We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Langham, Melbourne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Langham, Melbourne to your Saves list
The Langham, Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Southgate Ave, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia (Southbank)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
UP TO 10% OFF. BOOK NOW!
Ranked #1 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
GreenLeadersSilver level
West Midlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Loved the breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2008

This was our second stop of our honeymoon and when we first entered the hotel, we felt a bit uncomfortable, as we were in shorts and t.shirts. However, the staff made us feel very welcome and we soon settled in. We had a room facing the river and the city, which was fantastic. I agree with other reviews, that the bed and bedding was so fab. The bathroom was gorgeous and the room was lovely.
The hotel itself was fantastic, with an amazing entrance and a lovely pool and spa, which has big open windows looking out onto the city.
We experienced a meal in the hotel, which was a buffet of various choices. It was nice but as expected, very expensive, however, you pay for what you get! We had breakfast every morning and it was just yummy, we highly recommend the pancakes.
The only crticism was that as honeymooners we expected a little gift. We had at least a card or a bottle of wine at the other hotels and the Langham was the most expensive hotel but didn't provide anything.
We would stop at this hotel again, as the location to the city was great with all modes of transport nearby.

  • Liked — The view from the room
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,528
    601
    192
    56
    44
See reviews for
519
1,666
181
600
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (975)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2008

The Langham is an impressive looking hotel.

Its location is most convenient, with excellent access by tram and train or for pedestrians.

My bedroom was fine and up to standard.

However, the bathroom could do with some work.

This hotel is reasonable value for money although it should be noted that I was staying in the period between the Caulfield and Melbourne Cups, also known as the Spring Racing Carnival in Melbourne, which is a fairly busy time for hoteliers in this city of 3.7 million people.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Bathroom requires some attention
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
79 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2008

The Langham was our second hotel in Melbourne last week, we chose very carefully looking for a luxurious 5 star experience, which the Langham lived up to in parts but disappointed in others. Our room was a deluxe corner King, a slightly pricier option for increased space and light.
To get the negatives out first - we were on level 21 facing the neighbouring IBM building so no river view (very disappointing for the price). The room decor was older style, not to my more contemporary taste so adding to the disappointment with the lack of view.
The positives however - the bed was wonderful, comfortable with luxurious bedding - very top shelf quality - as were the towels, fantastic. The housekeeping, quantity of towels, turndown service & water etc, the bathroom had a double sink and a bath.
We loved the location, adjacent to the Southbank shopping & restaurant centre and riverside promenade which was great for eating and drinking out in Melbourne.
Checkin and Checkout were easy, the staff were friendly. I don't think we would stay at the Langham again as it didn't live up to our expectations.

  • Liked — Luxurious bed & bedding
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2008

Definately one of my favourite hotels in my home town, Melbourne.
Situated in one of my favourite precincts, Southbank, The Langham is superbly located for leisure travellers. Southbank is an entertainment precinct stretching along the south bank of the Yarra River featuring many fine dining options as well as more casual cafes, shopping, the massive Crown Casino complex and more... with a buzzing atmosphere especially at night. Location is also fine for business travellers also, short walk or tram ride into the CBD.
The rooms are slightly dated, but good enough with great views over the yarra River and city skyline if you book the river view rooms which are slightly more expensive but worth while.

Comfortable bed.

I love the pool and the spa. It's quite a large s spa and it's fun to relax in looking out at the great view of the glittering skyline at night!

We generally eat out at Southbank when there, but for breakfast the hotel restaurant was pretty good in my opinion.

I've never been dissappointed with the Langham and will continue to go back in the future.

  • Liked — Great Location and the views, the pool and spa were good also!
  • Disliked — Not alot.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guimarães
Level Contributor
140 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2008

Just returned from a visit to Melbourne (nice city!!!).
Loved the hotel, the personel was just the very best you can expect, anywhere else in the globe, friendly and warm... The facilities -5 star...
Mário Castro

  • Liked — All
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2008

What a lovely elegant hotel the Langham is. Full of old world charm which I hope never changes. The marble bathroom with its multitude of mirrors, the winged armchair and footstool, and the crisp cotton bedlinen added to the feeling of luxury. It was a lovely spacious room with a grand view of the river and city. The location was ideal with just a 10 minute walk over the river into the city, and all along the Promenade were a plethora of restaurants and cafes. The room was immaculately clean, with the staff being friendly, helpful and fun. Having wrenched my spine prior to arrival, it was helpful having a massage therapist insitu at the Spa.

I would love to stay at this charming hotel again.

  • Liked — Central location and it's cleanliness
  • Disliked — No in-room plates or knives with which to eat cheese & crackers I purchased
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southbank
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2008

The Langham Hotel which includes the Chuan Spa is without a doubt the very best of the best in Melboune.
I have stayed here for little "treats" for myself, and have been overwhelmed by the service and staff. I live in Melbourne, you see.
The Club Rooms are worthwhile for the excellent complimentary afternoon teas, evening cocktail service and breakfast with a choice of resaturants. Pay the extra and just enjoy. No need to ever leave the Hotel.
Immaculately clean rooms, fully equipped and Oh so friendly and helpful staff.
Ladies - the Spa is worth every cent. Magnificent massages, surroundings, staff and sooooo relaxing. Worth every cent. The Hot Stone Massage is sublime. All the "girls" are superb, softly spoken and excellent at thier jobs. The "Snail shower" - WOW.
I keep returning and feel special even if for just a night or two and will continue to sing it's praises. You are made to feel special and you really do relax! Ladies avail yourselves of their services, you won't regret it. Choose any one that suits you - go on.
I also treat myself to a monthly Hot Stone Massage and leave myself a full day to enjoy it's benefits.
I can't speak highly enough about this Hotel. First Class all the way.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
Crown Towers
Crown Towers
#2 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,452 reviews
Oaks On William
#24 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#3 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,317 reviews
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#12 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 2,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham, Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Melbourne

Address: 1 Southgate Ave, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#1 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#1 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#4 Green Hotel in Melbourne
#4 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 387
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your The Langham, Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham, Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Langham, Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.