We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not quite sure how its 5 stars unless you look at the lobby?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Langham, Melbourne

Save Saved
You added The Langham, Melbourne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Langham, Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Southgate Ave | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Club & Suite Discount
Ranked #1 of 170 hotels in Melbourne
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Not quite sure how its 5 stars unless you look at the lobby?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2010

This hotel looks like it should be screaming 5 stars from the outside but when you get into the hotel room it could pass as a 3 star? As you enter this beautiful building your eyes are greeted by the sound of water running from water fountain over marble, the ambience is perfect and is completely what you would expect from 5 star accommodation. As you go into the room you are greeted by a tired looking room which is in need of a bit of love, wallpaper which you can see the seams and lifting edges and carpet which needs to be replaced, even in the hallways. The Rooms are small the beds aren’t king sized beds they are 2 single beds (and single mattresses) stuck together with and overlay...???? 5 star??? nope I’ve been in many 5 star hotels and this definitely isn’t.. Unless it was given the rank when it first opened.. Another thing this hotel had which annoyed me was dry air-conditioning, i understand it’s difficult to have a large building an moisture but at the same time i hate ultra dry air conditioners, feels like you’re breathing in an airplane.

On the positive side the breakfast was fantastic, the staff are very well mannered and i had THE best sleep I’ve had in ages! But for the price tag it doesn’t weight up.. There are newer places in the city that are cheaper with better rooms.

Just like to point out, im always wary of feedback from people that give 5 Stars amazing reviews with only 1 contribution, i surely cant be the only person to have seen this and if these are genuine im sure my points would of been raised earlier!

If your'e going to charge such a high rate for a small room i would suggest you increase the rate a little more and include internet for free?

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,517 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,865
    437
    146
    39
    30
See reviews for
383
1193
152
463
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (648)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hobart
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2010

Fabulous well appointed hotel. Excellent location, close to restaraunts and top end stores. Reception staff cool but professional, all other staff incredibly warm, friendly and helpful. Shop around on the internet for a good rate, they are out there and well worth the effort. The breakfast was OK but unless it is part of your package it's probably not worth it. A nice stay but I wish front end staff would treat all guests equally no matter how lowly some guests seem. You really can't judge a book by it's cover!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2010

Recently spent two nights at the Langham and it turned out to be the best money we've ever spent on a hotel. Everything about it was just perfect, but I have to say the most perfect thing was the chocolate fountain for breakfast - genius idea. Would most certainly go back, stunning hotel, sophistated without being snobish, frienly without being too pretentious.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2010

High end class hotel in the perfect location along the Yarra River - walk to great restaurants, shopping and easy access to transportation. Beds are extremely comfortable, washroom beautiful with granite/marble and the rooms are classic in nature. Hotel staff could not be more helpful and go above and beyond to make your stay very enjoyable. Pool/spa setting is elegant as you look out over the skyline. Highly recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Melbourne. Ocean Road Tour is long but highly recommend as the sights are beautiful.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2010

I stayed there with my partner early June and this hotel was amazing. I did a lot of research amongst various websites and this hotel looked like the best for us.
Great location and fantastic rooms. Views form the rooms was ok, but not fantastic. Apart from that everything was great.
Rates can vary a lot from one site to another, just make sure you do your research before to get the best deal.
I recommend you to check JustCheapHotel.com and Wego.com to make sure you don't overpay.
Highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2010

My partner and I stayed at the Langham in May for a holiday. The Hotel was everything that previous reviews have covered - definitely 5 star! I was amazed with the foyer upon arrival and found the whole hotel rather special and elegant. My partner has an artificial leg and we did not want a disabled room per se but asked if they could find a small plastic chair for him to use in the shower during our stay. We arrived and they had gone to the trouble to locate a proper disabled shower chair for him and it was already in the room so we were blown away with their kindness. The location is fantastic as it is connected to the Southgate Centre which contains a number of shops and restaurants and bars and also a short walk away from the Casino and pedestrian bridges across the Yarra River to the City. Mind you we did not realise how to access the Southgate Centre internally from the hotel until the 2nd day - our fault as we neglected to read the info sheet that we were given at reception. Melbas was fantastic for breakfast but we were disappointed with the service on the night that we had dinner there. I raised this in my comments to the hotel when leaving and to their credit they said that they would ensure that this was addressed as a training issue. I did not use the Spa but it looked lovely. Overall we had a lovely stay and are looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2010

One of the best ways to find out what any organisation is about is to have a problem.
Ours was truly a small problem, when we arrived the room that was available for us was a Classic Double (2 Queen Beds in the lowest cost room), we booked a Classic King (1 King Bed in the lowest cost room). The desk staff explained that the hotel was fully booked and that he would find a King Bed for us. A few minutes later he came to us and advised that we had been upgraded to The Presidential Suite. He then took us up and showed us the around the suite, just like he would do if we had booked the suite. We were blown away.
The best room in the house, and no fuss, which made us feel comfortable.
The suite was amazing. What you see on the Langham Melbourne website for Presidential Suite is exactly the same as the real thing, they just don't need trick photography.
We enjoyed our stay very much, a great experience and one that our friends and family are envious of already.
This stay was our second time at the Langham, the first was the Classic King Room, and it was fantastic, that is what brought us back for this stay.
If you want a Hotel stay that is the in the style you see in the classic movies, you will love the Langham as much as we did, both times!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Langham, Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Melbourne

Address: 1 Southgate Ave | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
#1 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#1 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#1 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#1 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#1 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Melbourne 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your The Langham, Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham, Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Langham, Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.