed!

Thank you for your kind comments regarding the staff in the Club Lounge, which I will pass on to them.
Best wishes
Ben Sington
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Langham, Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Melbourne

Address: 1 Southgate Ave | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#1 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#1 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#1 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Melbourne 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Booking.com, Odigeo, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Otel and Venere so you can book your The Langham, Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham, Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Langham, Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.