We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely aspects, not quite perfection” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Langham, Melbourne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Langham, Melbourne to your Saves list
The Langham, Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Southgate Ave | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Lovely aspects, not quite perfection”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2008

The Langham was our second hotel in Melbourne last week, we chose very carefully looking for a luxurious 5 star experience, which the Langham lived up to in parts but disappointed in others. Our room was a deluxe corner King, a slightly pricier option for increased space and light.
To get the negatives out first - we were on level 21 facing the neighbouring IBM building so no river view (very disappointing for the price). The room decor was older style, not to my more contemporary taste so adding to the disappointment with the lack of view.
The positives however - the bed was wonderful, comfortable with luxurious bedding - very top shelf quality - as were the towels, fantastic. The housekeeping, quantity of towels, turndown service & water etc, the bathroom had a double sink and a bath.
We loved the location, adjacent to the Southbank shopping & restaurant centre and riverside promenade which was great for eating and drinking out in Melbourne.
Checkin and Checkout were easy, the staff were friendly. I don't think we would stay at the Langham again as it didn't live up to our expectations.

  • Liked — Luxurious bed & bedding
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,780 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,062
    478
    163
    41
    36
See reviews for
414
1,328
161
513
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (737)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2008

Definately one of my favourite hotels in my home town, Melbourne.
Situated in one of my favourite precincts, Southbank, The Langham is superbly located for leisure travellers. Southbank is an entertainment precinct stretching along the south bank of the Yarra River featuring many fine dining options as well as more casual cafes, shopping, the massive Crown Casino complex and more... with a buzzing atmosphere especially at night. Location is also fine for business travellers also, short walk or tram ride into the CBD.
The rooms are slightly dated, but good enough with great views over the yarra River and city skyline if you book the river view rooms which are slightly more expensive but worth while.

Comfortable bed.

I love the pool and the spa. It's quite a large s spa and it's fun to relax in looking out at the great view of the glittering skyline at night!

We generally eat out at Southbank when there, but for breakfast the hotel restaurant was pretty good in my opinion.

I've never been dissappointed with the Langham and will continue to go back in the future.

  • Liked — Great Location and the views, the pool and spa were good also!
  • Disliked — Not alot.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guimarães
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2008

Just returned from a visit to Melbourne (nice city!!!).
Loved the hotel, the personel was just the very best you can expect, anywhere else in the globe, friendly and warm... The facilities -5 star...
Mário Castro

  • Liked — All
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2008

What a lovely elegant hotel the Langham is. Full of old world charm which I hope never changes. The marble bathroom with its multitude of mirrors, the winged armchair and footstool, and the crisp cotton bedlinen added to the feeling of luxury. It was a lovely spacious room with a grand view of the river and city. The location was ideal with just a 10 minute walk over the river into the city, and all along the Promenade were a plethora of restaurants and cafes. The room was immaculately clean, with the staff being friendly, helpful and fun. Having wrenched my spine prior to arrival, it was helpful having a massage therapist insitu at the Spa.

I would love to stay at this charming hotel again.

  • Liked — Central location and it's cleanliness
  • Disliked — No in-room plates or knives with which to eat cheese & crackers I purchased
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southbank
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2008

The Langham Hotel which includes the Chuan Spa is without a doubt the very best of the best in Melboune.
I have stayed here for little "treats" for myself, and have been overwhelmed by the service and staff. I live in Melbourne, you see.
The Club Rooms are worthwhile for the excellent complimentary afternoon teas, evening cocktail service and breakfast with a choice of resaturants. Pay the extra and just enjoy. No need to ever leave the Hotel.
Immaculately clean rooms, fully equipped and Oh so friendly and helpful staff.
Ladies - the Spa is worth every cent. Magnificent massages, surroundings, staff and sooooo relaxing. Worth every cent. The Hot Stone Massage is sublime. All the "girls" are superb, softly spoken and excellent at thier jobs. The "Snail shower" - WOW.
I keep returning and feel special even if for just a night or two and will continue to sing it's praises. You are made to feel special and you really do relax! Ladies avail yourselves of their services, you won't regret it. Choose any one that suits you - go on.
I also treat myself to a monthly Hot Stone Massage and leave myself a full day to enjoy it's benefits.
I can't speak highly enough about this Hotel. First Class all the way.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2008

I stayed at the Langham in a twin room with my sister who was in Melbourne on business. I opted for this hotel as I love luxury, having worked in the luxury hotel business for several years. We booked a package which included breakfast, valet parking and late check-out. The personnel were great, especially the concierge. The room was average. For the price, the little details were not as expected - wallpaper peeling from the cornices, a sweet wrapper beside the television and a tear in upholstery on the armchair. The breakfast was great, however tea bags just didn't do justice to the five star experience. For the price, I believe an update is in order. Lovely sleep in a great bed, quiet location.

  • Liked — Location, view, beds
  • Disliked — Rooms needing updating
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2008

Stayed at the Langham for 2 nights after flying in from London. The staff were very professional and helpful and the rooms were of a good size. The rooms felt slightly dated though. The Langham is a good 5 star hotel but the Westin Melbourne is better.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — Room was slightly dated
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Langham, Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Melbourne

Address: 1 Southgate Ave | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#1 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#3 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 387
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Langham, Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham, Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Langham, Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.