We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Langham, Melbourne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Langham, Melbourne to your Saves list
The Langham, Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Southgate Ave | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Club & Suite Discount
Ranked #1 of 170 Hotels in Melbourne
Townsville, Australia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“A great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2010

This is a wonderful place to stay, central to everything and with wonderful views of a beautiful city.

The staff are extremely helpful, the food delightful and the facilities are first rate!

5 Star all the way

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,638 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,960
    451
    155
    40
    32
See reviews for
401
1,254
158
483
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (687)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2010

I enjoyed every bit of my stay at the Langham Hotel in Melbourne. I would highly recommend it to anyone and the location is fantastic.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton UK
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
95 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2010

Great food and super rooms. Idea location for city centre and cricket / tennis centre's. Loads of good local restaurants

Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2010

I have had the pleasure to stay at the Langham twice this year and would have to say that the experience both times was excellent. The service upon arrival was professional and welcoming as only the langham staff can be. The room with a river view was clean, tidy, stocked with top quality amenities and the bedding just superb! The location is central to all the main Melbourne attractions and easy access to most places from the front door. Our stay was just so romantic and we will return again and again. From check in to departure the service, stay and overall experience was luxury at its BEST!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2010

When an establishment makes a promise, there is an unspoken expectation that it is kept. Frequently however, promises are broken and amends never offered or made.

The Langham Hotel offers elegance and fine service and did not fall short on either. We chose to stay in the City on Christmas Eve to avoid family arguments and just enjoy the night together. I should also add that I am a freelance travel journalist and was anticipating writing a story on Christmas in the City. The Langham Hotel were completely unaware of this. I purchased my room on Wotif.com.au, paying the going rate.

We selected the Club room, which was an excellent rate for that time of year. The room was spacious, with a small lounge area. I was a little disappointed that we had to pay an additional $40 for a view, which was not mentioned on the site. This was the only negative. I have no doubt though that had I pushed it, it would have been dealt with, if the hotel was not full.

The Club floor is something well worth trying for a special occasion. The service was beyond excellent, with staff not only remembering us, but looking out for my special needs. I have gluten intolerance but was looked after with a special platter cooked by the chef. On learning I also had a painful facial nerve infection, which caused terrible pain when I ate some foods, our attendant brought us some comfort food, all without our asking.

The lobby was equally as lovely, with attentive and efficient staff. My only disappointment here was that on Christmas Eve, it wasn't very Chrismassy! A live performer (usually Friday and Saturday nights) would have added more atmosphere to the night.

Overall, we were delighted. Breakfast was fresh and lovely in the Club and as promised, came with an air of elegance. They kept their promises and apart from a couple of minor marketing points I think they could improve on, it is a worthy hotel for any business traveler, couple wanting to be pampered or international guest wanting a great location in our wonderful city.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2010

As soon as we arrived we were greeted with friendly staff and they assisted us with any queries we had promptly. We enjoyed our stay and the facilities in the hotel spoilt us rotten.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Tasmania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2010

In every place--reception, restaurant, room-service--we found the staff very friendly, always helpful, yet with that slight reserve that distinguished highly professional staff. The hotel entrance, lobby and mezzanine level have a striking decore, a subtle blend of oriental and Australian culture. Our room had a view of the river and the city-scape, very beautiful views at night when the tall buildings are lit-up.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Langham, Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Melbourne

Address: 1 Southgate Ave | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#1 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#1 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#1 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 387
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Despegar.com, Venere, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Langham, Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham, Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Langham, Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.