We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old fashioned service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Langham, Melbourne

Save Saved
You added The Langham, Melbourne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Langham, Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Southgate Ave | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Club & Suite Discount
Ranked #1 of 172 hotels in Melbourne
Leeds, UK
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Old fashioned service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Spousey and I stayed here for 5 nights after Hong Kong and Sydney on our "Oz Tour". We had booked a River View room but without the Club benefits as we felt we could always get a bottle of wine to bring home (unlike in HK where we had booked Club status just in case!).

The river view was very nice, overlooking the pedestrian bridge where you can walk across the river to Flinders Street Station to access the north part of Melbourne. There are many bars and restaurants however on the South side, and arriving on a Friday early evening, it was nice to feel the "It's Friday evening and we've just just left work" vibe that goes on on that side of the river.

The room was beautiful with the most comfortable bed I think I have ever slept in, and a lovely selection of amenities. Didn't have free wi-fi, which most hotels ought to have these days, but a minor point.

The excellent service points come in when we asked the concierge to give us the best directions to get to the MCG (Cricket Ground) and then to St Kilda for a beach afternoon. He told us to walk along the river to the MCG (about 15 mins, and a lovely walk) and then gave us cards to use the tram system to get to St Kilda. He said they might need topping up (and told us where to do this) but it saved us buying 2 cards which we wouldn't use again. When we checked the balance, we left them with the same amount on them to give to the concierge as it was a nice touch to be given them in the first place.

In short, a lovely hotel, with great customer service. I would recommend without a doubt.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,424 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,792
    425
    140
    39
    28
See reviews for
368
1144
148
449
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (614)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

This is a lovely hotel that provides excellent comfort for the weary traveler. The location is within walking distance to restaurants, shopping, and attractions. Plus it's on the Yarra River. Our room had an outstanding view of the river, and we caught a glimpse of the hot air balloons in the early morning as they floated through the skyline - awesome! I would definitely want to come back to this hotel!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

I absolutely loved the pillows! I had a wonderful stay, I slept like a baby with these wonderful pillows, so comfortable and I had very very nice breakfasts, with lots of fresh fruits, great options! I Loved it! ;)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

A little more expensive but worth it.

We were spoilt from the moment of arrival. Turn down service, multiple room cleans a day.

The $40 full breakfast has to be experienced to be believed! Custom omelette, hot/cold food, good coffee.

The pool area was not the best, there were a lot of kids.

There wasn't a kid free bar or area, also all areas seemed open to public, not the best.

Apart from small criticism was a great stay!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Stayed here for just one night for a mini city break on a weekend.

From the moment we checked in we felt like royalty. The rooms were amazing - we had a spa suite and the room was huge! Most comfortable bed I've ever slept in.

We were fortunate enough to have access to their club lounge for pre dinner drinks and canapés and also afternoon tea.

Highly recommend this hotel if you are after something a bit special. Rates are a little expensive but definitely worth the experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

The location is good for the Southbank area and the CBD is a few minutes walk via St Kilda Rd bridge past the grubby Flinders Street station entrance or the even seedier underpass below the station via the river footbridge.

On arrival we were directed to the main reception even though we asked to go straight to the club floor for check in. Luckily there was only us checking in as there was only one person on reception (who failed to mention the credit card surcharge.) The club room was clean and the bed very comfortable, but the bathroom was tired looking with stained tiling and mould in the shower, toiletries were not replaced.

The club lounge is small and split into two areas divided by the servery area. Tables in the larger of the two areas are close together and there are are not many armchairs, the preference is to provide tables and chairs. The compactness means that having a private conversation at busy times is difficult. The other part of the lounge has a TV and some games and a few armchairs. Overall it isn't a particularly relaxing environment compared to other hotels we have used.

The club lounge breakfast was generally good with a number of options including a choice of eggs. Afternoon tea was also good as were the evening drinks and canapes. However, the lounge doesn't have a dress code so if you're thinking of a pre-dinner drink and snack and you've made an effort to dress for it then be prepared to sit next to someone who's just come from a sports field or the pool and is dressed accordingly.

On departure there was no-one available to check us out in the club lounge so we had to queue up at the main reception where the cynical extra card fee was then added, to our bill by someone who couldn't have cared less whether we enjoyed our stay, would return again or were travelling on to anywhere else. Did we feel like valued customers? Not once.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frbill92@hotmail.com
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
276 helpful votes 276 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the Langham in Melbourne and have only the highest praise for it. The location was perfect. The room overlooking the river and city gave exquisite views of the area. The staff was welcoming and accommodating from the moment I arrived until I left. The room was beautifully decorated and clean. Every detail was attended to. I will return to this hotel on my next visit to Melbourne and recommend it to any traveler to the area.

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Langham, Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Melbourne

Address: 1 Southgate Ave | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#1 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#1 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#1 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Melbourne 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Langham, Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham, Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Langham, Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.