We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury at the Langham” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Langham, Melbourne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added The Langham, Melbourne to your Saves list
The Langham, Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Southgate Ave, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia (Southbank)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
East Yorks
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Luxury at the Langham”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2007

We stayed at the Langham Hotel in Melbourne for three nights from March 2nd 2007, as part of our Australian Tour. It was fabulous from start to finish. We were met on arrival by an efficient doorman, whisked up to reception and could only marvel at the luxury of the interior. Fountains, marble staircases and chandeliers. It is gorgeous.

The staff are all superb, especially the concierge who arranged our Harley Davidson tour of the city. Our room was large and very clean with a marble bathroom and was serviced twice a day. The breakfasts were the best I have ever tasted. The quality of the food and service was excellent and there was even a chocolate fountain! The views of the Melbourne riverfront from the dining room are marvellous.

We loved everything about Melbourne and the Langham made our stay an unforgettable experience.

  • Liked — The luxury and standard of service from everyone there
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,969 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,204
    512
    172
    43
    38
See reviews for
449
1,433
166
530
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (814)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
So Cal
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2007

We stayed here for 3 nights before taking a cruise of Australia and New Zealand. Fantastic location. Right on the river walk with lots of cafes and restaurants. Very friendly and helpful staff. This was the most comfortable hotel bed I have ever slept on! Biggest draw back was I didnt want to get out of it! Great hotel.

  • Liked — Location and comfy rooms
  • Disliked — it was perfect
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stuckintx
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2007

My mom and I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights. We had spent the earlier part of our Aussie adventure in boutique hotels and were ready for something more. The Langham was perfect. The smell (something fragrant they put in the fountain) when you walk in is just amazing! The check in went very smoothly, the bags were delivered to our room promptly and the room was great. The beds are so comfortable you can't help but sleep well.

We found the breakfast in the restaurant to be a bit pricey, but other than that, everything was really nice. The Yarra River is directly behind the hotel and is a great place for wandering, eating and shopping. It also offers easy access to the public rail system. Overall, this was a fabulous place to stay in a great city.

  • Liked — the room
  • Disliked — expensive food
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2007

We stay @ Langham around 15-20 times a year due to city functions etc. and after doing the rounds of all the other 5* offerings in Melbourne we have found our home @ Langham! The staff are extremely courteous and helpful and the breakfasts are amazing.

Langham run a great privilege program which now allows us upgrades (if available - we have had 3) and 6pm checkouts, which is great. We also get a suite upgrade voucher each year which you can use for up to 3 days!

Stayed February 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Langham, Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Melbourne

Address: 1 Southgate Ave, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#1 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#1 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#1 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#1 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 387
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, EasyToBook, Hotel.de and Tingo so you can book your The Langham, Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham, Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Langham, Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.