We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Langham, Melbourne

Save Saved
You added The Langham, Melbourne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Langham, Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Southgate Ave | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Club & Suite Discount
Ranked #1 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Mount Eliza, Victoria
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2009

The Langham Hotel is the most beautiful, relaxing and well appointed hotel I have ever had the pleasure of staying at. Every little detail is attended to and nothing is too much trouble to ensure you have a wonderful stay. The rooms are well appointed and the beds truly luxurious. My partner proposed and made this stay the most romantic weekend. We also had dinner and breakfast at the Melba Restaurant and I cannot recommend this highly enough. The food was divine, the staff amazing and unlike other buffet style restaurants the food never ran out. A truly amazing place to stay and relax.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,453 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,816
    429
    141
    39
    28
See reviews for
371
1155
150
455
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (625)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oundle, UK
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2009

We spent three days at the Langham Hotel and can thoroughly recommend it. Best of all were the views and the location - perfect for exploring Melbourne, and right in the centre of the buzzing Southgate area, with loads of good restaurants and bars right on your doorstep. The hotel was comfortable, and our executive rooms gave us access to the lounge on the 24th floor, which was very nice, with lovely breakfast, (best fresh fruit selection I think I have had anywhere) computers, tea and coffee and snacks all day, and early evening drinks. Our room was very comfortable with lovely views over the river and Flinders Station, and the staff attentive and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2009

I have eaten many times over the 20 plus years and i have never stayed until Sunday the 13. It was trully memorable and your staff are always glad to see us.
My favourites is Leane the cheif at the Melba.
I am in the service industry and i was very impressed with a lot of the little thing you did.

thank you thank you

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2009

I've stayed in many places in Melbourne, and have often been told that the Langham has a bit of a cult following (some people I know refuse to stay anywhere else!). This time, I decided to try it out.

There's no question that the Langham oozes class and charm. There's no hard-edged ubermodern (read: uncomfortable) design, yet it does not feel dated at all. Its Southbank location is very handy for all business engagements, and would suit holidaymakers as well.

The rooms are classic and comfortable, and the beds are out of this world! One of the best night's sleep I've had. The staff are wonderful and helpful. The breakfast buffet is well worth it, and has very classy and extensive options. You won't want to leave.

The Langham may well have won me over...

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mornington, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2009

My husband and I treated ourselves to a night in the Langham for a joint birthday celebration. We have stayed in several hotels in Melbourne and wanted something really special. We booked directly with the hotel, six weeks in advance. On arrival, we were very impressed with the opulent lobby, made all the more stunning with tasteful Christmas decorations. We were really looking forward to seeing our room.
Check-in was fast and efficient and we were given a room on a high floor as requested. However, when we arrived at our room, we were very disappointed to discover two single beds and an adjoining door to the next room, through which we could clearly hear our neighbours. This is not what we expected from a five star luxury hotel. We returned to reception to complain and were moved to a much more suitable king room on the 11th floor. This room was very nice and much more what we had in mind when we booked. The reason we felt disappointed was that we had booked a king room, they clearly had one available, yet they chose to attempt to fob us off with a twin, putting us in the uncomfortable position of having to complain. Surely it should be the policy of the hotel to give the best room available? For this reason, we would not recommend the Langham, which is a pity as it is a beautiful hotel in a great location.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bsington, Managing Director at The Langham, Melbourne, responded to this review, December 23, 2009
I would like to apologise for the inconvenience caused. Perhaps we did not have the bedroom request correctly noted. If provided with dates and a booking name then we can add a profile note to ensure that guests always receive their desired room type.
Ben Sington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2009

We have just returned from a five night stay at the Langham. After a family holiday in Melbourne a few years ago when our children were quite young, we returned to enjoy a holiday without children in tow and decided on a Southbank location. After reading TripAdvisor reviews, we booked the Langham.

We arrived with high expectations and we were never disappointed. Starting with a very friendly welcome at the doorstep, we rode the escalators through the beautiful foyer to an early check-in and an offer of a late check-out, which we took up. Despite not choosing a riverview room, we had glimpses of river to look at from room 1110. Everything was in perfect condition and order, with nice touches like the gorgeous little pink toiletries encased in the leather box in the bathroom and the daily delivery of bottles of water. Service was always warm and friendly.

The location of the hotel is perfect. The Langham offers direct access to Southgate and to the Promenade for shops and food, or a five minute walk will take you to the city for more shopping and eating or to catch trams, trains to other locations. The arts precint is also at your doorstep, great for visiting the theatres, or the Sunday markets under the Arts Centre or boarding the tourist bus outside the National Gallery of Victoria for a free hop-on, hop-off tour of the city.

We loved our stay in Melbourne and recommend the Langham for anyone who wants comfort and luxury in a great location.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2009

The Langham Hotel, Melbourne (Formerly the Sheridan Towers) is one of the top class hotels in Melbourne and possible the best value for money. The cost of the stay is clearly good value frm the moment you arrive at the hotel, with staff on hand at the entrance to handle your luggage this is where you begin to feel all your troubles float away. Checking into reception is quick and simple, a name and two words and you are checked in and if it is a first time stay the simple and friendly directions are easy to follow and will have you relaxing in your room in no time at all. Once you are in your room your every need is only a phone call away, with quick and efficient room service you needn't worry about even having to scratch yourself. The rooms, even at the most basic have what is probably two to three key highlights, the bed, the bath and the view. A room that host a bed roomy enough for five people and comfortable enough that even the princess wouldn't feel jagged rocks underneath, the bath is one of rare logical design, deep enough so that you may submerge your entire body into the warmth of the water and not have to twist yourself up like a contortionist. The view from the room is something to behold, with the hotel on the banks of the Yarra the view shows the Melbourne city skyline in a beauty I've never actually appreciated before. When you are finally ready to leave the luxuries of your room the Langham is in THE prime location of Melbourne 5 minutes walk from the Crown Casino, you can taking a drink at the pub, see a movie at the Gold class Village cinemas or simply indulge n some gaming pleasure. Even closer than Crown is the Melbourne CBD where you can experience all the nightlife the wonderful city has to offer. Whether your pleasure is sports, fine dining, clubbing or more adult desires it is all at your beacon call. Finally if you would rather stay in the best restaurant in town is just down the elevator at the Melba restaurant. While A La Carte is an option you would be insane to go past the buffet which caters for any desire. With stations serving a range of specialties such as sushi, Indian, stir-fry, pasta, roast, sea food, Asian cuisines and an impeccable desert bar all of your desires are met at once. My personal favourites would have to be the custom made naan bread, Peking duck and the chocolate fondue fountain. The Langham is by far the highest class and best value hotel of its kind in Melbourne but don’t trust me, you HAVE to try it yourself.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Langham, Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Melbourne

Address: 1 Southgate Ave | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#1 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#1 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
#1 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#1 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Melbourne 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your The Langham, Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham, Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Langham, Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.