We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, brilliant staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Langham, Melbourne

Save Saved
You added The Langham, Melbourne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Langham, Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Southgate Ave | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Club & Suite Discount
Ranked #1 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Leeds
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel, brilliant staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2008

My wife and I stayed at the Langham, in October, the hotel was excellent rooms very comfortable, bathroom had an excellent shower. Very clean

Staff were brilliant nothing was too much trouble for them.

Hotel is ideally placed for eating out or walking, near to the river cruises and the trams

I would recommend it without reservation.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,511 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,860
    436
    146
    39
    30
See reviews for
381
1191
152
462
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (646)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2008

The hotel was one of the best I have stayed, the staff very friendly, we needed to wear more upmarket clothes, but after a few days there it did not matter as we felt like royalty.

  • Liked — excellent staff
  • Disliked — the restaurant
  • Stayed December 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2008

I stayed here a couple of times during November 2008 for work. It's very conveniently situated for restaurants on the South Bank and is just across from the footbridge for Flinders St train station. The rooms are olde-world stylish as you'd expect with a Langham so if you're slightly old fashioned like me ;) you'll love it.

Opulent lobby and staircase give feeling of grandeur.

I didn't eat in the restaurant itself but the room service wasn't anywhere as good as e.g. the Lanham in Auckland and was only OK.

  • Liked — Olde-world grandeur
  • Disliked — Food was a bit of a dissapointment but it's so close to many eateries anyway
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2008

This was our second stop of our honeymoon and when we first entered the hotel, we felt a bit uncomfortable, as we were in shorts and t.shirts. However, the staff made us feel very welcome and we soon settled in. We had a room facing the river and the city, which was fantastic. I agree with other reviews, that the bed and bedding was so fab. The bathroom was gorgeous and the room was lovely.
The hotel itself was fantastic, with an amazing entrance and a lovely pool and spa, which has big open windows looking out onto the city.
We experienced a meal in the hotel, which was a buffet of various choices. It was nice but as expected, very expensive, however, you pay for what you get! We had breakfast every morning and it was just yummy, we highly recommend the pancakes.
The only crticism was that as honeymooners we expected a little gift. We had at least a card or a bottle of wine at the other hotels and the Langham was the most expensive hotel but didn't provide anything.
We would stop at this hotel again, as the location to the city was great with all modes of transport nearby.

  • Liked — The view from the room
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2008

The Langham is an impressive looking hotel.

Its location is most convenient, with excellent access by tram and train or for pedestrians.

My bedroom was fine and up to standard.

However, the bathroom could do with some work.

This hotel is reasonable value for money although it should be noted that I was staying in the period between the Caulfield and Melbourne Cups, also known as the Spring Racing Carnival in Melbourne, which is a fairly busy time for hoteliers in this city of 3.7 million people.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Bathroom requires some attention
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2008

The Langham was our second hotel in Melbourne last week, we chose very carefully looking for a luxurious 5 star experience, which the Langham lived up to in parts but disappointed in others. Our room was a deluxe corner King, a slightly pricier option for increased space and light.
To get the negatives out first - we were on level 21 facing the neighbouring IBM building so no river view (very disappointing for the price). The room decor was older style, not to my more contemporary taste so adding to the disappointment with the lack of view.
The positives however - the bed was wonderful, comfortable with luxurious bedding - very top shelf quality - as were the towels, fantastic. The housekeeping, quantity of towels, turndown service & water etc, the bathroom had a double sink and a bath.
We loved the location, adjacent to the Southbank shopping & restaurant centre and riverside promenade which was great for eating and drinking out in Melbourne.
Checkin and Checkout were easy, the staff were friendly. I don't think we would stay at the Langham again as it didn't live up to our expectations.

  • Liked — Luxurious bed & bedding
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2008

Definately one of my favourite hotels in my home town, Melbourne.
Situated in one of my favourite precincts, Southbank, The Langham is superbly located for leisure travellers. Southbank is an entertainment precinct stretching along the south bank of the Yarra River featuring many fine dining options as well as more casual cafes, shopping, the massive Crown Casino complex and more... with a buzzing atmosphere especially at night. Location is also fine for business travellers also, short walk or tram ride into the CBD.
The rooms are slightly dated, but good enough with great views over the yarra River and city skyline if you book the river view rooms which are slightly more expensive but worth while.

Comfortable bed.

I love the pool and the spa. It's quite a large s spa and it's fun to relax in looking out at the great view of the glittering skyline at night!

We generally eat out at Southbank when there, but for breakfast the hotel restaurant was pretty good in my opinion.

I've never been dissappointed with the Langham and will continue to go back in the future.

  • Liked — Great Location and the views, the pool and spa were good also!
  • Disliked — Not alot.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Langham, Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Melbourne

Address: 1 Southgate Ave | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#1 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#1 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#1 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Melbourne 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your The Langham, Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham, Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Langham, Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.