We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All our expectations and more were met on our stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Langham, Melbourne

Save Saved
You added The Langham, Melbourne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Langham, Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Southgate Ave | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Club & Suite Discount
Ranked #1 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Melbourne
1 review
“All our expectations and more were met on our stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2009

It was such an enjoyable weekend. Our room was lovely and the complimentary services really topped off our stay. The staff and service were excellent. All meals were thoroughly enjoyed. Will definitely recommend to friends and return.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,492 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,842
    435
    146
    39
    30
See reviews for
375
1180
151
461
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (641)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2009

We had a very enjoyable stay at the Langham. I have stayed at many hotels around the world and Langham Melbourne is in my Top 5. I received an email 3 days before my stay and a phone call 24hours prior asking if we had any special needs. We found all staff to be helpful and genuinely cared about our welfare.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2009

Cannot speak highly enough of the professionalism, courtesy and friendliness of the service we received from every member of staff at The Langham during our recent conference. We received glowing feedback from our guests - all of whom are successful businessmen who travel the country and the globe and regularly stay in similar establishments. The Langham was a key component in making the launch of our latest vehicle one of the best we have undertaken.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
154 hotel reviews
Reviews in 120 cities Reviews in 120 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2009

We spent three nights here and would recommend this hotel. We paid the extra few dollars to ensure a river-view room and were pleased we had; we were on the 21 floor and had a great river and city view.

The bedroom was very comfortably furnished and housekeeping was excellent. The bed is one of the most comfortable I've experienced.

The Aria lounge is a nice place for a cocktail and we had to smile at the 'fire'.

Breakfast choice was first-class with plentiful choice for both continental and cooked, they even have a chocolate fountain! ( A small criticism - tea/coffee is served and we found it very difficult to catch waiter/waitresses eyes to get a refill.)

Staff are very customer focused and service was prompt, friendly and efficient.

The foyer of the hotel is impressive and all public rooms are very comfortable.

We would be very happy to return.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
International
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2009

Near distance to everywhere!
Gentle and friendly staff in reception.
Currenlty swimming pool is under maintenance.
We got free internet included in our package too!
Langham hk, Langham melbourne - both great!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2009

I stay at the Langham Melbourne regularly on business trips. Great rooms, great position, good gym and excellent staff. Without doubt, the most extensive and delicious room service menu of all the hotels I stay in. Oh... and the beds... divine.

It’s a pleasure to stay in a hotel where nothing seems too much trouble. I always look forward to coming back and rarely consider staying anyone else when I'm in Melbourne.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2009

The Langham's location in the heart of Melbourne, overlooking the Yarra river, would be hard for any hotel to beat. It is close to public transport, shopping, and the many amenities of the Southbank area.

We booked a two night package though the hotel's website which included valet parking and buffet breakfasts, and we paid a few dollars extra for a guaranteed river view. Our room offered all the facilities one expects of a 5 star hotel, along with glorious views of the city and river. The king size bed was very comfortable, although we found it impossible to regulate the air conditioning sufficiently low to enable a good nights sleep - a shame the window wouldn't open just a fraction.

We dined in the Melba restaurant one night, with a group of friends, and enjoyed the very extensive selection from the buffet (I believe there is also an a-la-carte menu). Similarly the breakfast buffet offers a wide choice of dishes, and very capable service by the smiling waiters.

All in all this was a very pleasant stay in a sumptuous hotel. A final comment is that we've stayed at the Langham a few times over the years, and the rooms will need refurbishment in the not too distant future - we could discern no changes since our last stay four years ago, and the furniture in our room was looking just a little bit scuffed.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Langham, Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Melbourne

Address: 1 Southgate Ave | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#1 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#1 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Melbourne 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your The Langham, Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham, Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Langham, Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.