We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Langham, Melbourne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added The Langham, Melbourne to your Saves list
The Langham, Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Southgate Ave, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia (Southbank)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
UP TO 10% OFF. BOOK NOW!
Ranked #2 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
GreenLeadersSilver level
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Just perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2010

My husband and I had a 2 night getaway in the Club Spa Suite (with access to the Club Lounge) and it was marvellous!! The room blew us away when we stepped into it - so plush and comfortable and MASSIVE! Oh it really was lovely. We got a special deal on the Langham site - it always pays to check the hotel websites themselves and not just wotif and lastminute.
The Club lounge was all that I hoped it would be! Free hot buffet English breakfast in the morning - afternoon tea (delicious cakes!!! omg!!!!) in the afternoon and pre-dinner drinks (and snacks) in the evenings! We had a few gin & tonics our first night and some wine/cognac the second - just lovely luxury - one could get very used to that lifestyle. I don't know what the other rooms are like but I fully recommend the (club) spa suite!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bsington, Manager at The Langham, Melbourne, responded to this review, September 17, 2010
Thank you for your kind comments. Love the photo of the city night lights from the Club Lounge. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay
Ben Sington
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,473
    580
    190
    54
    42
See reviews for
504
1,627
179
584
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (950)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Macksville, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2010

Our stay was brilliant as usual. We find the Staff all friendly, and they go out of there way to help you, and are pleasent , even if you want something out of the ordinary. The rooms are always beautiful and clean,it is like being at home, like when you forget your toothbrush, you just go into the bathroom and there is one there. The Restaurant and Bar is Top Class, abd so is the service. We would not stay any where else in Melbourne, have tried others but Langham is the best by far.

Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bsington, Manager at The Langham, Melbourne, responded to this review, September 17, 2010
Thank you for your kind comments. I would not stay anywhere else either. Please come again soon
Ben Sington
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2010

We had a wonderful weekend away at the Langham, Melbourne Hotel. Like the title suggests...why stay any where else. This is the best of all 5 star hotels in Melbourne and we have been to quite a few. Langham staff had 5 star service all round. From booking and reception staff through to the restaurant staff; there was always a friendly smile where ever you go and the staff were very down to earth and easy to talk too.

We booked the Teddy Bear package for a special occasion. This included overnight accommodation for two, full buffet breakfast for two in the Melba Restaurant (huge variety; it even had gluten-free breakfast items), access to the health club and wellness centre including use of gymnasium, conservatory covered pool and jacuzzi, a Langham Melbourne Benjamin bear, two hot chocolates in ARIA bar, valet parking and late check out of 2pm. The very elegant and comfortable classic room (room size: 32m²) included king Bed, beautiful spacious marble bathroom with a separate shower and bath, Internet access, cable and satellite TV and in-room safe. The bathroom complimentary products/items were handy as there was quite a variety... toothbrush and paste for two, a sewing kit, comb, razor and shaving cream along with the usual shampoo/body wash/lotions etc.

We had a light lunch of a cheese platter and beverages in the Aria bar, before heading off to the seafood buffet dinner on Saturday night. The very talented pianist played beautiful music right through the afternoon. Great atmosphere! The restaurant had lovely city views and the large variety of food was amazing from Indian, sushi, noodles and the list goes on...the oysters were just so fresh and tasty too. Service very prompt and professional. When we arrived back to our room after dinner, we found we had Turn-Down Service; thats when we received our cute teddy bear on our bed, teddy bear chocolates and 2 bottles of water on the bed side tables and a little pink teddy bear soap in the bathroom. Since we were celebration a special occasion a platter of petite cakes where waiting in our room too.

Its these little touches that you find around your hotel room that make it that extra bit special and different from the rest. Even complimentary slippers (in your room) and a bottle of water waiting in your car after your check out, from the valet parking staff.

Need to ask any questions regarding your future stay at the Langham don't hesitate to ask, I'll try and answer them for you, but hopefully like us, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bsington, Manager at The Langham, Melbourne, responded to this review, September 7, 2010
It gives me great pleasure that you had such an enjoyable stay, and I thank you for your very kind and detailed comments. I look forward to being able to deliver another Langham experience in the very near future
Best wishes
Ben Sington
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2010

The Langham hotel chain has seriously done their home work when it comes to customer satisfaction, from the food to the bedding you could not ask for more. The staff at front desk are always freindly, prompt and polite, the service staff are excellent and so too is the in room dinning.

We have stayed here four times now and it is the best Melbourne hotel by far. Located on Southbank it is relatively close to everything and you can catch either a train "acroos the river via a walk bridge" or a tram or a taxi. The casino is within walking distance as is most attractions.

The food is sensational and after having travelled most of Australia and staying in many 5 start hotels, we have to say that the Langham Melbourne sets the bench mark for exceptional food qaulity and variety. The Melba resturant has several cooking stations where you can watch your meal being prepared in front of you, their indian cuisine station is perhaps my favourite and I have not had anything remotely close to this standard anywhere in Australia thus far.!

You must also endudgle in their MASSIVE Cholocate Fondue Fountain!!

The rooms are very clean and quite, a sleep in is almost guranteed as is the views of the Yarra river and Melbourne's beautiful night lights.

When we stay in the city we always stay here and have tried many other hotels, this one wins by a mile and I would highly reccomend it. For a romantic weekend away with the best on opulence and elegance, the Langham is the best in Melbourne, Just make sure you stay at least two nights since one is never enough!!

Price range is from $350 -$480 with packages and every cent worth, we often get the "away with the fairrie package" that includes dinner and breakfast. If you want to seriously spoil the Mrs with a romantic stay and especially if she digs all things pink!, make sure you take her here and also make a visit to their inhouse gift shop.

Oh yer, and if you like the bedding, pillows, furniture, etc, langham spray (hotels smells very nice!) or anything you see and use in the hotel, you can also purchase it brand new dircetly from the hotel via their gift shop called the Flavours of Langham.

Well done Langham Group, you have provided and exceptional hotel, the best in the world we have seen so far..

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
149 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2010

The Langham Melbourne is a lovely hotel in a great location however the rooms are quite small and very "Laura Ashley". While I like traditional furnishings in this particular case it gave the hotel a cluttered, claustrophobic feel. The bathroom was very small and dingy. In particular the shower was very dark with no overhead lighting, however the hotel certainly isn't stingy in its offering of nice personal amenities. Entrance to reception is very grand and sets the scene of somewhere very special. Hotel location is great with easy access to Melbourne CBD across the Yarra walkbridges, and good eating and shopping along Southbank. Room service is very expensive, even by usual 5* hotel rates. Lunch in Melba's is good value with plenty of variety.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bsington, Manager at The Langham, Melbourne, responded to this review, September 17, 2010
Thank you for your comments. Our bathrooms are decorated with finest Italian marble and have bath, separate shower cubicle, vanity unit with heated mirror and WC, and of course as you mention, comes equipped with Langham's wonderful boxed bathroom amenities. We are currently improving the lighting in a project covering all bathrooms.

The room service menu is very competitively priced against our competitors in Melbourne and you can order from a very extensive menu including gluten free, low GI and vegetarian options. A full restaurant quality, 2 or 3 course meal can be ordered for the set price of $58 and $68 respectively.
We look forward to welcoming you back
Ben Sington
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
75 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2010

This is a gorgeous hotel. Large rooms and fantastic bathroom. Comfortable beds and pillows and amazing friendly helpful staff. The food is superb and the bar has the right atmosphere to lazily drink into the night. To top it off it is in a great location, I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to stay in Melbourne.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2010

Stayed here with 40 family members over the Easter long weekend. Got married too.

Staff were excellent. Efficient, courteous and very helpful. Even during the fire evacuation overnight! I think this is typical of an Asia-led hotel chain.

Rooms were good - clean and a little in the olde world classic style. Probably need an overhaul soon though. Hallways and some room furniture were starting to look a little tired. I stayed in a suite. It had a queen bed, small sitting area with 2 couches and coffee table. Small writing desk. Walk in bathroom with bath and separate shower. Shower stall was a bit small. It was a corner room so I had views of the Yarra and city/MCG. Didn't try the internet - but I don't think it was free :(

The other family members stayed in Classic rooms. They all had views and were very happy with the accomodation and room service. There were quite a few small kids under 5, Langham staff were great - especially as I'm sure the rooms were quite messy after the kids had been in there! I asked for specific arrangements (interconnecting rooms, same floor, cots etc) for the family groups - and this was taken care of - with no problems.

Had a group afternoon tea in Aria on the Friday. Was contacted the day before to confirm arrangements, and again on the day to make sure the room was set up the way I would like. It was great - there was so much food, we all overdosed on chocolate. And then Markus the head pastry chef sent extra cakes out for us.

Booked the Yarra Room for my function - it had great views of the Yarra and city. Function staff were excellent - very professional. Function menu was excellent - everyone was very happy with the quality and selection available. Chefs were very accomodating in tweaking dishes to our liking.

We also had a group breakfast on Sunday at Melba - the f&b manager personally made sure we were looked after, and set aside Aria for us. Sunday breakfast at the Langham is pretty busy and he didnt want us to get caught in the breakfast rush. Good selection of breakfast items.

Aria (afternoon tea, after ceremony drinks etc), Melba (brekky) and room service got a serious workout this weekend. No complaints.

All in all, lovely service and location.

With so many family members converging for 4 days - cabin fever and family niggles was a concern for me. But with the hotel location being so close and within 5-10min walk to the aquarium, casino, Bourke St, Fed Sq - everyone could look after themselves and have some time out without worrying about parking, baby seats, trains etc.

I cannot commend the staff enough for their faultless service. We were treated like valued guests as soon as we checked in. I look forward to returning to this hotel for future anniversaries.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
Crown Towers
Crown Towers
#3 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,417 reviews
Oaks On William
#21 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#9 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,083 reviews
Quay West Suites Melbourne
#6 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham, Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Melbourne

Address: 1 Southgate Ave, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#1 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#4 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#4 Green Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 387
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotel.de, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your The Langham, Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham, Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Langham, Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.