We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVED the Langham” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Langham, Melbourne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Langham, Melbourne to your Saves list
The Langham, Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Southgate Ave | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“LOVED the Langham”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2008

Recently stayed at the Langham for three nights, four days while enjoying a long weekend in Melbourne. Originally choose the hotel for the Chuan Day Spa but soon realised that it was perfect for our girls weekend!! We arrived at 6am on Fri morning to drop our bags off and asked if there were any free rooms so we could sleep - yes (at NO charge)!! The rooms were large, beds very comfortable and bathrooms clean and spacious. We were very impressed with the staff - the concierge was very helpful and Jessica at the Spa was brilliant. If you need some good restaurants try the Italian one (upstairs on the 1st floor of shopping centre next door) and Cervo (near Crown Casino shopping arcade). Will definately book the Langham again (try ringing up direct as 1/3 price as compared to what quoted on internet websites!!)

  • Liked — Chuan Day Spa and location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,781 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,062
    478
    163
    42
    36
See reviews for
415
1,328
161
513
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (738)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Queensland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2008

A pleasant stay at a generally good hotel
Location: right on the Yarra although you have to pay to guarantee a view; close to restaurants, the casino etc. About 15 min walk (or less) to the CBD.
Welcome: A beautifully attired 'older' gentleman who makes it a pleasure to arrive at the Langham
Check in: Professional
The room: A bit dated but very clean: Best feature - the bed, very comfortable; Worst feature - the OLD TV. Internet $10 per hour or $30 per day. A few things like alarm clock and lamps showing wear and tear.
Room service: expensive but good food, delivered quickly

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — The TV
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2008

Outstanding service all round. The staff were friendly and could not have been more helpful. The Club lounge is worth paying for not just for the food and service, but also the convivial atmosphere - the staff just seemed to have the right touch of engaging conversation without being overbearing.

The room I was allocated was spotlessly clean and completely isolated from external noise. The views over the Yarra were spectacular.

However, what is most impressive is the service. It knocks the Four Seasons chain into a cocked hat.

I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone.

  • Liked — outstanding service - it shows the Four Seasons how to do it.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2008

My partner and I chose to stay at the Langam overnight and feel that we got a good deal. We got our accommodation, valet parking, 2 glasses of champagne and buffet breakfast for $330.
The service was fantastic and all the staff were very helpful. We received 2 free bottles of water in the room and then another bottle waiting in our car, just a nice little touch.
The surroundings are very grand with alot of marble and a very spectacular staircase as you walk into the foyer. The rooms are a little dated but have great views of the city and the beds/pillows were very comfortable.
The buffet breakfast is beautiful and probably the best I have had in Melbourne. The range is huge and they have cooking stations with different things being cooked fresh for you. The pancakes were my favourite with fresh berries added.
They also offer a 12 noon checkout which is great so we didnt have to rush to leave.
All in all we enjoyed our stay at the langham and would stay there again.

  • Liked — Location, Breakfast and Service
  • Disliked — Rooms a bit dated
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2008

Stayed there for 3 days on Business during July. I stayed here years ago when the Sheraton owned the hotel, they check in service was pretty average as they didnt really make you feel welcome, that was probably the only negative aspect. The restaurant was great and breakfast was world class, big gym and great day spa. Whilst i was there i got a 1 hour massage which was perfect, room was big and i liked the high ceilings, its right in the middle of southbank which is 5 mins walk to the casino. Try to book on wotif.com as i got a $199 per night deal which is about 40% of the price of what is on offer via there own website. The bar is good too, during happy hour they brought us free nuts and finger food. I would also recommend the Westin Hotel in Melbourne too but its usually $300-$400 per night.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2008

My family and myself spent a wonderful weekend at the Langham when we went to see 'The Phantom of the Opera 'at the theatre.From the moment we arrived in the beautiful lobby all decorated with the magical XMAS TREE and the lights adorning the fountains we were all made to feel comfortable. We stayed in the CLUB LOUNGE rooms and I would definately recommend this to fellow luxury lovers. The Melba Restuarant great , the service was impeccable and the views were amazing.... The three rooms we had for our stay all had different views over Melbourne. LOCATION is without a doubt one of the delights of staying at the Langham we couldn' t have asked for anything better. I would definately stay at the Langham again we had a fantastic weekend and the staff were helpful and friendly. Rooms were cosy and comfortable , we felt we were staying in a Luxury Boutique Intimate Hotel not a Five Star Snobby Pretentious Show Palace . Loved the Langham......

Stayed December 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2008

i have just spent the night at the langham for my husbands 70th birthday,i booked whoe;s been sleeping in my bed package with an upgrade to king river room, breakfast was inluded, we also eat at the melba evening buffet. i cannot fault anything from book in to departure, the staff were friendly and helpful without being overbearing, the room was nicely arranged large bathroom with shower and bath double sinks, fantastic bed best nights sleep. and the food on both occasions was great, I would go back any time.

  • Liked — the comfort and luxury
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Langham, Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Melbourne

Address: 1 Southgate Ave | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#1 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#3 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 387
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Langham, Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham, Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Langham, Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.