We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific tennis” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Langham, Melbourne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added The Langham, Melbourne to your Saves list
The Langham, Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Southgate Ave | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Terrific tennis”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Staying at the Langham Melbourne and taking in the Australian Open was to be a quintessential choice but the hotel did not manage to "deuce" it's London sister. Ideally situated, fifteen love. Whilst very comfortable, the lack of attention to detail and a below par service level it's game, set and match to London!

Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,867 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,127
    494
    168
    42
    36
See reviews for
431
1,378
162
521
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (765)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Booked this beautiful hotel to suprise my best friend for her birthday and they upgraded my room FREE of charge :) The minute you pull up to Valet parking the attention to detail and service is magnificent. Felt so glamorous and the courtesy was overwhelming felt very special. Once inside, the decor was amazing absolutely breathtaking! Even whilst standing in line awaiting to check in concierge ensured I would be attended too. The room decor are French influenced and quite old style. I prefer modern usually, but this hotel changed my mind. The BEDS ARE INCREDIBLE and late check out is fantastic slept in like a baby. Breakfast from the Melba Restaurant was to die for and again room service was brilliant. This hotel should be Melbourne's NO.1 - If you are tossing between the Langham and the Crown Towers choose the Langham so much more beautiful and better value for money. An overnight stay I will never forget thanks so much xxx

Room Tip: Choose the corner suites large enough :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewsbury, England
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We arrived after an overnight flight at 8am, and were delighted to find our room was ready and available. The room was comfortable and well-appointed, with a large bathroom which had a full range of toiletries. The star point of this hotel was the attitude of the staff-every one went out of their way to be welcoming and helpful. The Sunday afternoon tea was delicious-it was difficult to resist the buffet of chocolate delights!
It is in a good position in Melbourne, being on the South Bank, a few minutes walk from Federation Square-also near the sporting venues in the city.

Room Tip: Choose one with a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Had a recent overnight here on a business trip. Excellent convenient location. Friendly, efficient staff. Good décor, furnishings and appointments. A genuinely enjoyable experience. As good as it gets for a business hotel.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Beautiful hotel with exception service. Everything needed is supplied in your room. Only small complaint would be breaky. The breakfast is quite expensive but has a fantastic variety of food, but like all buffets it wasn't hot enough. You can get eggs to order though. Lovely hotel would deffinately stay again.

  • Stayed January 2015
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed at the Langham to celebrate our 39th Anniversary. Three glorious nights. The location is fantastic and the way you are treated is second to none. Falling into their amazing beds each night was a dream in I myself. I want their pillows and bed!!!! Helpful staff,great breakfast, and wonderful amenities. I was lucky to have a Chuan spa.........awesome. We will definitely return. It's our favourite place to stay in Melbourne. Sue B

Room Tip: We loved the corner room. Roomy and bright.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I stayed at this beautiful hotel last week whilst being in Melbourne on business. After a long flight it was a pleasure to walk into this stunning hotel. The staff were fantastic from the moment I walked through the doors to the moment I sadly had to leave. The hotel has a intimate & calming atmosphere. The langham lounge is well worth the extra money. I loved the spa area roof terrace for sunbathing, the rooms immaculate with the most comfortable hotel bed I have ever slept in. There is actually nothing I did not love about this hotel. EVERY single staff member I came across were so friendly & could not be more helpful. Peter the head concierge is a wealth of knowledge in all things melbourne. I WILL be back to this amazing hotel & my new favorite city in Australia. The Langham will now be my hotel of choice worldwide. Finally the location of this hotel is spot on. Right on the vibrant south bank & short walk to CBD & tram.

Room Tip: View of the yarra. Also request a bath if you love a nice deep bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Langham, Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Melbourne

Address: 1 Southgate Ave | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#1 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#3 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 387
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Langham, Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham, Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Langham, Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.