We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything we expected and more!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Langham, Melbourne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Langham, Melbourne to your Saves list
The Langham, Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Southgate Ave, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% off room rate
Ranked #4 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
GreenLeadersSilver level
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Everything we expected and more!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2009

My husband and I were extremely happy with the service from the moment we arrived at the door, greeted by valet parking. The Langham has lovely decor and our room was roomy and elegant. The restaurant is a culinary delight. We always had fast and efficient service. It was a real pleasure staying in such a beautiful hotel and close proximity to Melbourne sites was great. We were able to walk to trams to visit all places of interest.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BoolarraBigk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,850 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Melbourne
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2009

Amazing stay, from the moment you enter you will be amazed, excellent service, friendly staff and buffets to die for, not to mention the massages and the incrediably soft beds. Who couldn't be happy with the option of a chocolate fountain at breakfast, you will be in heaven. For a night of luxury and relaxation you couldnt pick a better hotel. I will carry the memories of a great stay well in to the future and can't wait to stay again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChocolateLover87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2009

The stay was fantastic. Relaxing, made to feel special throughout the whole stay and the meal at the Melba was an experience of its own. Would stay there again without hesitation.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martyzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2009

The Langham is a well situated hotel on the South Bank of the Yarra. Check-in was prompt and friendly, room clean, bright and well decorated. The bathroom was very nice with a full-sized bath, raindrop shower and plenty of soaps, fluffy bath towels and robes, moisterisers and bits and pieces.
The room was reasonably large, and had a nice ivew. Inclusions: writing desk, flat screen TV, tea and coffee, plenty of hanging space, chais lounge, mini-bar and all the other extras such as iron and ironing board.
Breakfast was very nice (very busy on Sundays), with crispy bacon and lots of cereals, breads and cakes, as well as a chef to prepare omelettes and eggs the way you like. The one improvement I'd like to see would be diners being offered a pot of coffee rather than having to wait for refills from staff.
This hotel is walking distance from great shopping, the Casino and the train station and tram stops are also very close by.
Our 5-star room was very well priced through lastminute @ $395 including buffet breakfast, late checkout of 2 pm, valet parking, two hot chocolates and a cute little Langham bear as a momento.
Will definitely stay again when in town.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovingagoodholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2009

Beautiful, quiet hotel in perfect location for a week of shopping , sight seeing and theatre in Melbourne. Breakfast is excellent, restaurant offers several options in styles. Staff are helpful at front desk, doormen very polite and welcoming. Located close to some of the best of Melbournes eateries and bars(try the Bear Brass located within the complex) as well as an easy walk to the casino. Transport is all close by, walk across the bridge to the CBD. Rooms were immaculate and staff from house keeping very attentive to all requests. The Langham will be our choice for next stay in Melbourne.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jules838
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2009

I stayed at the Langham overnight with three friends for my birthday. We stayed in the Langham Club rooms, which entitles you to afternoon tea and pre-dinner drinks and hors d'oeuvres. From the moment we checked in until the moment we left we felt like royalty. The staff were perfect, afternoon tea was indulgent, the view from the Langham Club while having pre dinner drinks was magnificent and breakfast at Aria amazing. My friends have travelled all over the world and agreed that this is the finest place they have ever stayed. If you are going out in Southbank the location is perfect as there are fantastic restaurants and nightlife just downstairs. You would be hard pressed to find a more beautiful place to stay. If you want to spoil yourself, stay here!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MelbourneBonnie69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2009

As soon as we pulled up in the driveway the experience began. The doorman was very friendly and helpful, reception very welcoming and our room was terrific. Right down to the last detail and second we stayed in the hotel we had an amazing time. Highlights would definitely be the staff were all smiling and friendly, complementary bread and chocolates with dinner and the complementary water in car for the drive home. Can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank map210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#2 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,619 reviews
Crown Towers
#3 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,629 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#8 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 2,637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Central Business District
InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham, Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Melbourne

Address: 1 Southgate Ave, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#3 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#4 Green Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 387
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Amex, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your The Langham, Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham, Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing