We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic, elegant & stylish” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Langham, Melbourne

Save Saved
You added The Langham, Melbourne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Langham, Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Southgate Ave | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Club & Suite Discount
Ranked #1 of 172 hotels in Melbourne
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Classic, elegant & stylish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2009

Look no further for a 5 Star Hotel to stay in Melbourne. Be sure to book a river view room at the very least.
I have stayed here with my wife many times over the past 4 years, eaten at Melbas Resturant countless times and have never had reason to complain about anything on any occasion.
Location perfect for all Melbourne has to offer.
Staff pleasant and attentive and rooms always impeccable.
A wonderful Hotel. Can't wait to stay at the Langham, London in the coming years.
Thanks again Hotel Langham.

  • Liked — Proximity to all Melbourne has to offer
  • Disliked — No free internet. WiFi should be free for guests at all 5 Star Hotels at the very least.
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,419 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,789
    423
    140
    39
    28
See reviews for
366
1142
148
449
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (612)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2009

We stayed at the Langham for 3 nights in December which included Christmas Eve, Christmas day and boxing day. The hotel is amazing, very plush and what you'd expect for a top hotel such as the Langham....! Nothing is too much trouble for the staff and there's nice gestures such as a bottle of water brought to your room about 6pm and they'll ask if you want the bed making.....the spa is lovely too and the pool and decking area is very tranquil with views over the top of the Southbank. The decor is very classy and has a theme of "Alice in Wonderland", very well designed and very charming. Seriously cannot fault this hotel, our stay here was so enjoyable and it was nice to have enjoyed such class over the Christmas period. Easy walking distance to the Southbank and Yarra river with excellent restaurants nearby aswell. Its not cheap but well worth every penny if you get the opportunity, it will make your stay so much more enjoyable and we loved Melbourne!!!!!!

  • Liked — Class and elegance of the hotel and the service of the staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2008

I stayed in Langham for a total of 5 nights and was truly impressed with the location and quality of service that the hotel provides.
I love the location of this hotel - beautifully located on the Southbank. Everyday, i enjoy walking across the Yarra river to flinders' and the CBD area. There are many nice stylish eateries located near the hotel, and Crown Casino is just a short walk away.
All in all, I love my stay here.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2008

My wife and I stayed at the Langham, in October, the hotel was excellent rooms very comfortable, bathroom had an excellent shower. Very clean

Staff were brilliant nothing was too much trouble for them.

Hotel is ideally placed for eating out or walking, near to the river cruises and the trams

I would recommend it without reservation.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2008

The hotel was one of the best I have stayed, the staff very friendly, we needed to wear more upmarket clothes, but after a few days there it did not matter as we felt like royalty.

  • Liked — excellent staff
  • Disliked — the restaurant
  • Stayed December 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2008

I stayed here a couple of times during November 2008 for work. It's very conveniently situated for restaurants on the South Bank and is just across from the footbridge for Flinders St train station. The rooms are olde-world stylish as you'd expect with a Langham so if you're slightly old fashioned like me ;) you'll love it.

Opulent lobby and staircase give feeling of grandeur.

I didn't eat in the restaurant itself but the room service wasn't anywhere as good as e.g. the Lanham in Auckland and was only OK.

  • Liked — Olde-world grandeur
  • Disliked — Food was a bit of a dissapointment but it's so close to many eateries anyway
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2008

This was our second stop of our honeymoon and when we first entered the hotel, we felt a bit uncomfortable, as we were in shorts and t.shirts. However, the staff made us feel very welcome and we soon settled in. We had a room facing the river and the city, which was fantastic. I agree with other reviews, that the bed and bedding was so fab. The bathroom was gorgeous and the room was lovely.
The hotel itself was fantastic, with an amazing entrance and a lovely pool and spa, which has big open windows looking out onto the city.
We experienced a meal in the hotel, which was a buffet of various choices. It was nice but as expected, very expensive, however, you pay for what you get! We had breakfast every morning and it was just yummy, we highly recommend the pancakes.
The only crticism was that as honeymooners we expected a little gift. We had at least a card or a bottle of wine at the other hotels and the Langham was the most expensive hotel but didn't provide anything.
We would stop at this hotel again, as the location to the city was great with all modes of transport nearby.

  • Liked — The view from the room
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Langham, Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Melbourne

Address: 1 Southgate Ave | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#1 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#1 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#1 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Melbourne 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your The Langham, Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham, Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Langham, Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.