We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Langham, Melbourne

Save Saved
You added The Langham, Melbourne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Langham, Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Southgate Ave | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Club & Suite Discount
Ranked #1 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Napier, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Loved it!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Everything about this hotel is outstanding. The location, the service, the rooms and the food. OMG the beds are fantastic!! I could not fault anything. From walking in through the front door and being greeted by a number of staff before you even got to reception to checking out with them all saying come back soon, the stay was a great experience. The bathroom had the most amazing goodies. The bed was turned down every night and fresh towels and bottled water left. I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmclaughlingrm, Guest Relations Manager at The Langham, Melbourne, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post such a lovely review on Trip Advisor, we certainly appreciate it. I am delighted you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay with us and appreciated the warmth and friendlinesss of our colleagues during your visit. We hope to welcome you back to The Langham Melbourne in the future for another memorable visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,565 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,900
    445
    150
    39
    31
See reviews for
393
1216
153
474
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (663)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

This very well appointed Hotel is ideally located in the exciting Southbank area of town, next to the arts and theatre precinct. We have stayed here from time to time and cannot fault the service, the available facilities, the competent, helpful staff and the views from our River View room. Our room was spacious with excellent bedding and all comforts including reading lights over the bed and well stocked mini bar. High quality restaurants ,bars and room service are first class. A visit (or two) to the 'Chuan Spa' is a must !
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: suggest you book a 'river view' room to take in the activities on and around the Yarra River...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmclaughlingrm, General Manager at The Langham, Melbourne, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay. We are pleased you appreciate the location of the hotel situated within the vibrant Southbank precinct and the close proximity to the CBD. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your spacious guestroom with the sweeping views of the Yarra River and City, the furnishings as well as our Langham Blissful Bed.
We agree that a stay is not complete without at least one visit to our luxurious haven, The Chuan Spa. always the ideal location to refresh the body and mind. Thank you for your recommendation we appreciate this and look forward to welcoming you back to The Langham Melbourne in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

I'd heard the Langham was a lovely hotel but was nonetheless surprised by just how wonderful it was.
This is not for the Versace set, nor the minimalists. It is a beautifully appointed, elegantly decorated hotel that does not draw attention to itself, but instead gives. I felt soothed by the decor and cared for by staff. Well done.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mehul D, Manager at The Langham, Melbourne, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Thank you for writing us such a gracious note. It was a great pleasure to look after you and your guest. I am pleased to learn that you were able to experience the uniqueness in our hotel features and that is what Langham as a brand strives for. I am certain you will come across similar elegance in all our Langham properties. Our Langham team at Melbourne looks forward to welcoming you again for your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

How long did I wait to get here? It was so lovely. You will be very satisfied to stay here as well.

I had a "Club room package" with afternoon tea, evening drink/snack and the breakfast included and stayed on the 21st floor. Fantastic view. They catered well for special meals such as vegan, gluten-free etc. We were very happy with quality, service, food and all. I just enjoyed the hotel life and did not have to go anywhere else.

Everything was just perfect......

Room Tip: Higher floor but avoid the room in front of the club lounge
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mehul D, Manager at The Langham, Melbourne, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Thank you and we really appreciate your post on trip advisor. I am delighted to read that we were able to cater all your dietary requirements in the club lounge and you had the pleasure to take in the panoramic Melbourne city views that we have to offer. On behalf of my entire team at the Langham, Melbourne I look forward in welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

What is not to love at the Langham Melbourne! The staff are so very helpful even to the point of housekeeping sending me a box of their great hair products because I loved them. A trip to the Spa is a must, but don't expect to feel like hitting the town after because you are just so relaxed. So order room service! Good choice and well presented. Breakfast at the Melba is fantastic and you are spoiled for choice, try the chocolate or m'n'm filled nan bread, different probably bad for you but heck it's a long weekend, enjoy. Try the afternoon tea I come back for this with my daughters at least once a year, again the service is great and the staff so friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room looking over the river on the higher floors for spectacular views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

I recently stayed at The Langham in Melbourne. From the time I checked in and checked out, the experience was truly wonderful. The staff were always helpful and always had a smile on their faces! I stayed in a grand classic room. The room was always clean with lots of great goodies, in the bathroom. It was handy to have the room safe and umbrella. The bed was turned down at night; it was handy to have fresh towels given at night and some yummy chocolate. I loved the pool and spa, which was very relaxing! The food at breakfast and dinner was beautiful and I loved the buffet, which is unlike any other buffet I had eaten!
I hope to visit The Langham in Melbourne again, in the not too distant future. I had the best time and I will always remember this trip!

Room Tip: Rooms away from the lift are much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mehul D, Manager at The Langham, Melbourne, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Thank you for leaving us such a kind post on trip advisor. I am delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed your recent stay and have the opinion that we are the best hotel that you have stayed at. Our housekeeping and restaurant teams are quiet humbled with your kind feedback about them. We certainly look forward for your next visit and are encouraged to make it another good one for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

I stayed at the Langham for one night with my best friend, it was a pleasant night. The room was clean and tidy, it has a traditional vibe. I had no complaints up until it was time to check out. I had made the booking online via webjet and supplied payment details to the website for the discounted price. However, upon checkout the staff asked me for my credit card and almost deducted the full amount of the room fees (not the discounted price I had booked online). Ultimately, there was a lot of confusion and I was appalled that the staff does not know how to handle online bookings. She did continue to use the credit card for the payment. It was on my mothers card so I still dont know if there has been a double payment. Frustrating.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Langham, Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Melbourne

Address: 1 Southgate Ave | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#1 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#1 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#1 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Melbourne 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Expedia, Odigeo, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Otel and Venere so you can book your The Langham, Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham, Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Langham, Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.