We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, but overated” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Langham, Melbourne

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Orbitz.com Travelocity
and 11 more sites!
The Langham, Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Southgate Ave | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Club & Suite Discount
Ranked #2 of 172 hotels in Melbourne
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, but overated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2010 via mobile

Great location and nice rooms. But has the same uncomfortable feeling that everything will cost you money. I've never seen a 60dollar buffet breakfast or a 5 dollar charge for use of a credit card, when they inisist to use it as a deposit. If you like being robbed you'll enjoy it. These hotels need to change!!

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bsington, Managing Director at The Langham, Melbourne, responded to this review, April 22, 2010
We always encourage feedback and continually aspire to improve our guest experience when any physical or service issues are brought to our attention and we have written separately to the reviewer.

For information the cost of buffet breakfast is $39 pp not $60. If you book a breakfast inclusive rate with your room then the cost is just $30pp. This offers a substantial choice of items in a restaurant with views overlooking the river and we hope offers good value.

The Langham Melbourne charges a credit card merchant service fee of 1.5% inclusive of GST. Guests who choose to pay by other means such as cash or debit card are not charged the fee. Deposits paid for by credit card on advance bookings made through our website do not incur a fee as guests do not have a choice of payment methods.

Ben Sington
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,244 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,655
    396
    129
    36
    28
See reviews for
332
1071
141
410
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (555)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2010 via mobile

Stayed at the Langham for six nights. Very comfortable bed and room had great view of the water. Melbas buffet was excellent for $70/pp. Staff very friendly & helpful. Internet was very fast in room. TV was 42in plasma. Highly recommend AAA++++

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2010

Spent a lovely few days with my hubby for a short get away at the Langham Hotel.

It was a very nice hotel made more special by good freindly service. Aaron at the Aria
bar was sincely interested in how we were enjoying our stay. His welcoming service and
friendliest made what was special to our weekend. When you have such nice people to serve you life seems a better place.

The resturant Melba was lovely for breakfast. Lovely food efficent staff and a good selection of food. The view was nice and we felt very relaxed enjoying our time there.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2010

We always up grade to Club level. The service in the club lounge is wonderful and it feels like home away from home. The staff in the club lounge are very happy to help you in any way. The Corner river rooms are great and just that bit bigger. The Chaun Spar is a very calming and relaxing place and worth every penny.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2010

Beautiful Hotel with a very welcoming staff, entrance hall, staircase and water feature. Fabulous room with an equally fabulous outlook. Room and shower room very clean and all equipment required e.g. hairdryer, kettle etc. were in good working order. Beds a great size and very comfortable! I liked the bottle of water delivered to the room in the evening. Lovely pool and spa for a bit of relaxation. No 'scrimping' done with the robes and towels where there were plenty to be had.The staff had decorated the Hotel for Easter and it was very professionally done and looked amazing. Situated very close to the river, at the heart of many types of eating venues, shopping malls, tourist attractions and close to the Casino where the food is very good, reasonably priced, and there is a wonderful 'fire show' outside in the evening. Nicely placed Hotel for an evening stroll round the river. My favourite things would be the room for comfort and relaxation, and the delicious breakfasts for choice and temptation!! As I enjoyed it all very, very much I don't have a 'least' enjoyable thing. I'll just need to save up and make a return visit. Thank you all so much.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2010

I took my 2 boys for a special treat during the school holidays to catch up with family and friends and decided on the Langham when i saw it was number 1 on trip advisor. It really deserves the ranking and would recommend it highly.

The staff have a lovely confidence about them - that they would do anything for you. The hotel itself has a lovely enchanted feel, opulent without being over the top.

The room was comfortable (beds amazing), with flat screen TV, lovely work area with roomy bathroom. Yummy big white monogrammed towels and a gorgeous box of toiletries in the marble bathroom were a highlight. I love the turn down service at night - when the boys had jumped on the beds during the day, they were re-made and ready for bedtime. Only fault was no Ipod dock for recharging.

Service was fantastic and staff very friendly including in Melba's where we had breakfast each day. The buffet was one of the best - a fantastic array of fruits, pastries, breads, cereals,hot foods - but I have never seen a chocolate fondue fountain (including marshmallows, strawbs, donut balls) or jugs of fruit smoothies, or ice cream to go on your pancakes!

The fitness area and pool/spa was brilliant - the view is great over Flinders St station and Fed Sq. I love the way the glass doors can slide back giving you an open air feeling while being protected from the elements. Plenty of towels and fantastic change rooms with ample toiletries after your swim.

The Langham does the little things well and makes it a stand out from other 5 star establishments. The location for us was perfect. We will be back.

Note - it is the first hotel that I have seen that levy a surcharge (1.5%) for using your credit card - we paid by EFTPOS to avoid it.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2010

booked the Easter offer direct with the hotel which also included breakfast, arrived for breakfast at different times but had to queue for 10 minutes each day as everyone else must have been on the same deal. Breakfast quality was good and plenty of choice. Room very good, well appointed with seperate shower. Hotel corridors looked a little jaded and could do with decorating but the room was fine. Bed was excellent, great bedlinen and superb mattress topper. Also great selection of teas in the in room service.
Having stayed at a number of so called 5 star hotels in Australia this was probably as close as you can get. Location straight on the river was excellent and just a short walk across the bridge into the main shopping areas. All in all a good experience.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Langham, Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Melbourne

Also Known As:
The Langham, Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne Hotel
The Langham Melbourne
Address: 1 Southgate Ave | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#3 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Melbourne 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com and Otel so you can book your The Langham, Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Langham, Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Langham, Melbourne to your Saves list