We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Langham, Melbourne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added The Langham, Melbourne to your Saves list
The Langham, Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Southgate Ave | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Malmo, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2010

We stayed at The Langham in December and it was really a great hotel. The rooms are nice, the staff very friendly and helpful.
We were travelling with our little daughter (one year then) and it was no problems to get a baby cot.
Very helpful with restaurant recommendations. Super location and the Spa was lovely.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,770 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,054
    477
    163
    40
    36
See reviews for
412
1,321
161
513
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (735)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2010

We had the pleasure of staying at The Langham Melbourne in June 2010 and without a doubt this was the best motel we have ever stayed at. From the service upon arrival with the conceierge, reception staff, room service & restaurant staff it was the best ever. They were all welcoming and nothing was a problem, service and comfort was a second to none. I would highly recommend The Langham Melbourne to anyone who wants a premium quality experience at a more than reasonable rate.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2010

This is a beautiful hotel and the service and staff are exceptional. I would highly recommend this hotel and look forward to returning in the near future.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2010

This hotel is simply the best hotel I have ever stayed in. Having to travel regularly for business in Australia this hotel has that something extra that lifts it above the competition. In every way I was impressed, right down to the smallest details in the room to the service ethos evident in every interaction with the staff. I will never stay in another hotel in Melbourne again! I have told my work colleagues to stay at the Langham and they have thanked me for the hint!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2010

This hotel looks like it should be screaming 5 stars from the outside but when you get into the hotel room it could pass as a 3 star? As you enter this beautiful building your eyes are greeted by the sound of water running from water fountain over marble, the ambience is perfect and is completely what you would expect from 5 star accommodation. As you go into the room you are greeted by a tired looking room which is in need of a bit of love, wallpaper which you can see the seams and lifting edges and carpet which needs to be replaced, even in the hallways. The Rooms are small the beds aren’t king sized beds they are 2 single beds (and single mattresses) stuck together with and overlay...???? 5 star??? nope I’ve been in many 5 star hotels and this definitely isn’t.. Unless it was given the rank when it first opened.. Another thing this hotel had which annoyed me was dry air-conditioning, i understand it’s difficult to have a large building an moisture but at the same time i hate ultra dry air conditioners, feels like you’re breathing in an airplane.

On the positive side the breakfast was fantastic, the staff are very well mannered and i had THE best sleep I’ve had in ages! But for the price tag it doesn’t weight up.. There are newer places in the city that are cheaper with better rooms.

Just like to point out, im always wary of feedback from people that give 5 Stars amazing reviews with only 1 contribution, i surely cant be the only person to have seen this and if these are genuine im sure my points would of been raised earlier!

If your'e going to charge such a high rate for a small room i would suggest you increase the rate a little more and include internet for free?

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2010

Fabulous well appointed hotel. Excellent location, close to restaraunts and top end stores. Reception staff cool but professional, all other staff incredibly warm, friendly and helpful. Shop around on the internet for a good rate, they are out there and well worth the effort. The breakfast was OK but unless it is part of your package it's probably not worth it. A nice stay but I wish front end staff would treat all guests equally no matter how lowly some guests seem. You really can't judge a book by it's cover!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2010

Recently spent two nights at the Langham and it turned out to be the best money we've ever spent on a hotel. Everything about it was just perfect, but I have to say the most perfect thing was the chocolate fountain for breakfast - genius idea. Would most certainly go back, stunning hotel, sophistated without being snobish, frienly without being too pretentious.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Langham, Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Melbourne

Address: 1 Southgate Ave | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#1 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#3 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 387
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Langham, Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham, Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Langham, Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.