We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Langham, Melbourne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added The Langham, Melbourne to your Saves list
The Langham, Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Southgate Ave | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Club & Suite Discount
Ranked #2 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A very good hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2009

We stayed at the Langham during January 2009. The hotel was very nice. The staff was very attentive, The breakfast was great. We enjoyed it every morning. If you have a chance include your breakfast with your room. The selection is very good, there are cook to order pancakes and omelets, lots of fruit and cereal. The room was a nice size, the bed was comfortable, the bathroom had a shower and tub, and everything was nicely adorned. Now for my problems with the hotel: 1) The laundry service was very expensive and my jeans were faded as having a button lost on my shorts. It was replaced, but no mention was made of this problem. Also the things we asked to have hand washed were not hand washed. 2) They charge quite a bit for internet service. I have no idea why places still charge for internet service in rooms.
On the whole I enjoyed my stay, and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,712 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,010
    466
    161
    40
    35
See reviews for
406
1,292
160
502
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (712)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2009

Look no further for a 5 Star Hotel to stay in Melbourne. Be sure to book a river view room at the very least.
I have stayed here with my wife many times over the past 4 years, eaten at Melbas Resturant countless times and have never had reason to complain about anything on any occasion.
Location perfect for all Melbourne has to offer.
Staff pleasant and attentive and rooms always impeccable.
A wonderful Hotel. Can't wait to stay at the Langham, London in the coming years.
Thanks again Hotel Langham.

  • Liked — Proximity to all Melbourne has to offer
  • Disliked — No free internet. WiFi should be free for guests at all 5 Star Hotels at the very least.
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2009

We stayed at the Langham for 3 nights in December which included Christmas Eve, Christmas day and boxing day. The hotel is amazing, very plush and what you'd expect for a top hotel such as the Langham....! Nothing is too much trouble for the staff and there's nice gestures such as a bottle of water brought to your room about 6pm and they'll ask if you want the bed making.....the spa is lovely too and the pool and decking area is very tranquil with views over the top of the Southbank. The decor is very classy and has a theme of "Alice in Wonderland", very well designed and very charming. Seriously cannot fault this hotel, our stay here was so enjoyable and it was nice to have enjoyed such class over the Christmas period. Easy walking distance to the Southbank and Yarra river with excellent restaurants nearby aswell. Its not cheap but well worth every penny if you get the opportunity, it will make your stay so much more enjoyable and we loved Melbourne!!!!!!

  • Liked — Class and elegance of the hotel and the service of the staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2008

I stayed in Langham for a total of 5 nights and was truly impressed with the location and quality of service that the hotel provides.
I love the location of this hotel - beautifully located on the Southbank. Everyday, i enjoy walking across the Yarra river to flinders' and the CBD area. There are many nice stylish eateries located near the hotel, and Crown Casino is just a short walk away.
All in all, I love my stay here.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2008

My wife and I stayed at the Langham, in October, the hotel was excellent rooms very comfortable, bathroom had an excellent shower. Very clean

Staff were brilliant nothing was too much trouble for them.

Hotel is ideally placed for eating out or walking, near to the river cruises and the trams

I would recommend it without reservation.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2008

The hotel was one of the best I have stayed, the staff very friendly, we needed to wear more upmarket clothes, but after a few days there it did not matter as we felt like royalty.

  • Liked — excellent staff
  • Disliked — the restaurant
  • Stayed December 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2008

I stayed here a couple of times during November 2008 for work. It's very conveniently situated for restaurants on the South Bank and is just across from the footbridge for Flinders St train station. The rooms are olde-world stylish as you'd expect with a Langham so if you're slightly old fashioned like me ;) you'll love it.

Opulent lobby and staircase give feeling of grandeur.

I didn't eat in the restaurant itself but the room service wasn't anywhere as good as e.g. the Lanham in Auckland and was only OK.

  • Liked — Olde-world grandeur
  • Disliked — Food was a bit of a dissapointment but it's so close to many eateries anyway
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Langham, Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Melbourne

Address: 1 Southgate Ave | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#1 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 387
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Venere, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Otel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Langham, Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham, Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Langham, Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.