We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Height of Luxury!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Langham, Melbourne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Langham, Melbourne to your Saves list
The Langham, Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Southgate Ave | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Club & Suite Discount
Ranked #1 of 170 Hotels in Melbourne
edinburgh
1 review
“Height of Luxury!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2010

Beautiful Hotel with a very welcoming staff, entrance hall, staircase and water feature. Fabulous room with an equally fabulous outlook. Room and shower room very clean and all equipment required e.g. hairdryer, kettle etc. were in good working order. Beds a great size and very comfortable! I liked the bottle of water delivered to the room in the evening. Lovely pool and spa for a bit of relaxation. No 'scrimping' done with the robes and towels where there were plenty to be had.The staff had decorated the Hotel for Easter and it was very professionally done and looked amazing. Situated very close to the river, at the heart of many types of eating venues, shopping malls, tourist attractions and close to the Casino where the food is very good, reasonably priced, and there is a wonderful 'fire show' outside in the evening. Nicely placed Hotel for an evening stroll round the river. My favourite things would be the room for comfort and relaxation, and the delicious breakfasts for choice and temptation!! As I enjoyed it all very, very much I don't have a 'least' enjoyable thing. I'll just need to save up and make a return visit. Thank you all so much.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,646 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,965
    453
    155
    40
    33
See reviews for
402
1,257
158
486
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (689)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2010

I took my 2 boys for a special treat during the school holidays to catch up with family and friends and decided on the Langham when i saw it was number 1 on trip advisor. It really deserves the ranking and would recommend it highly.

The staff have a lovely confidence about them - that they would do anything for you. The hotel itself has a lovely enchanted feel, opulent without being over the top.

The room was comfortable (beds amazing), with flat screen TV, lovely work area with roomy bathroom. Yummy big white monogrammed towels and a gorgeous box of toiletries in the marble bathroom were a highlight. I love the turn down service at night - when the boys had jumped on the beds during the day, they were re-made and ready for bedtime. Only fault was no Ipod dock for recharging.

Service was fantastic and staff very friendly including in Melba's where we had breakfast each day. The buffet was one of the best - a fantastic array of fruits, pastries, breads, cereals,hot foods - but I have never seen a chocolate fondue fountain (including marshmallows, strawbs, donut balls) or jugs of fruit smoothies, or ice cream to go on your pancakes!

The fitness area and pool/spa was brilliant - the view is great over Flinders St station and Fed Sq. I love the way the glass doors can slide back giving you an open air feeling while being protected from the elements. Plenty of towels and fantastic change rooms with ample toiletries after your swim.

The Langham does the little things well and makes it a stand out from other 5 star establishments. The location for us was perfect. We will be back.

Note - it is the first hotel that I have seen that levy a surcharge (1.5%) for using your credit card - we paid by EFTPOS to avoid it.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2010

booked the Easter offer direct with the hotel which also included breakfast, arrived for breakfast at different times but had to queue for 10 minutes each day as everyone else must have been on the same deal. Breakfast quality was good and plenty of choice. Room very good, well appointed with seperate shower. Hotel corridors looked a little jaded and could do with decorating but the room was fine. Bed was excellent, great bedlinen and superb mattress topper. Also great selection of teas in the in room service.
Having stayed at a number of so called 5 star hotels in Australia this was probably as close as you can get. Location straight on the river was excellent and just a short walk across the bridge into the main shopping areas. All in all a good experience.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2010

The service was excellent and exceeded expectations. All the staff were friendly and went out of there way to make sure we had a good stay.
the room was excellent (very clean, big tv well stocked minibar, nice bathroom, comfortable bed)
it is located in walking distance of Melbournes CBD
short distance to Flinders street station and Federation Square
located at South Bank; close to five star resturant boutiques, etc.
view of the Yarra River

The building itself is truely enchanting. Highly recommended!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heywood
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2010

As a teacher of VCE Studio Arts and Theatre Studies near the SA border, I need to 'come to town' to see exhibitions and performances. My husband is often busy on the land, so I solo travel on the Vline and then stay at the Langham - where the security and serenity reminds me of Nanna's Federation mansion. Everything I need is either in walking distance or catered by the Langham. I feel quite at home ... plus, as my husband said "rather pay extra to know you're safe"! I intend to stay at the Langham each semester for as long as I teach VCE.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba, Queensland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2010

I visited The Langham with a group of 110 people for the F1. Even with this large group, we got thru check in very quickly.

All the staff were always courtieous and most impotantly very friendly.
I'd highly recommend the buffet breakfast, one of the best I ever eaten at.

THE BEST PILLOWS YOU COULD EVER SLEEP ON!!!

  • Stayed March 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2010

The Langham is fantastic. My wife insists that we stay no where else and I agree. From the moment you arrive you are spoilt with good friendly customer service and attention that is focused entirely on you. They make you feel like you are the only person that matters. We stayed in a high floor corner room and the views were spectacular. The room itself was sensational and had everything in it you could imagine, including a very comfortable king size bed. The grand prix was on that weekend and the chocolate left next to the bed was in the shape of one of the racing cars - great touch. Location was terrific too as it was easy walking distance along the beautiful Yarra River for us to see the Carole King and James Taylor concert at Rod Laver Arena. In addition to the room we also enjoyed the pool and spa area (what a spa!) and Melba's for an incredibly good breakfast. You have to stay there - you owe it to yourself to experience this grand hotel and superior customer service. Nothing is a problem to them. The staff excel in what they do.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Langham, Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Melbourne

Address: 1 Southgate Ave | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#1 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#1 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#1 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 387
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Venere and Tingo so you can book your The Langham, Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham, Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Langham, Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.