We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, great location, and GREAT spa!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Langham, Melbourne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added The Langham, Melbourne to your Saves list
The Langham, Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Southgate Ave, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia (Southbank)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
UP TO 10% OFF. BOOK NOW!
Ranked #1 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
GreenLeadersSilver level
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great service, great location, and GREAT spa!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2009

I was a bit worried about the location because it's not in CBD but it's just across the river and really not far, so it was no problem after all. Now the hotel: First, the street entry lobby has a waterfall feature that is really very lovely adding a great ambience. We arrived quite early but were shown to our room no problem, a superior corner room with a view of the city and river. The room was nice if a bit old fashioned decor for my taste (unbelievably, no flat screen tv!). The heater was a bit weird by alternating hot and cold to manage the room temp. Marble bathroom was very nice. The spa is so great! There are separate men/women steam rooms and sauna which were going full steam and really heavenly. There is a nice indoor heated salt water pool and jacuzzi, too, covered with windows and overlooking the river and city . Come here to use the spa. What made Langham stand out to me, besides the spa, is the service. Really fantastic service.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,475
    580
    190
    53
    42
See reviews for
504
1,628
179
584
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (951)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2009

Great location. Friendly and Helpful staff. Rooms compact but had everything you would need. Had breakfast at Melba's Restuarant the food was hot and an excellent selection. Would recommend the Langham.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scarborough
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2009

everything was just superb.The best location in Melbourne.The views the service the building the rooms are all fantastic.Must try the restaurant!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robina, Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2009

My husband and I had a 4 night stay at The Langham recently and I cannot rave enough about it.
Naturally our hotel choice had been well-researched in advance on Tripadvisor, and once again, the reviews are accurate, thank-you fellow reviewers!
From our smooth and seemless check in, to our uneventful departure, we were totally happy with our stay.
Our room was on the 19th floor and had the most amazing views of the river and the city - worth the small amount $$ extra paid for the view.
Our bed was SO comfortable with the best pillows I've ever slept on!
I spent each afternoon ( after a busy day exploring) lazing on the chaise admiring the view out the window.
The bathroom too was well-appointed and the shower great.
We used the gym each morning ( 24hr access was a bonus) - well-equipped and TVs to watch whilst working out.
The highlight for me each morning was the sumptuous breakfasts.
My only complaint was the coffee served was bitter - luckily 30 seconds walk from the hotel was one of many great coffee shops for me to get my fix whilst watching the river and passers-by.
I will definitely stay at the Langham when next in town!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Langham for 2 nights. Right from the moment we stepped out of our car the service was A1. At all times the staff were courteous and accommodating. The room was fantastic and all the facilities and inclusions were of a high standard. Very convenient location at DSoutbank with easy walk across bridge and under Flinders St Station to the city. Most of all the bed was a "dream". We highly recommend The Langham and will return again.

Brian & Pam ACT

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2009

We were dining at your Melba Restaurant on Sunday night to celbrate our Parents "50th" Wedding Anniversary and just wanted to express what a fantastic and memorable night was had by all! The food, the winde, the ambiance and the service was impeccable. I also want to make mention of our waiter in particular a young man by the name of Joshua who looked after us all evening which contributed to the evening being a wonderful success particularly for our elderly parents so on behal of the "LAWSON" family Thank you for a most unforgettable and memorable occassion Regards, Meredith

  • Stayed April 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2009

My fiancee and I recently had the pleasure of staying with the Langham Hotel in Melbourne. From the moment we arrived, to the morning of our departure, our every comfort was anticipated and provided. The Valet Car parking was easy and professional. The front staff were attentive and welcoming. The room was immaculate - we stayed in a classic king room. The ceilings were soaringly high, and the furnishings, though plush, was not overstated. We both had a wonderfully restful sleep. This is a Hotel with understated elegance yet so obviously a member of the Leading Hotels in the World. Congratulations to the staff and management of The Langham Hotel. A definite article in the Melbourne's hospitality.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
Crown Towers
Crown Towers
#3 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,420 reviews
Oaks On William
#21 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#9 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,085 reviews
Quay West Suites Melbourne
#7 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham, Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Melbourne

Address: 1 Southgate Ave, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#1 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#1 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#4 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#4 Green Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 387
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your The Langham, Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham, Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Langham, Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.