We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent - a Lovely Hotel on the Yarra near Southgate Restaurants” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Langham, Melbourne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added The Langham, Melbourne to your Saves list
The Langham, Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Southgate Ave | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Newcastle
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent - a Lovely Hotel on the Yarra near Southgate Restaurants”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The Langham is close to lots of great restaurants, walking distance to both major art galleries ^ the theatre complex on the Yarra, and the Conference centre: a 10 minutes walk across the bridge brings you to a major shopping district. We could not have asked for a better location. We got upgraded to a river view room on the 15th floor. The room was lovely, the view terrific, I used the heated indoor pool - nice! - and the free sauna. The gym is a respectable size with decent equipment although I didn't use it myself. The Langham is an extremely good pick if you need to stay in that part of Melbourne!

Room Tip: The 15th floor river view room had a terrific view and was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,769 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,054
    476
    163
    40
    36
See reviews for
412
1,320
161
513
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (735)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Just leaving Melbourne and this beautiful hotel very well placed in the city for walking to city center and all the lanes . the staff is impeccable and the rooms are very nice. We had two corner rooms overlooking the Yarra river and the view was spectacular !!

Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns Region, Australia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Every few years we (mother and daughter) venture from the country to the big smoke. As a treat we stay at the Langham. It never fails to impress and we always leave feeling pampered. Its location is ideal. When we are tired of visiting museums and shopping, our clean room is an oasis with a fantastic view of the river and city. The service and staff from check in to check out is faultless. For this recent visit we encountered on check out an awesome Service Stylist Sumati who anticipated our needs and help every step of the way. Thank you to Langham for ensuring our stay is memorable. We will be back.

Room Tip: River view room. it is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This is an excellent five star hotel right on South Bank. Service and professionalism go with out saying and the rooms are some of the best.
We had drinks in the bar and as expected they are expensive but if you stay t establishments such as this you should expect it.
Breakfast was wonderfull with many options including a chef cooking eggs as requested.
They did however have difficulties with accounts particularly as we had special advantages with our Amax card and this took a little time to sort out.
Just a great hotel.

Room Tip: A room looking over the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmclaughlingrm, Guest Relations Manager at The Langham, Melbourne, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Thank you for leaving us your feedback on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us. We are glad that you were able to enjoy the Hotel and had a pleasant stay. We look forward to welcoming you again to The Langham Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeton, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed 3 nights in 3 separate Riverview rooms (party of 6 plus 1 bub). This was our 4th stay at the Langham - we just love it so much we keep returning. Service was excellent- once again. Rooms spotless. Turn down service is just so special.
Nothing is too much trouble.
The Melba once again filled our tummies and our hearts!

Stayed December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmclaughlingrm, Guest Relations Manager at The Langham, Melbourne, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Thank you for leaving us such a lovely note on the Trip Advisor following your recent 3 night visit. I am pleased to hear you had another pleasant visit. I am happy you enjoyed your guestroom and appreciated our branded turndown service and the service you received from our colleagues. We look forward as well to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Hill South, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Enjoyed a terrific evening in the city and stayed at this very comfortable hotel. The king size bed was exceptionally comforatable the linen was very sumptuous - made it hard to get our of bed next morning. Easy access from the freeway made arriving and departing the city pain free. We discovered that the parking under the hotel was the most economical for an overnight stay - valet parking for an overnight stay is $59.00 through the hotel and the overnight parking station was $48.00.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My husband and I spent a night at the Langham Melbourne last weekend and again we were not disappointed. From the well trained, attentive staff to the beautiful room with a river view and dinner at the Melba restaurant, the entire experience made for a memorable wedding anniversary celebration. The extra touches including the surprise delivery of a delicious slice of cake with happy anniversary written on it, to a personalised anniversary note with 2 equally delicious cupcakes at our table at the Melba restaurant are indicative of this establishment's excellent reputation and attention to detail. Always a pleasure to visit and looking forward to coming back again in the not too distant future.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for a river view room ... well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmclaughlingrm, Guest Relations Manager at The Langham, Melbourne, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at The Langham Melbourne. I am pleased you chose to stay with us to celebrate your Wedding Anniversary and that you both enjoyed so many aspects of the Hotel and am delighted to read your many positive comments. We will look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Langham, Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Melbourne

Address: 1 Southgate Ave | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#1 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#3 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 387
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Langham, Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham, Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Langham, Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.